We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We came back for more!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Fort Pierce
Certificate of Excellence
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We came back for more!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

After staying at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites in July 2013, we decided it was time for a trip back! We were very impressed with our time in the Fort Pierce/Hutchinson Island area and decided to go back for weekend stay.. We were thrilled with this hotel. Sherry recognized us from our last visit and was very friendly and helpful again! The front office staff acted that way towards each guest we saw them interacting with. We had 2 adjoining rooms: one with a King size bed and one with 2 doubles. The rooms were large and very clean. I loved that they have a flat screen TV, a fridge, a microwave and a safe! Each room also had a very spacious balcony. The bathrooms were huge as well. The pool area was great and the hot tub was nice and hot!! The view of the inlet is beautiful. My kids loved the little beach area, especially at low tide. My kids enjoyed catching crabs and wading through the water to see what other creatures they could find! There are boat docks right outside the hotel and this time we brought our fishing poles!! The surrounding area was great. Along with the inlet beaches, there was an aquarium and museum close by. We decided to visit the Navy Seal Museum and enjoyed ourselves. We decided to go back to Chucks for dinner and it was great once again!
Breakfast was included in our stay. They had a great selection of hot and cold items and we were stuffed! We had such a nice time we were sad to leave. It's a great little beachy area. Nice and quiet and I have to admit that it didn't take long for me to fully relax. Thanks for another great weekend!! I hope to see you again soon!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnkimv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so much for writing another wonderful review! I am so pleased that you brought the family to stay with us agian, and that you were able to explore some of the wonderful Fort Pierce attractions. It's great to hear that the kids really enjoyed playing on our beach, and that you were able to take advantage of one of our pairs of adjoining rooms. Thank you again, and we look forward to "wow"ing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    171
    53
    19
    3
See reviews for
178
254
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apopka, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were checked in by a lady named Chem who took the time to explain everything about the hotel and the surrounding recommended places to go for restaurants, etc. All of the staff was very friendly, helpful and courteous. The room was very nice, clean, and overlooked the inlet with a spectacular view. This island has a great hometown feel, I will definitely be going back here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for letting others know how much you enjoyed your stay with us! I am so pleased to hear that the staff, particularly Cherri, was very helpful and knowledgable about the area and lived up to our status as being the best hotel on Hutchinson Island with the friendliest most accomodating staff. We are a small area of a somewhat large island, so I'm glad that you picked up on that hometown feel we like to exude. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority and I'm happy that we accomplished that with your recent visit. Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

As a member of a family of frequent pleasure travelers both here and abroad, I usually steer my family to major chain properties because of reliability, security and high standards. However, The Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel demonstrates that dedicated privately owned and managed properties can equal and even surpass many upper-end mega chain vacation properties. From the moment you enter the lobby entrance you will sense an expertly run and maintained hotel. It is a tranquil oasis in desert of uniformity and sameness. How many times have you stayed in a very comfortable and well- known chain hotel and not been sure whether you were in Vermont, Virginia, Pennsylvania,Texas or Georgia...same paintings, same furnishings, same food, same layout, same carpets. The Plaza has its own charm and gracious individuality. The public areas are comfortable and inviting; the rooms are spacious and outstandingly clean, the pool and eating areas are expertly maintained and are spotless. The staff is friendly, helpful and truly concerned about every need of each guest. To top it off the location is ideal...nestled on a private beach on a scenic waterway and within easy walking distance from pristine Florida beeches. .A short drive over the causeway brings you to the harbor of Fort Pierce which is a center of musical, artistic and theatrical venues as well as many fine restaurants... and the best part is...after a busy evening of first rate drama or music at the Marina or Sunrise Theater you return to the beauty and tranquility of Hutchinson's Island. I wish to commend the front desk people who will help you plan every thing you want for a relaxing stay and day trips and outings. They are well informed and enthusiastic about their hotel and this special area of Florida. If you want to find a great restaurant or shopping spot or the best beach just ask Cherie at the front desk; she is a gem! My wife and I made this, our first, visit to The Plaza to search for a condo on the Island for next winter to escape part of the Northern New York winter, but we stopped looking after several days and reserved a balcony room at The Plaza for a month, at least, for next winter. Why waste time looking...we discovered that the Plaza has it all: great accommodations,security,wonderful beaches beautiful and convenient location, outstanding cultural activities,highly professional and dedicated staff and peace and quiet... not to mention Southern Hospitality We hope to make the Plaza our new winter home.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms that has a balcony view of the picturesque waterway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so much for such a wonderfully detailed review! You really captured the essence of the hotel and what it is exactly that we are trying to accomplish. We want our guests to feel 100% safe, comfortable, relaxed and like they are home. It's great to hear that you spent such a long visit with us and that you will be spending a month with us next year! I'm sure that you will be just as satisfied with your next visit, and maybe even more impressed. We are planning some updates to take place in the next few months, and we can't wait to show them to you! Thank you again, we look forward to being your home away from home next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel after reading other reviews and because it's not another chain hotel. Good reception on arrival, clean rooms, each with balcony.

Overall a good stay, with a great restaurant in walking distance. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomadion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your review! I am pleased to hear that you found the rooms to be clean and the staff to be welcoming. There are a few restaurants within walking distance that are superb, and we also offer a deluxe continental breakfast every morning. We are an individually owned property which attributes to our eye for details and making sure the guest feels at home and 100% satisfied. Thank you again, we are thrilled that you will be back and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Another successful stay at this hotel. Love the rooms over looking the inlet. Well worth the slight up charge. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Pool and hot tub also very clean. All staff very friendly and helpful. Only have two suggestions - put a screen on the glass doors so you can leave them open without fear of Florida lizards joining the party and compile a list of local restaurants and attractions along with hotel amenities and provide a copy in each room. That's one of the first things I look at in a hotel room for ideas of area dining and things to do. They had a restaurant list at the front desk but would be handy to have one in each room. Plan a return trip each year.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the rooms facing the in let.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you Barb for sharing your comments and suggestions with us. I am so pleased to see that you really enjoyed your stay as usual, and will be returning with us again. We actually already have guest directories for in the rooms in the process of being printed. It will have local restaurant information as well as the hotel information and ny local attractions. Unfortunately they do take time to produce, but hopefully by your next visit we will have them in every room. The front desk staff is available 24 hours a day to answer any questions you may have, and they are all very knowledgeable on the local area information should you ever need a good recommendation. Thanks again, we look forward to having you stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

What started to be a remake of National Lampoon's Vacation was saved once we found this nice, quiet resort on the water in Ft. Pierce, FL! When we arrived from Va, the original place we booked falsely advertised their rental and we had to find a spot nearby quickly and we found Hutchinson Island in a local book. Upon our arrival, the staff (Eleanor) was very friendly and helpful on the phone and taking my reservation and giving directions to the resort. Once we arrived, she got me and my family settled in a nice, clean room with a beautiful view of the water and provided us with everything my family and I needed to be comfortable. The following day, we decided to continue our stay and thought we would have to change rooms due to limited availability and us checking in on such short notice but the manager (Karen) heard of our situation and the fact that I have a physically handicapped child so she made the call to allow us to stay in the room we were currently in at the same great, low rate! When her other friendly desk staff called to tell me the news, I was extremely grateful and glad that we decided to stay for a couple more days as well. While staying here we enjoyed the hotel's amenities like their heated pool and jacuzzi, all with water views of the inlet, a wonderful hot breakfast each morning that changed with several varieties of food to choose from and a wonderful housekeeping staff (Susan) that made sure we had fresh towels, etc as we needed them...not to mention the easy access to some beautiful, quiet beaches along A1A. Once again, I would like to give sincere thanks to everyone here that helped make our first stay in Ft. Pierce, FL a great one, despite how it began and to the other two great ladies at the front desk, (I'm sorry I didn't get your names, but you know who you are)...and the other staff in the hotel, we appreciate all of your hard work and effort in making our stay a pleasant one. Will definitely stay here again when we have the opportunity to return! - Sandy 4/16/14 :-)

Room Tip: Even a room with a partial water view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you Sandy for writing such a wonderful review! I am so pleased to hear that we were able to save your Spring Break from a Griswold family vacation! From the minute you made your reservations to the minute you checked out, I am so thrilled to hear that we accomplished exactly what we strive for. Fantastic customer service from a freindly and knowledgable staff, clean comfortable rooms and loads of ammenities all for a very reasonable price. I'm thrilled to know that we've made your vacation a memorable one, and we look forward to having you as our guests again in the near future! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Could not have asked for anything better,Awesome views of the inlet.. Dolphin swimming just feet from the beautiful pool area.Fishing dock with crystal clear water. waterfront dining with live bands on every corner..Marina just minutes away host's a unique art's craft's live music and every type of vender you can think of market on Saturdays.Didn't want to leave...Heaven on earth.Superior small lodging .Jetty also just minutes away is ideal for fishing,Will be back in July...Can hardly wait!

Room Tip: Ocean front suite was Beautiful!The view is magical!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkkkkkkkkkkkwwwwwwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely review! We are thrilled to see that we accomplished our goal with you, peaceful relaxing stay with a clean comfortable room, all the ammenities and very close to the heart of Fort Pierce. I am so pleased to hear that you will be staying with us again, we look forward to having you back! THanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Pierce
0.5 mi away
Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island
15.2 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
11.7 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach - Ocean Front
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites of Ft. Pierce
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Pierce West
6.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Pierce
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites

Property: Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites
Address: 1230 Seaway Dr, Fort Pierce, FL 34949-3148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Pierce
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Pierce
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Pierce
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Pierce
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort Pierce
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Pierce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel & Suites offers waterfront accommodations in a relaxed tropical atmosphere. We are located on South Hutchinson Island directly on the Fort Pierce Inlet. Just steps from the water and nearby businesses and attractions, the Plaza offers something for everyone with private balconies on every room offering gorgeous water views, seasonally heated pool, hot tub, private fishing dock and a Free Hot breakfast in the morning, Free wi-fi, and much, much more, we are sure to please the most seasoned of travelers. We invite you to come and discover the Hutchinson Island Plaza experience for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhurst Hotel And Suites
Sandhurst Hotel Fort Pierce
Sandhurst Motel Fort Pierce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing