We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all KOA's are the same”
Review of Fort Pierce KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Pierce
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fort Pierce KOA
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The owner and staff are very nice and friendly. We stayed for 5 weeks as a getaway from the nasty midwest winter. The neighborhood that backs up to park is very "rough" If you like hearing/watching the sheriff's helicopter circle over your motorhome for 5 hours, this just might be the park for you. There was a hostage/death by police less than a block away one night and a dead body found in a van another night. There is nothing to do at the park...no swimming pool/club house...the things you expect at a KOA, especially for the price of this one....basically it is just a place to park your motorhome The entire premise is gravel...quite dusty. It is adjacent to HIghway 1, which is has a lot of traffice...one does get used to this in time. My largest frustration was the wifi...in the site right next to the office, we did not have wifi reception. I talked to staff about it several times and they suggested we get a booster...for this I spent $80...it was better, but could not get signal the majority of the time and then when did, it was in and out, in and out. The KOA main provider was "limited"...it had 5 bars, the highest, but it said "limited"...I guess limited mean no internet access, as that is what he had. This place may be ok for an overnight stay, if you are only looking for an expensive place to park your motor home, but not for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Lucy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Fort Pierce KOA, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

We're so sorry that your stay wasn't up to our normal standards. We do forgo many of the amenities found at other campgrounds due to our location. We have so many stores nearby and are just a few minutes away from several beaches which is why we choose not to offer things like a pool which many of our guests would never use. We'll absolutely look into the wireless internet issue for you and hopefully ensure that future guests do not have the same problems. As far as the neighborhood goes, we are located in a downtown area but what you describe is certainly not a regular occurrence and we apologize for events that happened that are beyond our control. We really do strive to make your stay as wonderful as possible and hope you'll give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 58 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

Have actually here 2 times in 2013 Memorial + July 4th. weekends. We have a 42' motorhome w/tow. Came in the back way a little tight towing but we fit and was able to drive into our spot.
Very friendly staff good place to stay a while. No pool but not all places we've stayed do. Pet friendly nice size dog area that's what we look for we have pets. 2 dog beaches 1 10 min. 1 20 min. away. Will go back soon

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bud B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Fort Pierce KOA, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our campground. Our staff is one of the things we are most proud of and our customer service is always top notch. We absolutely adore pets here and our pet playground will always be one of our top priorities for guests. We do not offer a pool but that is only because most of our guests would never use it as the beach is only a few minutes away. Hope you'll come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

It's been 11 months since we went to FL, so I'm not sure which KOA you are. We stayed @ a lot of KOA's to go from CO to FL & then back to CO. But I think you were the KOA that had a shuttle to the Marina & we were able to go on the boat ride :-) We liked that as we could leave our RV @ your KOA rather than park it @ the Marina. We had 3 sheltie dogs that travel w/ us & by leaving it @ your KOA we could leave the air conditioning on for the dogs. Also, I remember that the boat was a few minutes late returning & yet your driver waited for us :-) And if I remember correctly, there was a little strip mall close by that I walked to & got a delicious Italian dinner for that night in the RV, I think we stayed w/ you 2 nights & we will definitely stay w/ you again when we are in your part of the country. THANKS :-) Libby & George

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Libbylovesdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Fort Pierce KOA, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

It looks like we made a great impression because we were the KOA you describe! We do offer a shuttle service to the marina as well as local beaches and our staff is more than willing to wait for you if there is any chance you'll be late. Pets are one of our top priorities here and there is a great strip mall just across the street with fantastic Italian food. Can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed one night on the way back from the Keys to Orlando and now know this is a great place to stay and visit the Fort Pierce area. The owner was great giving us suggestions to visit the local craft and food fair at the harbor as well as a great suggestion to have Sunday Breakfast at Mulligans in Vero Beach. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakerhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Fort Pierce KOA, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Sounds like you met our wonderful campground owner Barry and he gave you his always excellent advice on what to see and do in the area. Glad you had a wonderful time in the Fort Pierce area and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great place to stay for a quick visit to see family. Campground is located on a very busy road which makes it a little difficult to pull in to. Staff very friendly and helpful. Offers free shuttle to the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CopakeKOA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Even though this KOA lacks amenities, the friendly staff certainly makes up for it. There is a very nice dog park. We have a 43 foot motorhome and had no problem fitting into the lot provided. This is not a destination RV park, but, is nice for an overnight spot.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pjalexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

It was after midnight when I arrived. The entry off of the main highway had a Cute KOA van with lights on it to show you where you were. There were welcome packages in the entry and a note to help myself to an available spot. I backed into a spot and crashed until about 9 am. When I went to the office to Officially check in, I was greeted by a friendly smiling lady. The check-in experience was fantastic. I was given a quick tutorial on both the Campground and the surrounding area and attractions. She went out of her way to make sure I had every question answered and addressed any need I could think of at that time. The facilities were well taken care of, and there was even a corraled spot for my dog to play. They are planning on a few upgrades as soon as the local municipality signs off on them. I look forward to staying there again.

I had truck problems while there and the Staff went out of their way to insure that I was able to get the help I needed to get me up and running. They even watched my small dog for me since the heat was a bit much and I didn't want him to be with me while waiting for the truck tto get repaired. Their sons walked him and made him feel at home. I was Very greatful for their continued hospitality Above and Beyond what would have even been dreamed of. Most of this was done After hours. I have never experienced this treatment before.

This was my Very first trip in a pull behind camper. I bought it to do an 8000 mile road trip to coincide with my 35th Class Reunion in Wisconsin. I take a vacation about every 5 years due to the volume of work I have to do. I had stayed at other KOA Campgrounds on my trip, but NONE of them compared to the Great and Pleasant experience I had in Force Pierce. I plan on making them my Major stopping place on my next trip to Florida, which will most likely be this August. The price is reasonable and the Managers are Awesome!!!!!

Even though they aren't a Full service KOA, due to their size and location, what they offered was a Safe and Secure experience. Their back gates are kept locked at night to allow single point access from the main entrance off of the road. I was comforted in this. They are in the process of getting setup for pass key access if the municipality allows for it. The upgrades would be expensive since the city is wanting a Complete upgrade of the Entire infrastructure to allow it. A bit non-sensible in my opinion since I am both a Builder and Inspector. There is some road noise, but this has been the case at All of the KOA Kampgrounds that I have visited. Although there aren't many things to do AT the site, the Staff went out of their way to Direct me to All of the available amenities and attractions Around them. It is still a great central hub. After all, They are NOT a full service Hotel and shouldn't be expected to be one. I guess they could have spent a fortune to make it Super Personable, but that is not what I want from a Campground. It should be what it was, especially for the price. In Las Vegas they wanted almost $100 for a spot Without a Tree or Grassy area. Those were $150. You Can't beat the price for the modest amenities offered, which, to me, were sufficient.

Room Tip: No rooms available, but they do have a few nicely located rentable trailers on the North fence about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Pierce hotels
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Pierce
5.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Fort Pierce I-95
2 mi away
Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ft. Pierce
Red Roof Inn Ft. Pierce
#9 of 24 in Fort Pierce
68 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Pierce West
5.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#6 of 24 in Fort Pierce
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Pierce KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Pierce KOA

Address: 1821 N US Highway 1, Fort Pierce, FL 34946-1498
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Pierce
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Fort Pierce
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Pierce KOA Campground is located only a few minutes from the white sandy beaches of Fort Pierce. We are a perfect place to use as a base camp if you are exploring nearby Vero Beach, Fort Lauderdale or even Miami and Orlando. Campers will appreciate full hookup sites, deluxe cabins and tent sites. Our amenities include a dog park and very convenient access to nearby shopping. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing