We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Last minute shelter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
241 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Last minute shelter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

With weather being so funky for the weekend in most of the south,mwe were hard pressed to find a beCh to go to. Last minute we decided Destin. After hours of looking we finally found a hotel in Fort Walton with a last minute vacancy, which is about 8 miles from Destin center. I had seen this hotel many times before in passing. We had a third person so we needed a two room suite.

Location-
Highway 98 in the eastern part of the city, across the street from a little bay, about 3 minutes ride to Okaloosa beaches.
Nearby there are several car dealers, a Publix grocery store, Red Lobster, Staff-seafood restaurant, IHOP and several fast food places. Close to the hotel there is a park on the little bays waterfront where the kids can play.

Room-
We needed a two room unit. Although when i called the room type happen to be reserved, the front desk agent rearranged some rooms around to get us this unit.
The room is huge. My wife and i took the bedroom and our friend took the living room, which had a sleep/sofa its own tv, a mini fridge ands a microwave. Both rooms were quite nice. A family of four would have fitted quite nicely in this place and had lots of space. The quality of the room was nice, although not fancy. The furnishings were basic, but well kept.

Bottomline-
This was a last minute escape and fortunately we found a good hotel. I give this hotel a 7 out of 10. Oops, the sun is up and the beach is calling.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lifetraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    118
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
229
108
29
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was one of my best stays ever. The facility was immaculate,and staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. We traveled with a pet, and there was no pet odor in the room at all. Plus, there is a "pet area" with real grass and bags available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

My family and I recently had to spend about 5 days at the La Quinta Inn while our house had some maintenance. The hotel isn't exactly in a prime location (not waterfront and on a busy part of Miracle Strip) however if you are in town for the beaches or vacation, it's a short drive to the water. The hotel lobby is clean as are the rooms. We stayed in a regular double room the first few days and had an amazing suite the last couple days:). I highly recommend the suite if you are coming with a big family or friends. Even the standard rooms are spacious. The hotel is pet friendly. We don't have any pets and one night a dog was constantly howling and barking for awhile. The front desk handled the situation promptly. Breakfast was a pretty good variety. I would definitely stay there again and recommend this hotel to any family or friends. The staff really went out of their way for us.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaydep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a very nice stay it was clean, greeted with a smile every time we walked in the lobby. Plenty of parking-stores and places to eat, beach and AF Base all close by..Break was hot and plenty to eat. Coffee all day and night. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
233 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

My family and I were displaced due to issues with our on base housing. Our entire stay was well... Perfect. Always greeted by the staff. The hotel and its grounds were always clean. House keeping did an amazing job. Breakfast was always plentiful. This hotel goes out its way to ensure your stay is exceptional. I wouldn't highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to the area not only for how nice the rooms are but how amazing the staff is.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dgdeppen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

In town for a special event located near the hotel, but prior ratings did influence my choice. They did not disappoint. The lobby, breakfast area, and other common areas were very clean. I was very pleased with my room. The bathroom was immaculate and well stocked with towels. The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows. The refrigerator was a great convenience to have as I like to bring bottled water with me. My only complaint was that the curtains are decorative only--they are only about 18"-24" wide and you have no way to darken your room or provide privacy at night. I had the same issue at another hotel chain...not really sure why they are doing that now. Otherwise, for an "in town" hotel--highly recommend! If you plan on going to the beach, I would choose something closer to the beach as traffic was thick headed that direction.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohit-FWBFL, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
First I would like to Thank you for sharing your experience at La Quinta Fort Walton. I noticed you addressed an issue with Black out curtains.

Black out curtains are located behind sheer curtanis closer to the glass. We do apologize for not making it readily visible.

We have corrected that by keeping Black out curtains partially closed in all our guest rooms, so that it can be seen.

Thank you for bringing it to our attention. At La Quinta "WE ARE HERE FOR YOU"

Rohit Trivedi GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Walton Beach
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#1 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#2 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#6 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#10 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#13 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
Address: 3 Miracle Strip Pkwy SW, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites, Fort Walton Beach awarded 2010 Inn Of The Year and recently named a 2011 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence award winner, is located less than one mile away from beautiful white sandy beaches.The La Quinta Inn & Suites is near plenty of fun activities nearby including water sports, boating, waterparks, fishing excursions shopping outlets and golfing.All of our comfortable rooma are Non-smoking and come with amenities like free wi-fi internet access, olush pillow top mattresses, microwave, refrigerator, 32" flat screen TV's. There are rooms available with a partial view of the Bay.Wake up to a free newspaper and Free Bright Side Breakfast in a large breakfast area, each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn And Suites Fort Walton Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing