We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food nice view...”

Original Waterfront Crab Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Murchison, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Food nice view...”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We ate here for lunch.. I had a goupon :0) We started with the crab dip.. TO DIE FOR!!!... I had the SS Crab.. which I didn't like.. not their fault.. I just wanted to try something I'd never had. My husband got the lunch speacial it was a fish sandwich.. he like it.. I also had a mixed drink. The view is nice and prices reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momlikes2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    185
    79
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
427 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Loved the food”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The dinner was great. The food plentiful and great tasting, well prepared.

The best views of the intercoastal were in the smoking section. Restaurant needs to go smokeless. At least cigar-less.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SenseIntoDollars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Alabama
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“2 out of 3 times it was bad.”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We've been here 3 times. Once about 5 or 6 years ago and it was great. We went last year and again in December 2013 and it was terrible. I think it was some type of frozen preformed processed burger, much like Burger King but a little bigger We ordered the food and it wasn't very good. My burger was cold and undercooked to start with. I asked the waitress to bring it back and cook it some more, when I got it back it was way over done. It was as if I was a bother and fixing the food, I was paying for, was a chore. The waitress was fairly inattentive after that and seemed mad or that we had offended her. I never even got a refill on tea. I could understand if the place was busy but it was at 1:30 on a weekday. I finally just asked for the check and over paid for food I couldn't even eat. I don't know what's happened to the place in the last few years but it's gone down hill, to me. I just know that my friend and I won't be back. He had his own trouble with the food and wait staff... maybe he'll write his own review. I can only tell what happened to me and the disappointment I had at The Crab Shack.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Countrybears174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at Ft Walton for a week and eat here twice. Once for lunch and once for dinner. They have very good lunch specials. The service was good both times.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
179 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Cute restaurant on the beach”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The restaurant is a typical beach eatery with very nice views of the water and the sunset.
The food was very good. There is plenty of outside seating for nice weather. The outdoor enclosed bar area was quite "smokey", but inside was fine. The service was great and the servers were very attentive and friendly. I had steak, which was good considering it's a seafood place and my husband had crabcakes and oysters which he enjoyed. Recommended!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Waterfront Crab Shack also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Original Waterfront Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing