We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool pier, but research before you fish”

Okaloosa Island Pier
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool pier, but research before you fish”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

The pier was cool saw a dolphin tried to fish, but rained alot. The guys in the tackle shop are nice, but seemed annoyed with tourists. I get it, I asked alot of questions about the fishing and they just wanted me to pay and leave. It will cost around $20 to fish for wristband, pole, and bait for the day. I asked the guy in the bait shop when is a good time to fish he said in 2 weeks. Thanks seeing as I was only there for 4 days. I probably would have been better off buying a pole at Walmart and trying my luck off the beach. To walk the pier and hang out was cool for $2, but you gotta know what you're doing to fish.

Helpful?
4 Thank cfei1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    194
    96
    21
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
“Service was average and laid back and so was the food”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Great soups and good seafood for those not from another coastal city. Since I live in New Orleans, I think I'm spoiled so it probably wasn't as unimpressive as I think it was.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“2 bucks 4 24 hours”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Seen dolphins swimming. Could get a hand stamp & go back. Lots good restaurants around, wheelchair assessable, & open rain or shine.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jen_Chatt_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Two bucks to walk the plank. Also, I rented a pole for $7 and tried to fish. It was just way too windy. It was more fun to watch the other people fish. We saw more jellyfish than anything. It was unseasonably cold while we were there too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank brooke23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ft. Walton Beach Wedding”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The pier is a beautiful place and made a place for beautiful wedding pictures at sunset. The cost is $2.00 pp to be allowed on the pier

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wookie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okaloosa Island Pier also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Okaloosa Island Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing