We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised...Outdated & Dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Fort Pierce
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We booked our stay at the Royal Inn after finding it listed for a resonable price online. I am a big fan of quaint, 'old school' Florida hotels; however, as other TripAdvisor members have noted, the pictures posted on the hotel website are not accurate representations of reality.

Let's start with the good points:
1. The hotel is in a great location on Hutchinsen Island. You can easily walk to the beach, local restaurants, and some really cool 'dive bars' such as The Jetty and Archies.

2. The hotel is reasonably priced, is unpretentious, and representative of 'old school Florida'.

3. The room had lots of space, along with a full-size kitchen that seemed to have been recently updated.

And now the bad:
1. The website pictures make it seem like the hotel is on the beach but it is NOT located on the beach. At best, it is across the street and a short walk to the beach. We even paid an extra fee for what was labled "an oceanview room". In reality, our room (#100) was actually located on the ground floor where we had a great view of the cars in the parking lot but absolutely no view of the ocean. Perhaps, the room should have been labled "ocean facing" to be more accurate.

2. The toilet and bathroom were dirty (i.e., hair and debris were visable on the toilet, sink, and shower). When we saw the state of the bathroom, we debated about leaving right then and there. Instead, we decided to inform the front desk staff of the situation, especially after we learned that refunds would not be provided. We informed the front desk staff who agreed to ask the cleaning staff to re-clean the barthoom. While we appreciated the fact that a meager effort was made to remedy the situation, the bottom line was that the bathroom and toilet were not clean (even after the second attempt at cleaning it).

3. The room furnishing and decor was extremely outdated. The couch looked like someting that could have been found at a garage sale. The curtains looked shabby, were not hung properly and actually looked like they were taped to the wall.

In summary, this is a classic case of "you get what you pay for". Travelers should beware of the photos posted on the hotel website are not an accurate representation of this hotel. With a few updates, this place has some potential; however, in it's current state I would not classify this hotel as "quaint" but instead as dirty and old.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMIBeachGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 245 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2011

The property is older but well kept. The bed was comfortable. Bath and furnishings were unremarkable. We took an "oceanside" room, which meant that we fronted on the parking lot and were pointed east. The property is separated from the beach by a segment of A1A, and if you are a light sleeper you may hear the A1A traffic. Consider a room on the street side because there is hardly any traffic on Hernando. Basically, the place was fine for a trip in which we got in late and left the next day mid-morning. If you prefer to avoid the chains, this is a good alternative.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravlinLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

This Hotel is not as it is shown in the Photos, The hotel shows next to the beach when in fact there are buildings between the hotel and the beach and it is a long way !
The hotel is old and dirty. with NO Amenities.
Really bad value for money, we were booked for 2 nights and we left after one, as this is a stop over Hotel at best and not a place you would want to relax for a couple of days. The hotel would not refund our second night.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank s4mantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

If you are looking for the fancy tourist place to enjoy, go to Orlando. This area is natural & laid back and The Royal Inn Beach Hotel fits right into that description! Its small, comfortable, unpretentious and the staff is so gracious! Our maid, Bonnie was a huge help in giving us info about where to go & what to do. Also, Cindy the manager, was very helpful & friendly. If you are staying in the area, the Farmers Market & Craft Show on Saturday morning is a must! Great atmosphere, food & craft items in a beautiful waterfront setting. Also, don't leave the island without going to Archie's. We ate dinner there twice & enjoyed the food & music. On Sunday morning we went back for the breakfast buffet & attended the church service there. It was great.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjcLantana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Clean and that is about it. Probably best for tjose on a budget. The mattress had a plastic cover under the sheet, the walls needed to be repainted, the drapes were not hanging properly on the window, and the curtain shower was not hung properly as well (making it tough to close and open). No ESPN on cable so I missed Monday night football. II have to say I am shocked by some of the glowing reviews I have seen on this page.

But, to be fair, the staff were friendly and the room was basically clean.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKOTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Room, balcony, amenities & housekeeping were above average. Bed was kind of soft and TV only got about 9 channels and there was something up with the volume, some stations were so low they couldn't be heard and others were way too loud. This is also the only hotel I've stayed in in the last 20 years that still uses keys instead of cards. Also and important, once you unlock the door, it stays unlocked so you have to remember when leaving to lock it. Terrible flaw. There is no outdoor shower, only an inconvenient spigot, also a flaw for a beach hotel. Also, they could use chairs to take to the beach; they only have one lawn chair that's seen better days. However, staff was very pleasant, Bonnie the housekeeper was a gem and for the price paid, this hotel was a nice find. I would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
Thank Sussler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed 3 days/2 nights at the Royal Inn and found it to be perfectly adequate. The best part was being able to walk to all of the nearby restaurants and beach. We took a bunch of groceries and were able to use the grill on the patio and the microwave in the room for quick meals and snacks when we wanted. The view from the balcony was nice, the furniture was updated and cute, the mattress was very comfy and the free continental breakfast was perfect. There is a little store next door that has wine/beer/ice snacks, sunblock, etc. We will definitely visit again as it was a great value and a relaxed atmosphere. Not only is the beach close enough to walk to, but there is actually some parking right next to the beach so you can park even closer which is nice if you want to take the cooler, chairs, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allymail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Pierce hotels
0.6 mi away
Dockside Inn & Resort
Dockside Inn & Resort
#7 of 24 in Fort Pierce
112 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Pierce
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites of Ft. Pierce
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
At Home Inn
At Home Inn
#9 of 24 in Fort Pierce
112 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#6 of 24 in Fort Pierce
175 reviews
7.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Pierce
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island

Address: 222 Hernando St, Hutchinson Island, Fort Pierce, FL 34949-3239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Pierce
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Pierce
Price Range: $94 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island recently completed a full renovation in December 2015, which included a full gut renovation of the guestrooms and public area space, new guestroom, public area, pool and patio furniture throughout, a complete exterior refresh and the addition of a resort pool and sundeck featuring beach exit shower facilities and pool chaises. The hotel offers ocean view and sunset view guestrooms, all with private balconies except, with either a king or two double beds. The Royal Inn's room amenities include custom made handwoven rope rattan furniture, Keurig coffee makers, USB bedside ports, wood tile flooring throughout, stainless steel refrigerators and microwaves (full kitchens in suites), 32-inch flat HDTVs with 5 channels of HBO and free wireless high speed internet. Continental breakfast is offered daily. The hotel also has a business center and 24-hour guest laundry. The hotel also offers 700 square foot 2 bedroom apartment suites featuring new handwoven rope rattan furniure, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top double beds, a living area with dining table and sofa sleeper and a full-size kitchen with all cookware, dishware and utensils for those considering longer stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing