We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Fort Pierce
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel in excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Excellent value. Hotel is ideally located for walking to nearby restaurants, pubs and even the beaches.
Clean rooms, cheerful, helpful staff.
Towels were a bit skimpy, but that was the only thing we would improve.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let others know how you enjoyed your stay with us! I am so pleased that you were able to get out and explore the island, and found the local bars and restaurants to be terrific. We are located right on the inlet and only about a quarter of a mile from the actual ocean. We do have a small beach on the property that is perfect for setting up some charis and watching the boats cruise the inlet. We also have a 24 hour gift shop filled with snacks, and a hot breakfast buffet every morning. Thank you again we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    175
    54
    19
    3
See reviews for
180
261
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights on my trip throughout Florida. This was definitely a highlight of my travels. Beautiful landscaping, excellent staff, hot and delicious breakfasts, wonderful location. Hutchinson Island is beautiful, with many great restaurants and just a short jaunt to the ocean. The bed was comfortable, rooms very clean, and the view was great. I sincerely recommend this hotel to everyone and I will definitely stay here again next winter.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your enjoyable experience with us! I am so pleased to see that we exceeded your expectations and provided you with a wonderful stay. Hutchinson Island is a beautiful place and has recently completed a very in depth renovation, the new Jetty Park only about a quarter of a mile from here is defenitely something not to be missed. I'm glad you took some time to enjoy our hot breakfast, and hope you were able to relax by our heated pool and spa or fish off of our 24 hour pier. Thank you again, we so look forward to having you next winter and hopefully sooner than that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

In January 2014, I took a 1,200 mile bike ride from North Carolina to Key West, FL. Of all the hotels that I stopped at along the way, this was my favorite. The rooms were exceptionally nice, the breakfast was very good and the views from the hotel were fabulous. The receptionist that checked us in also volunteered to use her personal air pump for our bike tires. The hotel is located within walking distance of several nice restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your enjoyable experience at the Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel! I am so pleased to hear that you found our property to be your favorite in all your travels, and that the staff was friendly and helpful. I'm glad you were able to enjoy our breakfast in the morning, and found some exceptional places to dine for lunch and dinner near by. We hope to see you again in the near future, and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and i stayed here for two nights on our month long trip around Florida, we rated this hotel average as it was neither good nor bad ,but the price was quite high for the facilities offered.
The room was clean and the bed comfortable but everything was tired and the whole hotel was quite old, Hutchinson Island is not very big so it is quite easy to be 'the best hotel' on the Island. The lady manager was helpful and I'm sure some people come back year after year,but we won' bother with Hutchinson Island again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for your review, we take your comments and suggestions very seriously. I am pleased to see that you found the hotel to be clean and the bed to be comfortable. Brand new linen as well as high quality pillows are just part of the updates that have been done recently, along with adding flat screen TV's to every room and offering a large variety of items on our breakfast bar. Further updates are planned for the near future, however with it being peak season and the hotel being at 100% occupancy nearly every night, it is a slow process. We take great pride in knowing that we are the only hotel on Hutchinson Island that offers the ammenities we do along with clean rooms and a friendly and knowledgeable staff. Thank you again, we hope you do come visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed for 22 days at Hutchinson Island Plaza. Cheri and/or Tore' were there to greet us every day. They answered our questions and helped us find information when they did not know the answer. Shirley, Environmental Cleaning, was friendly and made sure we were comfortable.
Susan did double duty as Breakfast Staff and Cleaning. They did have a little trouble with the pool heater but I have been told that is fixed. We just used the hot tub. A great place to stay when you are not looking to do the BIG tourist attractions and you have a husband that loves to fish.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gram7856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your enjoyable experience with us, and staying 22 days you would be an expert! I'm glad to see that the staff members you came into contact with were accomodating and memorable. I'm pleased to see you were able to relax and enjoy while your husband was fishing off our 24 pier. We did have a small issue with the pool heater during the duration of your stay, but you are correct it is completely fixed now and will be nice and temperate for your next visit. Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We always get the coupon books on the state line of any state we visit. We found this in that book. What a wonderful value! We were so very pleased! A fabulous location within walking distance to very nice restaurants as well as the beach.
We were greeted by Cherri with a pleasant welcome. Very pleasant. And also, she was wonderful in suggestions of places to eat on and off island. She was then replaced on the next shift by Tore who proved to be as pleasant and helpful as anyone we have ever met in our travels.
We would stay in this hotel again and again. Clean rooms! Great breakfasts! A wonderful experience. We are happy we chose it. Even stayed another night because we were so pleased.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for writing such a nice review! We are so pleased we were able to get you in and that you found the room to be clean and the breakfast to be exceptional. Great customer service is what we pride ourselves on, so I'm so glad to see that the staff, particularly Cherri and Tore, went above and beyond to assist you in any way possible. We hope to see you again in the near future, perhaps for an entire week next time! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Pierce
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel is 1 of Ft Pierce's hidden secrets. Hotel accomodations in Ft Pierce are limited when you want to be close to the Indian River with the Inlet going out to the Atlantic. Yes, might have 2 upgrade 2 the inlet suite view rooms, but so well worth it..every one room has a balcony..so nice to walk out onto to it, but of course the inlet suites are the best, get 2 c so much boat activity, from the coast guard, fishing, cargo, sailboats & pleasure fisherman..watch the sun rise & moon rise..This place is the bomb..The fishing dock, oh yeah...pool hot tub, all is there to enjoy a special place in Florida. And the staff, they are splendid...big thumbs up for their GM Karen...she is awesome.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you Stephanie for writing such a detailed review of your visits with us at the Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel! We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stays with us, and that you take advantage of the beautiful waterfront suites that offer great views of the Fort Pierce inlet as well as oversized flat screen tv's and luxurious bedding. Great customer service is at the heart of what we do, so I'm thrilled that the staff and myself have been able to wow you with each visit. Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Pierce
0.5 mi away
Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island
15.2 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
0.0 mi away
Dockside Inn & Resort
Dockside Inn & Resort
#7 of 24 in Fort Pierce
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Pierce
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites of Ft. Pierce
11.7 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
#8 of 27 in Vero Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites

Property: Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites
Address: 1230 Seaway Dr, Fort Pierce, FL 34949-3148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Pierce
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Pierce
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Pierce
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Pierce
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Pierce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel & Suites offers waterfront accommodations in a relaxed tropical atmosphere. We are located on South Hutchinson Island directly on the Fort Pierce Inlet. Just steps from the water and nearby businesses and attractions, the Plaza offers something for everyone with private balconies on every room offering gorgeous water views, seasonally heated pool, hot tub, private fishing dock and a Free Hot breakfast in the morning, Free wi-fi, and much, much more, we are sure to please the most seasoned of travelers. We invite you to come and discover the Hutchinson Island Plaza experience for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhurst Hotel And Suites
Sandhurst Hotel Fort Pierce
Sandhurst Motel Fort Pierce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing