We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable but what has happened to the customer service?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterscape Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but what has happened to the customer service?”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was our second stay at Waterscape. We were so pleased with our first visit that we came back the next summer. I'm not sure what has happened to Waterscape in a year's time, but it sure wasn't the same place. Upon check in, the front desk staff was not hostile or rude but neither were they friendly or warm. We are not snobs by any means and are really very low maitenance guests but the year before we were greeted by a really dynamic and friendly staff who clearly appreciated our patronage. This year, I couldn't even get a simple "thank you" when I handed over my credit card.
When we entered our room for our week long stay, the master bedroom drapes were crumpled in a heap on the bed! Our room was completely open to any and all who cared to look. When we called the front desk, there was no apology or explanation. We were told that maintenance would be up to fix it "sometime." This never happened. Since we were using all the other beds in the condo, we had to rig towels and sheets over the window for a modicum of privacy. The next day we called again and they acted surprised that we were calling about this issue. Apparently, maintenance had never been contacted. It wasn't until supper time of our second night that this issue was fixed.
I had commented last year that despite the hundreds of guest at the complex, only a small handful of the grills actually worked, less than half. This creates a real problem if you make plans for after supper and have those plans scuttled because you didn't account for the long wait time for a grill. This year, still only half the grills worked but what was different was there were a couple of handymen guests who had tools in their cars actually fixed the grills themselves. This sped things up a little but the backlog of people needing grills still didn't allow us to finish supper with enough time to participate in our evening plans.
The real kicker was at check out time. We had run out of garbage bags to clean up for our departure. We called the front desk and asked for one. After enduring a 5 minute lecture on how it wasn't the condo's responsibility to provide us with such things (which I knew, we just ran out) I was instructed to go to the ridiculously and immorally overpriced Publix store to get my own. First of all, aside from taking terrible advantage of tourists, the store is a good 5-10 minute trip due to traffic. I had spent $3000 at this condo for a week's stay and they couldn't let me have a single trash bag!!
We fell in love with this place the first year we stayed and gave it a great review. This will be our last time there. I won't give it a terrible or poor because we still had a nice time. It's just that customer service has really seemed to decline between stays.
We will go back to Destin next year.

Room Tip: If you want a good ocean view, get a room on the higher floors. Third or above works best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank travelingdadillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    91
    37
    18
    14
See reviews for
295
14
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kafue007
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Got a condo here through Resort Quest. I wanted to stay at a smaller resort but my wife heard good things about here so we stayed at Waterscape. I'm glad we did!
The resort was very quiet as it is the off season so it was almost like having the place to ourselves. The condo was a 2 bed with a side 'room' with bunk beds. The condo was very nicely furnished and stocked. The bathrooms were huge. The balcony had a pool view with a partial beach view which was perfect. Can't remember the unit number but it was in building B towards the beach.
The lazy river and pools were nice and clean. Gas grills are available also and I noticed that they were cleaned every day by the staff. The grounds are very clean.
We did see numerous security staff walking around but they were always pleasant and courteous. Previous reviewers had made me a little skeptical but we had no problem at all.
The property is located right next to a waffle house and a gas station. Publix (grocery store) is just over the bridge. The Destin marina is about 5 mins away. Its nice to be away from the main drag.
I would definitely return here.

Room Tip: Try to get a 'higher' number room as these are closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kafue007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for one week. When we arrived, our room was not quite clean. We called and they quickly sent someone to clean again. The kids loved the pools, lazy river, splash areas. They had a lot of fun. We did have to get out very early if we wanted a front row spot on the ocean. But that is the same at any condo complex.

The place is right across from Fudpuckers, we walked over for dinner and enjoyed very much. We rented a pontoon one afternoon in destin and went out in the bay. That was a nice treat. It rained a little more than I would like... But that's Florida weather at times.

Overall- good condo, nice trip!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jillowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoschton,GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just returned from Waterscape B205 and had a fabulous time there. I would prefer to have my condo be ocean front, but the trade off is the excellent pools which my kids loved. If you are not traveling with children, this probably isn't the place for you. The beaches are beautiful and very clean. The security is tight, but very appreciated. There are 12 gas grills on property for you to use for dinner and plenty of different seating areas to have dinner outside. We will definitely be returning next year.

Room Tip: Interior Rooms overlook the pool and the higher up you are the better view of the ocean. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KristiMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was our 1st visit to Ft Walton. Loved Waterscape and will be back next year. We rented from VRBO A530 through Kim Lang Realty. They were super easy to work with and will use them next year. My only complaint was that we were not directly on the beach. Waterscape is set up in a "U" shape and our room was on the 5th floor in the corner of the "U". Next visit we would like to find something more on the beach. The complex was very nice and very clean. The pools were a bit cold so we played on the beach most of the time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacey t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We leave tomorrow,09/20. We are sad to leave! Waterscape is a professionally managed resort that is perfect for multi-generational families vacationing together. Me (grandma), Papa, our daughter & son-in-law, and their 3 children (ages 6, 27 months & 6 months) are finishing a 5 day stay. The pool area is a first class resort amenity. We loved the security people - they were friendly while keeping interlopers out of the resort. We will be back :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GatorGirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We visit Waterscape every summer, however this year we found the unit not well maintained; several unsightly and run down issues with our accommodations; from plumbing, worn and dirty carpets, broken stove switch, broken ice maker, poor lighting, ripped and broken door screens, etc. We were very disappointed in the lack of maintenance of the units we occupied. We will visit Waterscape again because of the amenities, pools and lazy river, location on the beach however will be more persistant in reporting any issues to the service desk. The value this year was very disappointing! (our group had 4 - 2 bedroom units, 3 overlooking pool and beach; the more serious issues were in B508 and B207).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#7 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#4 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#8 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Destin West Beach and Bay Resort
Destin West Beach and Bay Resort
#3 of 15 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterscape Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterscape Condominiums

Property: Waterscape Condominiums
Address: 1110 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-3187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterscape Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterscape Condominiums, professionally managed by Wyndham Vacation Rentals, are located on beautiful Okaloosa Island, which is infamous for its emerald green waters and white sandy beaches. Waterscape was constructed as a U-shaped property to house the "heartbeat" of the facility; the tropical oasis and pools. Waterscape has a two tiered pool deck separated by a 10 foot waterfall. The lower pool deck includes a large zero entry pool with spray toys and lily pads for the young at heart. The resort's lower pool deck features a long lazy river for you to float down on resort inner tubes. The upper deck houses a seasonally heated pool. There is a children's splash area on the upper pool deck that features toys for toddlers and a covered play area for maximum sun protection. There are two hot tubs located in the tropical oasis for your relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Vacatia, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Waterscape Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterscape Condominiums Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing