We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always come back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summer Place Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Walton Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summer Place Resort
Cold Spring, Kentucky
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Always come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

My family and I have been coming back to stay at Summer Place for years now. We absolutely love these condos and have stayed in multiple units and have yet to have a bad unit or bad time. The pool is big enough for all those staying there, the free chair service on the beach is a great plus and the condo's are always clean and well put together. The location of the condo is great, it's far enough way from Destin that you don't feel like you are in a tourist trap but close enough that you can take a quick drive over the bridge to experience some of the restaurants and things to do over there as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is a gem in the Emerald Coast. Fantastic staff, fantastic rooms and fantastic service. What more can you ask for? This gem may not be on the beach but it makes up for this with being a "home away from home"!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rermiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Unit 102. Fabulous beach. Unit is a few steps from the pool(s) which are well maintained, as are the grounds. Condo was as advertised - 3 bedroom with each having their own bath. Perfect for several adults. We rented through the property management company. We were dissatisfied
with the cleanliness, especially the kitchen. Utensils, pots/pans were stored unclean. Glass top dining table had food residue dried under the edges. When reporting to the property management company, the response was "the table glass is moved every three months. And the other issues are deep cleaning issues, which we do yearly.". Bed linens and towels were very worn. I would stay at Summer Place again, but rent directly from owner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in Unit 306. This was the second time to rent this unit. Great condo with lots of room. King bed in master, two queens and bunk beds in the third room. Complex is well kept. Clean and pools are kept up. The view from the balcony is just amazing. We sat on the balcony each morning listening to the waves and watching the dolphins play in the ocean. Lots of great places to eat that are close by. Destin is only about a 10 minute drive down 98. I would recommend this condo to anyone wanting a great get away vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TAMBO1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Very nice condo building. It was very clean and well maintained. There usually isn't anyone on site so you pretty much take care of yourself. Someone must come and clean up the common grounds some time but I never saw them. One thing we weren't thrilled about was that there was only 2 charcoal grills. During dinner time there was usually a wait for a grill. The pools are small but very nice, the kids enjoyed them. The beach is beautiful, but there can be seaweed problems at times. Very satisfied with our stay there though, and would recommend this place to other families.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank newbeeSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

Summer Place is absolutely beautiful. The condo was very nice, very clean. The 2 pools are extremely well maintained and very spacious. The bathrooms by the pool were extremely clean the entire day and this means a lot to me. I have a almost 3 mostly potty trained little girl. We visited them frequently. The gentlemen who clean the halls and the grounds were busy all the time and kept it very clean. 2 Elevaors that were fast. The enitre complex is about 42 units. Each condo has a balacony that overlooks the beach and may overlook the pool. My wishes for the place that they had covered parking.
The biggest problem I had with my stay was with who we booked thorugh FunDestin in Destin- which was absolutely the worst. I will definately return to Summer Place I will just go through another company

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank momof2littleones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addis, louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

Ok...This place is a must stay. It is great; however, we went in the wake of Hurricane Gustav. We had two days of beach and then disaster. You couldnt even see the beach anymore. We were really scared. My point is this, DO NOT go when a storm in coming or has just passed. Not safe! But this place is a jewel, just remember to take precautions.....

  • Liked — upscale
  • Disliked — not good for kids
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank addis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#7 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#4 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#9 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach...
#6 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Place Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Place Resort

Property: Summer Place Resort
Address: 1111 Santa Rosa Blvd, Okaloosa Island, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-3131
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Summer Place Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best location on Okaloosa Island! All units are directly on the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summer Place Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing