We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mellon Patch Inn
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Pierce(Fort Pierce)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites of Ft. Pierce(Fort Pierce)(Great Value!)
$85
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sleep Inn(Fort Pierce)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Pierce(Fort Pierce)(Great Value!)
$96
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites(Fort Pierce)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dockside Inn & Resort(Fort Pierce)(Great Value!)
$139
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
120
15
5
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
15
5
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmelonnavy seal museumbed and breakfastshort walk across the streetthanksgiving dinnerbreakfast was deliciousremembered our namesprivate bathculinary skillshost chrispublic parkback porchfriendly hostshome away from homepeace and quietfamily weddingvery comfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 145 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2011

again another AWESOME ADVENTURE with our Canadian Family!! SO BLESSED to have the opportunity to stay at the MELLON PATCH; Gods little piece of Heaven on EARTH

CATHY and BUDD are the BEST!! its an honor to know them

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sisbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We could not have had a more wonderful trip. The rooms, decorations, everything was perfect. The friendly conversation was worth and extra fee. Outstanding place to visit. Just kick back, put your feet up and let the world pass you by!
We will be reccomending and returning in the near future!
Thanks for a wonderful time Mellon Patch

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnthonyKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

When you have to work at being friendly, running a bed and breakfast is probably not the best business choice. Cathy, the owner, is gruff.

We were promised a level of service that was not delivered.

Beds were OK but breakfast was uneatable. No coffee, nothing, until Cathy shows after 9:00 am. Based on the low quality offering it would have been better if she had just stayed away.

Our party was catered, at extra cost, and the staff was seen eating our food and drinking our alcohol. Unbelievable.

I DO NOT recommend the Mellon Patch Inn. Two thumbs down.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fr8r1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mellonpatch, Owner at Mellon Patch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

Mary Lynn did not stay at the Inn. Her brother in law had two servings of Breakfast. Her neice finially came out at 2:00 a.m. and asked her aunt to tone it down her baby had just woke up.

I am sure people you will be able to read between the lines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

The Melon Patch was everything I was hoping for and more. The location was perfect...within a few minutes walking to the beautiful, pristine beach and trails to walk, jog, or ride your bikes on. Kathy and Bud the owners, made us feel so welcome that it felt like we were vacationing with good friends. We didn't feel confined to our room, Kathy made it clear that we should feel at home by giving us complete access to kitchen, dining room, or even the canoes for a ride in the bay. Our rooms were outstanding, from the beautiful decorative touches to the bathroom I'd love to take home with me. The Melon Patch was the last stop on our vacation and definitely the best. If I vacation again on the east coast of Florida I know that it would be foolish to stay anywhere other than the Melon Patch. Bob and Karen

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kml6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Our family stayed for the weekend. Things that we were told in the beginning never happened they changed the rules as they went along. They said too much about their lives and talked about money problems. Cathy also replied that she was not happy with serving people anymore. That was written all over her face when we were there. She was very RUDE!! It's ashame because the house is beautiful and very clean but they were not pleasant. Make sure that when you come to this Bed & Breakfast you have a written contract so that she does not change things as she goes along. She will change in a second.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank nicoleswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mellonpatch, owner at Mellon Patch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2010

the person writing this review was the problem with her children. She started out calling to inquire about stereo equipment to have a party at the BNB for her boyfriends parents. She was told there was none and I was unaware of any party scheduled.

The parents of her boyfriend had reserved a few rooms for family coming in for their anniversary. They were told there were other guest staying at the inn.

Upon check in the mother added her son and his girlfriend Nicole and there kids asked for cots. I accommodated however was very explecite that no teenagers were allowed on the North side where the other guest were staying. That evening the entire family with several others took over my inn including the kitchen and dining area.

One ofthe boys tried to enter the other guest rooms. The family was downstairs drinking and oblivious as to what the kids were doing. At 10:00 I finially ended the party.

The next evening Nicole proceeds to eneter my kitchen without asking or my knowledge and started preparing seafood and dinner for the famil. I was in the middle of preparing food for a wedding I had the following day. Which the family was aware of prior to booking. They again had all the family memers over and had a drunken party.

Nicole and her boyfriend become intoxicated spilling red wine all over the outside patio where I was setting up for the wedding. Her and her daughter had a confortation outside and her boyfriend had a arguement with his son and his son went across the street and was pulled over by the police for sleeping in his truck.

Again at 10:30 they were getting louder and in the great room area so I called the party which is when Nicole and her boyfriend became angry due to the alcohol consumption.

The next day was suppose to be the day of the celebration of his parents anniversary. They had a part planned at his parents condo. They were all back to the inn by 9:00.
I wanted to ask why so early because the condo people would have called the law?

The other family staying here apologozed on many occassions for their brother and his girlfriend. They said they told him they would have been kicked out ifthey were staying a a Holiday Inn and a BNB is suppose to be quiet and restfull.

Nicole's children trashed the room broke the window treatments and they left to go to the beach not checking out until after 3:00. Check out is at 11:00 they knew this so we were unable to clean the room.

They ere suppose to sleep here not have a drunken party. My other guest thank goodness are guest that have stayed with us for 5 years so they know tis is not the normal of our inn.

I hope people can read between the lines and see this is all due to immature self centering selfish guest. Obvioulsly ones tat have never stayed at a BNB. They are not classy enough.

The other couple that was staying here contacted me to say they wrote a review to tell their side and it has never been posted????

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews