We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific historical must stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Temple Mound and Museum

Indian Temple Mound and Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are an educational and cultural institution of long standing traditions. It is our mission to preserve, interpret and present the prehistory and history of the Fort Walton Beach community and the Northwest Florida area from 14,000 B.C. through the 1950′s. We serve students, citizens and visitors through exhibits, educational programs, publications and special events.The Indian Temple Mound Museum is part of the Heritage Park and Cultural Center which also includes the Camp Walton Schoolhouse Museum, Garnier Post Office Museum, Fort Walton Temple Mound, and the Civil War Exhibit Building. One admission price covers all four museums!
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrific historical must stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

So much to see, the Temple Mound, the Museum, the schoolhouse and post office. All fun and very interesting artifacts. They are redoing the entrance on 98, and it should be something to see. The museum and gift shop have so much, the real Native American story of NW Florida.
You have to stop when you are in town, low entrance price and worth every penny.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    39
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great history and a nice museum, very much worth the hour it takes to see. Then stroll around downtown.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank travel4workAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Small but very intriguing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Went here to get school credit for my son missing school ( never had to do that ridiculous stuff when i was a kid, my parents just said we wouldn't be there and that was that... Pardon me while I vent lol). Anyways the attraction was interesting, initially thought it was a burial mound and found out it was not at all. The cultural center had a lot of displays and information on native American culture and was the best part of it all. You have access to 4 different historical museums including a schoolhouse, civil war museum and post office, all for one price.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank iloveneuropt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hatfield indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very historical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Really enjoyed the artifacts and history! a jog into the past of Ft Walton history...really enjoyed!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis to N.O. to Fort Walton
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is over the bridge in the old town. It is a nice little something to do (especially with the kids) when you have had enough sun for a few hours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MailEvade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Temple Mound and Museum also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Indian Temple Mound and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing