We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Great hotel at a great price. We've paid a lot more for a lot less in the past. Very clean and quiet which we weren't expecting since it is a pet-friendly hotel and was completely booked (lots of dogs and kids). The rooms are a bit narrow but still a good size. We had two queens, fridge, microwave, armchair, desk & chair, and a flat screen TV. The air conditioner is loud and jarring when it comes on but we quickly got used to it. The surroundings aren't the nicest but not terrible and we never felt unsafe. Destin is a short drive away, a straight shot east on Miracle Strip Pkwy. Lots of shops and local eats along the way. Unfortunately we didn't get to try out any restaurants. We ended up spending our days on the beach (stopped at Publix to filled our cooler) then came back to the hotel and passed out. Woke up around 11pm and had Wendy's for dinner.
The best part of the hotel was breakfast. We arrived around 8am and asked for the nearest restaurant expecting the typical continental breakfast. Boy were we surprised! The breakfast area was spacious and clean. The food was delicious and there was something for everyone. Coffee, hot chocolate, apple & orange juice, tea, apples, bananas, oranges, biscuits & sausage gravy, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, sausage, bagels, danish, muffins, raisin bread, yogurt, grits, oatmeal, cereal, and of course make-your-own waffles with syrup, strawberries, and whipped cream.
Loved the hotel and planning on coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank natnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 608 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2010

We were on our way to St. Augustine and stayed here for the night. Definitely a bit away from I-10, but we knew that. I was impressed by the front desk clerk who was very friendly and had our pack 'n' play ready for us in the room (does NOT always happen that way). The room was clean, with no comforters, which is nice. We were very tired and slept hard (although I was awakened once by a loud guest in the hall). Breakfast the next morning was fine, with a number of options. Only thing is, it's a little bit pricey, but that would be the location, probably. If you stay here, don't miss the Crab Shack, located on the water just about across the street from the hotel. Yummy crab cakes and a wonderful, enjoyable time out on their open-air deck! Overall, great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mandolynn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

I traveled to Fort Walton Beach on business, but brought my husband and our dog. We booked this hotel, because they accept pets, but what a surprise! The hotel was VERY clean, the front desk clerks and manager were amazingly friendly and eager to please. The room we originally booked wasn't ready, so the manager upgraded our room to a king jacuzzi suite. The room and jacuzzi tub were so clean that I actually took a bath and the jets were wonderful! Another reviewer said the hotel wasn't in a very good neighborhood, but I felt very comfortable walking my dog at night. There is a church behind the hotel and business just down the road. Not a bad neighborhood at all. If I have to go back to the area, I will absolutely stay here again.
The only down side to this hotel is the free breakfast. There is nothing healthy on the buffet...Not even healthy cereal. However, it is a free breakfast and with the cost of the room being so low, I don't expect to have 5 star dining. Not a true drawback.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christy_NatureLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Needed a place to stay for one night and didn't want to pay beach rates given what time we were arriving. The La Quinta was accessible and available and we really feel we lucked out. The room was in great shape and comfortable, staff was attentive, and free wi fi and free breakfast were especially appreciated. My ten-year-old wanted to stay longer, especially given the make-your-own waffles!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travlinfoolintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

My husband and two boys stayed here it was very nice. The breakfast had plenty of options for all of us. The room was very nice, had a big bathroom. My only complaint would be the yapping dog that was in the room next to us. Staff was very friendly sent me to the outlet in Destin for some great shopping and lunch at Ciao Bella Pizza. If we go back this will be where we stay. I also went downstairs after the business center had closed (never stayed anywhere else that does this) to print a plane ticket and the clerk let me in.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beeg0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Overall the Hotel is what you expect it to be. It is clean, new and has the average mid-level hotel offerings. The breakfast was nothing special and the service all though polite did not really try to meet needs of the clients. The business center and fitness rooms are what you expect at an average hotel. I don't know why the other travelers are saying this is a hidden gem in the rough. The hotel is average and that is what most business people expect at the price point.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trojan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2010

I love this place. I chose it becuse they are dog friendly and do not charge a pet fee. Many other hotels in the area charge a VERY hefty fee. Our room was beautiful and brand spanking new. The area is less than desirable but the bridge to Destin is 5 minutes away. The breakfast is your average lame continental but they do serve warm cookies in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoeAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
1,333 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
618 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#14 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Be...
#3 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
734 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#9 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach

Address: 3 Miracle Strip Pkwy SW, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range: $101 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites, Fort Walton Beach awarded 2010 Inn Of The Year and recently named a 2011 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence award winner, is located less than one mile away from beautiful white sandy beaches. The La Quinta Inn & Suites is near plenty of fun activities nearby including water sports, boating, waterparks, fishing excursions shopping outlets and golfing. All of our comfortable rooma are non-smoking and come with amenities like free wi-fi internet access, plush pillow top mattresses, microwave, refrigerator, 32" flat screen TV's. There are rooms available with a partial view of the Bay. Wake up to a free newspaper and Free Bright Side Breakfast in a large breakfast area, each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing