We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is what this place offers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Island Echos Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Echos Condominiums
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Location is what this place offers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Away from the crowds across the bridge in Destin and it's location on a dead-end street were the best things about Island Echos. I'm a complete hotel snob, so the idea of staying in a condo for the long weekend did not excite me, but it was what we could find last minute trip plans changed.

I was in room 2L, with 2 bedrooms, which was just above the pool. Yes, it was as noisy as it sounds. I would have liked to be higher up. The room was old, water stained and cracking stucco, the furniture had enough stains for me to place the clean and bagged sheets over them. Old tube TVs, and old electronics. The free DVD rentals per day was a nice gesture, but don't expect a good selection at all. The place needs some updating; I guess the owner of our unit hasn't put any money into it for over a decade. The place wasn't nasty, but I wasn't comfortable enough to sit on anything without a sheet or towel over it. Bring flip flops or slippers, the floors are tiled and the carpet was shaggy and dingy as hell in the master bedroom.

We had plenty of towels and linens. The kitchen was fully stocked. No complaints there.

The beach was this place's best asset. Right on the shore with included beach chair and umbrella service got me to stay once we checked in. Service ends promptly at 6PM, so be prepared to be ousted of your chair if you want to stay longer on the beach. The sand is powdery white and the water was beautiful.

Parking was not an issue. Overall, this place was comfortable, but the price really didn't match what we could have gotten for the same price at a hotel on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors; the pool and beach can get very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelSnobNumeroUno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
24
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
222 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stated in unit 2P. Clean 1bedroom 1 bath unit on west end of second floor. Was nice and convenient to parking. Right by stairwell and trash Shute so a little noisy at times but we enjoyed our stay. Reserved through Wyndham website (Resort Quest). Unit had all linens and one set of paper towels, toilet paper, and dish detergent for machine. Recommend you bring extras for longer stays. Full kitchen with everything we needed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisjoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Loved the place, quiet and comfy. The beds need upgraded, but the view and beach were perfect. Bring your own beach chairs and dont forget your slippers. The floors are tile. I loved this resort because of the view and the time with my bride.

Room Tip: Bring your slippers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tayfromtenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Villa 1 G was a tastefully decorated 2BR condo on the bottom floor. The smell of fresh paint and sandy beaches was very welcome to this weary wayfarer . However, the room was advertised as having a beach view. I do not consider a window 80% covered by sandune a beach view. The most egregious item was the lack of phone and internet. We called the 1-800-TALK- TO- INDIA Wyndam number, but did not get any results. The lady of the line said "well the owner probably did not pay their bill." Tacky..yes!? As a well traveled soul, I'm am not used to lack of staff being on duty, calling for major problems and etc. Although the place was beautiful, I would not recommend...especially for 250.00 an night!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nellashara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Having a wonderful time with my bride of 23 years. First trip without the "are we there yets". We watched the dolphins swim, stingrays play, fish feed on minnows, sailfish jump, and "of course" the sunrise and sunset. The water is truly emerald and the beaches are so soft and clean. The condo was ok for the 2 of us. TV was a bit small, bed a little uncomfortable, but overall not bad. I wish the condo had a Jacuzzi for guests to use. We were in 3P and couldn't complain. It wasn't perfect, but it was cozy.

Room Tip: A/C a bit noisy, faucets dripped, bring slippers because the floors are tile. A mattress pad is nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tayfromtenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
184 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just spent a very relaxing Labor Day Weekend at the Island Echos. Check-in was a breeze and Manuel was very hospitable, jovial and full of helpful information. We stayed in 4P and the condo was lovely. Smell was a bit musty at first but just a few hours of occupancy cleared the air. Condo was very well equipped and clean. Jason was very helpful at the beach as well and always found the perfect spot for our relaxation needs. This facility was everything we were looking for with regard to a relaxing weekend. The free movie rental was a nice bonus as well. The balcony provided leisurely time viewing and listening to the ocean. We were able to watch dolphins playing and fishing pelicans each morning. My only suggestion to the property would be to provide a recycling center of some kind. It breaks my heart to have to put recyclables in the trash. Other than that - wonderful place!

Room Tip: We had an end room that was perfect - but did not have to ask - I would request this when booking ag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nashville10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustang, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Over the last few years I have stayed in several condos all over for dive trips and the condo we rented was great, the view was awesome and it was great to walk from our room to the beach in just a minute. I'll just break down the pros and cons.
Pros:
-On the beach
-Washer/dryer in room or laundry room available
-Free DVD rentals (like redbox and it did have newer movies)
-Clean and updated look and appliances
-Nice pool
-Rooms kept out a lot of outside noise
-Easy parking

Cons:
-You will need dishwashing soap, trash bags, paper towels, and toilet paper for a long stay
-Kitchen pantry items (salt, pepper, etc.)
-If you like sitting on the beach early in the morning or watching the sunset bring your own chair,
the ones provided were set up at random times in the am and removed several hours before
sunset.
-Told we could check out beach towels but never found out where to get them

We enjoyed our stay and feel that the condo was a good price, clean and the staff great. We have already started planning the next vacation there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#1 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#2 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#6 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach...
#7 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterscape Condominiums
Waterscape Condominiums
#2 of 15 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Echos Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Echos Condominiums

Property: Island Echos Condominiums
Address: 676 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6061
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Echos Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-time favorite family resort will dazzle you with its 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom deluxe units. Offering special property amenities such as an excellent gulf beach access, seasonally heated gulf-side swimming pool with over-sized sundeck, lighted tennis court and kayak rentals, you'll know why this 7-story gulf-front condominium is an extremely popular family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Island Echos Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Rentals At Island Echos Condominiums Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Island Echos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing