We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“~~Great place for fun in the sun and friendly atmosphere~~” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“~~Great place for fun in the sun and friendly atmosphere~~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great place and a very friendly staff in all catagories. Planned on staying only one day but with atmosphere and service extended my stay for two more days for more fun in the sun. Being able to reach the beach by walking down the hallway, open the door, and your on the beach is great way to start your morning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jspain1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    165
    64
    31
    20
See reviews for
213
148
24
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Daniel and Kevin and Jessica worked so hard to be very professional we enjoyed our stay thoroughly . I would recommend this location to anyone. we will walk right outside of our door and then we were on the beach .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nadell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I made a reservation with the Hampton Inn reservation line. I specifically told the agent the type of room I was looking for. I stated that I was traveling with 6 people- 2 adults, 2 kids and 2 teenagers. I told the agent that I wanted a suite with a separate bed room. The agent booked my reservation for the Easter weekend and stated that she had only one more room left to accommodate me so I hurried and booked it. I thought a room rate of 220.00 was a good deal for a one room suite for a holiday weekend. When I arrived at the hotel the front desk clerk was very friendly and the check-in process went smoothly. I was so happy and excited until I opened the door to my room. There I see a room with 2 beds and a pull out couch with no separate bedroom. I was mortified. Imagine being in a room with no privacy with 4 kids. I immediately called the front desk and was told that they do not have suites at the Hampton Inn, just regular old rooms. I told the front desk clerk that I was told I would be in a suite and was never informed of this. He replied that you are in a suite, a JR suite... Again I was so upset!!! He had the manager to call me back, now at this point I was so mad that my head was pounding but I remained calm and not at all rude. This is one of the reasons for not wanting to go back- I felt like I was lied to twice. The manager said that she is very sorry for my inconvenience and would reduce my rate to the standard room rate. She said your rate is 249.00 and the standard rate is 199.00. My room rate was not 249.00 it was 220.00 and the front desk clerk had already told me earlier that the standard room rate was 169.00. So you see, this hotel tells nothing but lies. She wanted me to feel like she was giving me this huge discount when in fact, she only reduced my rate by 20 bucks... WOW. Now I’m not the type that wants something for nothing but please do not lie to me. I didn't either bother letting her know that my rate is only 220.00 and the standard rate was told to me earlier to be 169.00. I just was like whatever because I did not want to spoil the rest of my trip getting into a confrontation. I JUST WANT TO LET EVERY BODY KNOW WHEN DEALING WITH HAMPTON, TO PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU ARE GETTING WHAT YOU WERE PROMISED AND PAID FOR.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veevie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I made a reservation with the Hampton Inn reservation line. I specifically told the agent the type of room I was looking for. I stated that I was traveling with 6 people- 2 adults, 2 kids and 2 teenagers. I told the agent that I wanted a suite with a separate bed room. The agent booked my reservation for the Easter weekend and stated that she had only one more room left to accommodate me so I hurried and booked it. I thought a room rate of 220.00 was a good deal for a one room suite for a holiday weekend. When I arrived at the hotel the front desk clerk was very friendly and the check-in process went smoothly. I was so happy and excited until I opened the door to my room. There I see a room with 2 beds and a pull out couch with no separate bedroom. I was mortified. Imagine being in a room with no privacy with 4 kids. I immediately called the front desk and was told that they do not have suites at the Hampton Inn, just regular old rooms. I told the front desk clerk that I was told I would be in a suite and was never informed of this. He replied that you are in a suite, a JR suite... Again I was so upset!!! He had the manager to call me back, now at this point I was so mad that my head was pounding but I remained calm and not at all rude. This is one of the reasons for not wanting to go back- I felt like I was lied to twice. The manager said that she is very sorry for my inconvenience and would reduce my rate to the standard room rate. She said your rate is 249.00 and the standard rate is 199.00. My room rate was not 249.00 it was 220.00 and the front desk clerk had already told me earlier that the standard room rate was 169.00. So you see, this hotel tells nothing but lies. She wanted me to feel like she was giving me this huge discount when in fact, she only reduced my rate by 20 bucks... WOW. Now I’m not the type that wants something for nothing but please do not lie to me. I didn't either bother letting her know that my rate is only 220.00 and the standard rate was told to me earlier to be 169.00. I just was like whatever because I did not want to spoil the rest of my trip getting into a confrontation. I JUST WANT TO LET EVERY BODY KNOW WHEN DEALING WITH HAMPTON, TO PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU ARE GETTING WHAT YOU WERE PROMISED AND PAID FOR.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank veevie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonfwb, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
I'm so sorry to hear about your experience. I can assure you that our team is held to high standards of integrity and it's never our intention to be anything less than helpful.. However, I understand how frustrated you must have felt not to get your desired room type. Please contact me directly so I can gather more details and help alleviate any concerns as well as appropriately address your comments with our team.

Kind Regards,
Rachel Joyce
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very nice hotel, not too big. The service from the front desk clerks, the breakfast area, the cleaning people, was all very friendly and efficient. The rooms were large, and very clean, and equipped with a good size mini refrigerator, and microwave. Plus, the hotel was right on the beach. There was plenty of parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sitting_Storm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We did enjoy our stay at this Hampton. As reward members, we always look at a Hampton first. The rooms in this hotel were very clean, and nicely maintained. It is a very quick walk to the beach, and some restaurants. Each room has a microwave and small fridge. Our room had a nice balcony with a small view of the beach. Check in and check out were fast.

The staff was pleasant, but didn't really go out of their way to help us with requests. After checking in, we went down to the front desk to request an extra pillow. We were told that there were no extra ones. On the way back up to the room, I saw some in the housekeeping room. I asked the housekeeper if we could have one, and she said we had to call the front desk, so we gave up on that. Our first morning there we woke our children up early to go to breakfast. When we got down to the lobby there was NOTHING left. It was 9AM and a sign clearly stated that breakfast was served until 10AM. I went to the front desk, and asked if they were going to replenish the food, and I was told that they were not, because it was over at 10AM. They were not even willing to give my children some cereal. We never attemped to eat breakfast there again, so not sure if this was a one time thing or not. None of the staff was nasty, but just not willing to do anymore than they had to. Even though that ticked me off, I would not hesitate to book a room again.

Room Tip: They have limited rooms that face the beach, so book early if you want one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smoochums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Pool was full of kids and was small, no opportunity for my fiancé and I to enjoy it. Hotel has only 2 floors and is in between two several floor buildings, hard to find. I originally requested a king size bed to enjoy my vacation in with my fiancé and received a two queen bed room that would not be switched to a king. When I brought it to the front desk's attention, they stated the Hilton honors people who were staying there had our room and that they couldn't give me a king bed room even though I reserved my room a month ahead of time. Looks run down. Just a poor stay experience. Will not be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dehnelja84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonfwb, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that we were unable to accommodate the type of room you reserved and for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Although we strive to accommodate our guest with exact reservations, at times we do no thave the same availability due to guests extending their stays with us. We further apologize for any disturbance cause by our younger guests and have shared your comments with our security team. We do hope that the next time you travel to the area you will consider staying with us again so we might show you the quality hotel experience you expect and deserve from us.

Thank you,
Rachel Joyce
General Manager
850-301-0906
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Walton Beach
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#1 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#2 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#6 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#3 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#12 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach

Property: Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Address: 1112 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing