We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Fort Pierce
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Booked this hotel for mini lobster season. It is right on the inlet and the pool is right next to the inlet. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very friendly. I cant wait to go back! Great hotel for a great price! Couldn't have been happier!!! :)

Room Tip: All rooms have partial water view so any room is great but the higher floor the better. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel. We pride ourselves on being the cleanest hotel with the friendliest staff in Fort Pierce, and a great location all at a reasonable price. We look forward to having you return in the near future, hopefully before the next mini lobster season! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    175
    54
    19
    3
See reviews for
180
259
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was very lucky to be able to go to Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and was so surprised that I enjoyed myself so much without traveling so far. The Plaza Hotel and Suites greatly exceeded my expectations. The staff at the front desk were friendly, professional and made you feel you
had been there before. The suite had a balcony that overlooked the Indian River waterway and
what a sight in the morning and evening. Beautiful sunrises and sunsets. The suite itself was
spotless, comfortable, appointed very nicely with a great bed and terrific pillows. There was a small fridge, coffee maker with coffee nice large TV, just everything you wanted to make your stay fun and enjoyable. The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast from 6AM to 9AM and the
coffee and breakfast offerings were great. Truly, I cannot wait to go back to a place where I rested and enjoyed so much better than so many other places and I really only had to travel
about two hours from Ft. Lauderdale. Also, the rates were very affordable and the island itself
offers a great choice of restaurants, cafes, parks, beaches....just the best!

Room Tip: I loved the suite that faces the water because I wanted to rest although all of the rooms are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your very enjoyable experience with others! At the Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel we prider ourselves in being the cleanest hotel with the friendliest staff on the island, all for a resonable price. I'm glad you enjoyed the spectacular views we have to offer, as well as our daily deluxe breakfast with hot items. We also have a fitness center on the property, and are just minutes from the historic downtown Fort Pierce area. We would love to see you again the next time you are in the area, and thank you once more for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Concord, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Hutchinson Island is a great vacation location find. We really enjoyed the old Florida feel with unique mom and pop restaurants, hospitality and the beaches are spectacular! This hotel is right on the sand, clean, with a pool and boat docks. We will definitely come again and bring friends.

Room Tip: I booked a room that over looked the pool and water. I booked directly with the hotel. It was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohiogirl260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on the Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel, as well as the area restaurants and beaches. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room, and hope that you were able to take advantage of our hot fresh breakfast in the morning, as well as our seasonally heated pool and hottub. We look forward to having you stay with us again, and would love to opportunity to wow your friends as well. Thank you again for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I just spent the most wonderful trip to the plaza
The front desk was so helpfull and they are so gracious and kind
They rooms Are clean and the bed was wonderful so nice u don't wNt to get up.
I want to thank these persons for being wonderful karen manager front desk tore cherry thank u

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arrabela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel. It is nice to hear that myself as well as Tore and Cherri went above and beyond to assist you and make your experience a memorable one. Along with the updates to the beds, we've also added flat screen TV's and a fridge and microwave to every room. Please come stay with us again when you return to Fort Pierce, we look forward to the opportunity to service you in the future! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I lived in Ft. Pierce as a child, and now my family returns each summer. We have never even considered another hotel. Having Cherri greet us at the front desk each summer always makes me feel so incredibly welcome. The breakfast is great and the experience is sooo relaxing. Loved the fridge and microwave additions to the room. We will be back for our fourth year next summer...can't wait.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your enjoyable experience at the Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel! It is nice to know you enjoyed seeing a friendly face such as Cherri's, and thank you for mentioning her. I am glad you noticed the addition of the fridge and microwaves to the rooms, we've also added new high quality linen, flat screen TV's and a fitness center to the property. Again, thank you for taking the time to share you're feedback, and we look forward to your return next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We decided to take a day trip and spend one night there while checking out the area on July 20th. Being a Florida native, we unfortunately have not spent anytime in the Fort Pierce/Hutchinson Island area. We were thrilled with this hotel. From the moment we walked in, the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful and acted that way towards each guest we saw them interacting with. We had 2 adjoining rooms: one with a King size bed and one with 2 doubles. The rooms were large and very clean. I loved that they had a flat screen TV, a fridge, a microwave and a safe! Each room also had a very spacious balcony. The bathrooms were huge as well. The pool area was great and the hot tub was nice and hot!! The view of the inlet was beautiful and there is a great little beach area at low tide. My kids enjoyed catching crabs and wading through the water to see what other creatures they could find! There are boat docs right outside the hotel and it looks like a great place to fish! The surrounding area was great. Along with the inlet beaches, there was an aquarium and museum close by. We dined at Chucks as recommended by the hotel and a friend who has been in the area. It was a great suggestion! Breakfast was included in our stay. They had a great selection of hot and cold items and we were stuffed! We had such a nice time we were sad to leave. We will definitely be back- next time we are bringing our fishing poles!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnkimv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank yuo so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review, we are glad to here you enjoyed all aspects of the Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel! We strive to maintain our status as the hotel in Fort Pierce with the friendliest most knowledgeable staff, and the cleanest rooms. I am pleased you descided to take advantage of our adjoinging rooms, and our overstocked delicious breakfast in the morning. Please come see us again the next time you are in the area, and don't forget your fishing poles! Thank you again, we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

When I arrived at the hotel, I was already amazed with the appearance of the property. Checking- in was very fast, the front desk clerk was efficient and knowledgeable about the place. My room was spotless, clean sheets, fresh and soft towels in the bathroom. Next day I went to the breakfast area and I said to my self, I really made the right choice in choosing this hotel. There was a lot of selection on their breakfast, both hot and cold items. It's just unfortunate that I am only staying for 2 nights, but for sure! I will be back to this hotel and recommend it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wacky_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your enjoyable experience at the Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel! We prider ourselves on being the cleanest hotel with the friendliest staff in Fort Pierce. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our deluxe continental breakfast, and enjoyed our brand new high quality linen. We've also recently added flat acreen TV's to every room, and a fitness center to our property. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future, hopefully for more than two nights! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Pierce
0.5 mi away
Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island
15.2 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
0.0 mi away
Dockside Inn & Resort
Dockside Inn & Resort
#7 of 24 in Fort Pierce
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Pierce
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites of Ft. Pierce
11.7 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
#7 of 27 in Vero Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites

Property: Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites
Address: 1230 Seaway Dr, Fort Pierce, FL 34949-3148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Pierce
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Pierce
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Pierce
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Pierce
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Pierce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel & Suites offers waterfront accommodations in a relaxed tropical atmosphere. We are located on South Hutchinson Island directly on the Fort Pierce Inlet. Just steps from the water and nearby businesses and attractions, the Plaza offers something for everyone with private balconies on every room offering gorgeous water views, seasonally heated pool, hot tub, private fishing dock and a Free Hot breakfast in the morning, Free wi-fi, and much, much more, we are sure to please the most seasoned of travelers. We invite you to come and discover the Hutchinson Island Plaza experience for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhurst Hotel And Suites
Sandhurst Hotel Fort Pierce
Sandhurst Motel Fort Pierce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing