We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good stay, dated rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Venus Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Walton Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Venus Condos
Save
You added Venus Condos to your Saves list
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good stay, dated rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Overall I would say that Venus Condo's site was a average stay, the people at check in were very nice and our stay was quite (as we were not there in tourist season). The rooms were clean, but showed their age. But it is close to Destin, and easy to get around. The place seems geared to snowbirds now. Overall my family and I had a great trip, and we enjoyed our first trip to the area.

The pool is not heated, the Venus itself does not have a fitness room so we just walked the beach a lot which was very nice. We were allowed access to the Sea Crests pool so I could swim with my son.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvstheocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We Stayed at Venus Condos as a last minute decision for the week of the Fourth of July. We were very pleased with the location, the condo common areas and the front desk service. The only negative thing to add is that the one-bedrooms have queen size beds and hey are not the most comfortable. Other than hat, great time! The condo is on Okaloosa island, West of Destin and on the beach. This makes for a much less crowded experience. Check it out!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Venus Condos has a niche for being affordable though it is also owned by Sea Crest which is a neighboring building with condos doubled, tripled and quadrupled the amount of Venus. The only "downside" if you want to even call it that, is that it's not "right on the beach" The walk is not far at all. You don't even have to cross a street, just cut through the parking lot to the walkway. And because it's Ft. Walton, the walk to the water isn't far at all. It is definitely worth every penny!

Also, near the pool, there is a air machine where you can fill up all your cool swim toys!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcmz812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

WOW! What a great family place. Check-in & check-out was great. Recently updated & very tastefully decorated (in my opinion).

http://www.vrbo.com/380057

Thanks Jim & Sue.

Room Tip: I would have to recommend Jim & Sue Simpson's first floor 2 bedroom condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheech53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeastern US
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Rented a 2 bed 1 bath through VRBO. Check in/out and extra services provided by Seacrest next door. Unit was updated, well equipped and clean. Grounds are well maintained. Older building, nothing fancy, nice pool. A little cheaper because it's technically 1 block off the beach now that new condo units were build between it and the beach. Those big building do block some of the beach wind and access to the beach is so easy that you get the best of all worlds. I love this place and plan to go again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sehja1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

This was our first visit to the Ft. Walton / Destin area. We stayed in unit #310 a 2 bedroom, 1 bath condo owned by Cincinnati Financial Corporation. The location was awesome and we were able to see the Gulf from the balcony. Venus by the Sea is not a fancy place but a functional place. There are 3 buildings that form a U shape. The front building is 3 stories and the 2 side buildings being 2 story. In the middle of the buildings is the courtyard which contains the pool & huge outdoor brick BBQ. There are tennis & basketball courts that are lighted. The Venus is small in stature compared to the surrounding 6 -8 story buildings but it is nice to be able to park by your condo. The surrounding buildings also do a great job of blocking the wind that is typical on the beach. These are all non-smoking units but it seems some have decided that rule doesn't apply to them. To those, I ask that you not use the beach accessories (buckets) as an ashtray then place it back in the closet half full of sand & cigarette butts. The layout of these 2 bed, 2 bath units is great. The master bedrooms seem to be large enough for 2 queen beds or a California king bed. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking utensil's, pots, pans, mixing bowls, etc. 6 can sit at the dinning room table with enough dishes for 8. I look forward to another visit to Venus Condo's, Fort Walton & Okaloosa Island in the very near future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheech53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Went to visit good ole’ Fort Walton Beach again. We take an annual trip here to get out of the mainstream Destin area, but are fortunate to be only 10 minutes away from all the fun.
Venus has been a great place to stay at the past 5 years. We stayed in unit 204 this time after being in another unit the past 3 years. What an upgrade! You can tell this family has really taken care of their place, and they are renovated much of what was in the old unit. New furniture, beds, modern stuff, etc...it just made it all the more worthwhile! This one was a one bedroom that could easily sleep 4-6 guests. We brought a bunch of friends, and one of the families got unit 204, which was owned by the same family. Same results. They really enjoyed their room as well, and when we walked in, you noticed all the upgrades. Theirs was a two bedroom that could definitely sleep more like 6-8.

The pool is very nice, and our unit had a balcony right off of it, so we were able to check up on our friends. You can also see the beach from there. While it isn't "ocean front", it's only a football field away centered between two other high-rise condos. Very easy walk, even with a cooler.

Overall, we had just a fabulous time. We will continue to come back here, and I will specifically ask for either of these units again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickc0844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#12 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#6 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#4 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach...
#7 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Condos

Property: Venus Condos
Address: 885 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6705
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Venus Condos Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing