We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you choose to stay here choose the Quality Inn next store instead.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayside Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayside Inn
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you choose to stay here choose the Quality Inn next store instead.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2008

I called the Quality Inn, which is next store to the Bay Side Inn.
They said they don't take pets, and we were going there because of hurricane Gusto. The operator said the only two hotels that take animals are Bayside Inn and Fairway Inn. I said which do you recommend. She said the Bayside Inn and here is the phone number. I thought it was strange she knew the phone number so well. I found out later the owner of the Quality Inn owns the Bayside Inn too. The bad points to the Bayside Inn was the office closes at 11:00 p.m. so I had to pick up the key at the Quality Inn. So if you have a need after 11:00 what do you do? I walked over to the Quality Inn. The ice machines did not work so I again walked over to the Quality Inn. The next morning I went over to the Quality Inn because the office was closed again and there was a nice free breakfast which the Bayside did not offer. The Bayside was very old, the air cond. wasn't on when we arrived at 4:00 a.m. and it was a little hot and musty. The air cond. did not work well. Every time I walked over to the Quality Inn I felt I was sleeping in the servants quarters, at the Bayside, and at the Quality Inn there were dogs everywhere, they made exceptions because of the hurricane. I was upset and went to speak to the manager, who was very rude and had no pity on me. I paid a little less to stay at Bayside and I know it would have been worth it to pay a little more and stay at the Quality Inn. I would not stay at this hotel again. It was not worth the money I paid to stay there. I read the previous reviews after I made my reservations and I was a little nervous after reading them about going there, but I didn't have much of a choice with all the hotels booked up. I went there wanting to leave and give a good reveiw and I told the manager this, but she was so rude there is no way I can honestly give this hotel a good review. I believe in Fort Walton Beach you can find better for the money you would pay to stay here.

  • Liked — Front desk help Chris and Sam were very nice.
  • Disliked — Management, office closing and hot musty when arrived, not worth money we paid.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
Helpful?
3 Thank jeajmkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    1
    6
See reviews for
2
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springdale AR
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

Ok - it's small but it's quiet. The rooms are large and it has a microwave and small fridge. They have a beautiful pool and courtyard and it's just a quick walk to the Waffle House and a little longer walk to Red Lobster. Very close to the beach and the Strip. I will stay there again and I will recommend it to others. The only small complaint is, the doors were hard to open, but being on the water.... wood swells.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank Hilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2008

by far the worste hotel ive stayed at. I felt like it was a place that gets rented out hourly and I just felt dirty. Our lights flickered in the room when they were on too. pretty freaky.

Ali S., Founder <a href="http://www.prapta.com">Prapta.com</a>

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank uci17ali17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Ia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2008

It was HORRIBLE! I had young children with me and the person checking us in was swearing then saying oh, sorry don't want to offend anyone! OVER AND OVER!

Our room! OH MY, open the door to the nasty smell of must! That room had the worst musty smell ever!! The sheets were NOT on the bed all the way that is cause they didn't fit! The bathtub was full of hair. The floor was full of hair.

Phone didn't work, no phonebook! They are keeping you here! Maybe you will clean up the dead lizard that has fallen to shreds when you try to get rid of it.

The toilet had the last guys leftovers in it. It was just not a good hotel!!!!

  • Disliked — it was just bad!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank hunt2eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texarkana, tx
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2005

we picked rodeway inn years ago on our first trip to fwb. the pool was very small. the room was very small and smelled of pine-sol. the lighting was dim, i think so we couldn't see how really dirty it was in spite of the pine scent. luckily we had only booked one night and were able to move to holiday inn the next night. after several years and different places we make the nautilus condo our vacation home for a week every june now. never had any problems there and love it. fwb is a little far from the action in destin but makes for a great family vacation.

Stayed June 2000
Helpful?
11 Thank shuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Walton Beach
0.1 mi away
Roya Hotel & Suites
Roya Hotel & Suites
#22 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#9 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach Mary Esther
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#11 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#3 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marina Bay Resort
Marina Bay Resort
#12 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Inn

Property: Bayside Inn
Address: 314 Miracle Strip Pkwy SW, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-5203 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing