We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still got it!”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Kimberly, AL
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Still got it!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I have eaten at Sonny's all over- the location in Ft. Walton was delightful! the baby backs were falling off of the bone! Best cole slaw anywhere! Two big thumbs up, guys!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wesleyb483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    37
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sickening”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

My family has been to Sunny's in other cities and loved it. This location had bad service, bad management, and awful food that left us all sick later.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank greenblaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will not return”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I order ribs, steamed broccoli, coleslaw. First problem, there was hair in my broccoli. The ribs were very dry. One of the ribs was burnt and not edible. I informed the waitress about hair and asked why would a rib this burnt be put on a customer's plate. It should be thrown in garbage. She informs me that its an extra piece. Again i tell her its not edible and should be thrown away. The manager stops by to extend apolgy for hair and ask how is everything thing else. So I asked why would u put food that not edible on a plate. She tells me its extra. Again i ask y put it on the plate if u can't eat it. Now she picks up a napkin and said that she will take it. i put it on the napkin. The manager said, "We can use it for scrape meat".

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Honeybee817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good barbeque”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Plentiful portions. Several sauces from tangy to hot from which to choose. Enjoyed the meal there with friends.
Wait staff was excellent.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank UltraLimitedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT WALTON BEACH
Level Contributor
196 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“An excellent Sonny's!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I'm aware this is a chain, but the food at this particular Sonny's makes a meal you can count on. They have a great salad bar and the BBQ is excellent! Having four different BBQ sauce choices at the table can satisfy the fussiest taste buds. I particularly like the 'sweet' sauce.
The coleslaw is creamy and delicious, and the cornbread has a bit of sweetness to it. They serve a honey cinnamon butter that is especially tasty on the sweet potatoes. Hubby loves the baked beans. The wait staff are mostly folks who have been there for a good while, so they know what they're doing, and they know the menu. We go there often, and the service has been consistently good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank windgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing