We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Checked Out Early....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Fort Pierce
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“We Checked Out Early....”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had high hopes for the Royal Beach Inn, but they fell short of our expectations. We read many of the other reviews, and felt that while there were issues in the past, it sounded as if the Royal had addressed many of them. Maybe. But the ones that were left made it difficult for us to justify the price of the room vs the value received.

The property itself is nice enough: a large patio out front, with tables, chairs, loungers, and a grill. There is a pool around the side, but no hot tub, and the pool was closed at 7pm. The lobby is quite small (not a problem, just a fact) and has fridge loaded with some sodas and snack available for purchase. The breakfast room is comprised of two small adjacent rooms, one of which has the food items, and the other seating. The continental breakfast was very limited. Bagels, cereal, milk, coffee (which was completely empty at 8am on our first morning), packaged juice cups, individual oatmeal packs, and Ensure (Don't ask, because I don't know...). There was also a waffle maker. In the rear of the hotel, there is a quest laundry room.

Here is a direct quote from their website:

"The hotel offers ocean view and sunset view guestrooms, all with private balconies, with either a king or two double beds. The Royal Inn‘s room amenities include Keurig coffee makers, USB bedside ports, wood tiling flooring throughout, stainless steel refrigerators and microwaves, 32-inch flat HDTVs with 5 channels of HBO and free wireless high speed internet. Continental breakfast is offered daily. The hotel also has a business center, gift shop and 24-hour guest laundry.

The hotel also offers 700 square foot 2 bedroom apartment suites featuring Sealy Posturepedic Pillowtop double beds, a living area with dining table and sofa sleeper and a full-size kitchen with all cookware, dishware and utensils for those considering longer stays."

Although we did not have an ocean view or sunset view quest room, we did expect that the amenities would be comparable, but they were not. Our bed was a full, and so soft that it was almost impossible to sleep on. No bedside USB ports, we had to use our phone for internet, as we had a low connection, and no stainless anything in our room. And while this may be petty, our Keurig came with one regular coffee k-cup, one decaf, and two teas....we both drink coffee, so we had to share the one regular. Yes, we could have asked for more, but once you have to leave the room to get it, it sort defeats the purpose.

It was obvious that some updating had been done in our room, but there was plenty more to do. Neither the shower or sink had a plug, so a bath was impossible, and shaving required constant running water, which made me cringe...all that water wasted :(

Despite all this, we may have stuck it out until the end of our scheduled stay, except for the noise. Our room was on the first floor, in the rear of the hotel, practically in the parking lot. Both mornings of our stay, people leaving the hotel early (think 6 to 6:30 am) tended to stand around in the parking lot, warming up their vehicles (in this case, one was a large diesel truck) and talking loudly. I am guessing some of these folks were temporary workers, and as such are not always present at the hotel, but it was still a problem for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    39
    31
    27
    33
See reviews for
77
72
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, VA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Called Teri at 9:30 and she had a king with ocean view ready when we arrived at noon. Some of the reviews concerned us, but all doubts quickly vanished. The room was nice, if a bit crowded king bed, table/2 chairs and a couch. Although the furnishings were somewhat dated, we had plenty of storage space. There was a ceiling fan, frig, microwave, and a single serve keurig with tea and coffee K cups. We were only a block from the beach, with free beach parking available if one needed it. We didn't use the pool. There was ample parking. The outlet problem was resolved as part of the remodeling. More lighting is needed, and Teri said they were considering some options. The room was clean and we were near some restaurants. WiFi, parking and continental breakfast are included in the resort fee. There is even a guest laundry. The property is 3 floors with elevator. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that we had 2 minor issues that weren't resolved. The price was right and we will return if we plan to stay again for a few days.

Room Tip: Ask for beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I recently stayed at the Royal Inn and it was a wonderful experience. My family desperately needed a relaxing weekend getaway and that's exactly what we got. Staff was very helpful. Our room was nice and cozy. Comfortable beds. The ocean view was great. Its so beautiful to be able to watch the sunrise in the mornings. Everything was within walking distance from the hotel so we didn't have to do much driving which is exactly what I wanted. And my boys definitely enjoyed being right across the street from the beach. They got plenty of fishing done and just laying out on the beach. Even though it would've been nice to enjoy the pool which was still going through some renovations, it was still enjoyable since the beach was right there. We will definitely be going back soon.

Room Tip: The rooms with the Ocean View are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamalsky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Not on the beach at all, construction going on, smells like paint, doesn't look anything like these pictures, air conditioner leaked all over the balcony, sliding glass doors fell off the hinges not well lit, location on a back road. Very disappointed but stuck because paid online.
Very surprised they're allowed to post these pictures online.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelie, General Manager at Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We appreciate your feedback. We are definitely not on the beach and apologize if this was not clear. We would have happily refunded you if you had let us know. Please contact us so we can take care of you.

Our website and listings indicate we are across A1A from the beach and probably 50 steps away from the sand. We have had many guests comment that we are closer to the sand and water than most beachfront hotels, which can take 10 to 15 minutes to get to the beach. We are also the only available hotel at the beach. The next closest hotel is over 6 blocks or over half a mile away by the river inlet.

The hotel and all guestrooms were painted about a month ago as part of our full renovation. We apologize if the paint smell was still noticeable to you.

New professional photos of the hotel and guestroom renovations as well as the new pool and sundeck will be posted in a couple weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Pierce hotels

St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Recent visit for business in Fort Pierce and Vero Beach. I booked thru Priceline and it was rated 2 1/2 stars, so I expected a CLEAN, up to date hotel. NOT!! The hotel is small and is located in a residential area. There is limited parking, in fact there were guests parked on the street both nights. The Priceline profile states that there are MANY amenities that did not exist. In fact, as on January 1, 2014 there is a $5.95 "RESORT FEE" that covers parking, breakfast (lame), swimming pool (closed for remodel), Internet service..... "Whether available or not"!
There are 25 TV channels that don't include ESPN. Not a major problem except, the NCAA Football National Championship was on ESPN that night. UUGGGHHHH!
All night long there was a strange banging sound that kept me from sleeping and the office closes at 11PM. Turns out there was a shutter that was not secured at the end of the building and it was flapping and banging all night! Frustrating!!!

Needless to say, I will not chose this hotel in the future and I certainly would not recommend the "resort" to others.

I rarely complain in my reviews, but this is a place that over promises and under delivers with the star level and amenities stated on the site that DO NOT EXIST!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank robaconk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelie, General Manager at Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We are sorry your experience was not up to par. We are just finishing a major $400,000 renovation and its 99% done. The pool and sundeck are actually brand new amenities and will be open next week.

We do run 100% occupancy almost all year round so parking can be tight if guests travel in more than one car. Sorry for any inconvenience this caused.

Thank you for pointing out the loose shutter, which has been secured.

We have now completed a full gut renovation down to the concrete in each of the guestrooms with new bedding, flooring, drapery, paint, baseboards, granite countertops and numerous additional room amenities. The public space has been expanded and renovated as well.

The hotel is a small higher end boutique and caters to those looking for a more intimate experience. Look out for further new amenities as we expect to add a restaurant and bar in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Our small family and the family's dog hid out here for New Year's. After years of enduring deafening party goers in the metropolis, we finally made a plan to escape. We had the last and smallest room. Think 1960's fine accommodations. Heavy rattan furniture, brass fixtures, rich colors, simple plank floors. Because the rooms are small, a long stay might be tedious but 2-3 nights is divine. Cross the street to the beach and a quick block to the jetty. Fishing pole and bicycle rentals nearby. And, lots of small burger and seafood joints. Very nice.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LizNwpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott valley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I go to florida about 4 - 5 times a year to see my mother. It is not a vacation destination for me nor has florida been one of my favorite places (I lived there many years ago) Well, after moving mom to Fort Pierce, I found the Royal Inn and now I look forward to going! It is clean, as close to the beach without being on the beach ( and if you can't walk 1 block, there is handicapped parking at the park on the inlet), the staff is friendly and helpful and for the year I have been going there, the faces are all the same (tells a lot about a place that keeps their employees long term) and go out of their way to be helpful. The so called biker bar across the road is not a biker bar but rather a fun place to go that by chance, some people that use motorcycles go to. Lots of motorcycles in Florida and to avoid them you may have to choose another destination! Several good restaurants within walking distance, beautiful park and jetty to walk out on, and the road construction is done. Many upgrades in the rooms including new tile floors, window treatments and coffee makers. The rooms have always been spotless when I have been there -- cannot imagine what that one reviewer was talking about! This is a boutique hotel, not a Disney,resort thing. Many travelers like the feeling of a smaller, well managed hotel and for those folk, I cannot say enough good things about the Royal Inn Beach Hotel! The only place I will stay when in the area ---

Room Tip: Ocean is great if you are early riser and like to watch sunrise with a cup of coffee. West view for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p s p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Pierce
0.6 mi away
Dockside Inn & Resort
Dockside Inn & Resort
#7 of 24 in Fort Pierce
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
15.1 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
11.7 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
#8 of 27 in Vero Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
3 Palms Hotel Fort Pierce
3 Palms Hotel Fort Pierce
#9 of 24 in Fort Pierce
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Pierce
0.5 mi away
Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island

Property: Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island
Address: 222 Hernando St, Hutchinson Island, Fort Pierce, FL 34949-3239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Pierce
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Pierce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island recently completed a full renovation in December 2015, which included a full gut renovation of the guestrooms and public area space, new guestroom, public area, pool and patio furniture throughout, a complete exterior refresh and the addition of a resort pool and sundeck featuring beach exit shower facilities and pool chaises. The hotel offers ocean view and sunset view guestrooms, all with private balconies except, with either a king or two double beds. The Royal Inn's room amenities include custom made handwoven rope rattan furniture, Keurig coffee makers, USB bedside ports, wood tile flooring throughout, stainless steel refrigerators and microwaves (full kitchens in suites), 32-inch flat HDTVs with 5 channels of HBO and free wireless high speed internet. Continental breakfast is offered daily. The hotel also has a business center and 24-hour guest laundry. The hotel also offers 700 square foot 2 bedroom apartment suites featuring new handwoven rope rattan furniure, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top double beds, a living area with dining table and sofa sleeper and a full-size kitchen with all cookware, dishware and utensils for those considering longer stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing