We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific BBQ and wonderfully priced lunch specials”
Review of Dale's Bar-B-Q West - CLOSED

Dale's Bar-B-Q West
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Key West, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrific BBQ and wonderfully priced lunch specials”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was my first visit here and as you may see in my other reviews I love BBQ! The name has changed to Moonshiners BBQ, I passed right by not knowing. Mid summer lunch and the place was packed with a short wait that was well worth it. Brand new name, Brand new building after a fire I was told. Awesome deal, I had the BBQ pork sandwich which came with steak fries and a small portion of excellent cole slaw, so good I got a pint to go. Two sauces to choose from in a mustard base, one mild, one hot...very good even though I prefer a vinegar/tomato based sauce.
Will I return? You bet! Going back for another business lunch in two days and taking the wife this weekend. This place is a winner folks, with great service and excellent sweet tea to boot. A must visit BBQ joint, ya gotta go!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    12
    10
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Service and Atmosphere... "ok" BBQ”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The atmosphere is comfortable and casual without being fast food. The service was friendly and quick! The portions were good for the price, but smallish in comparison to what they are called. For example, the "Large" combo was more like a medium in size, but also in price so it balanced out. The meat on the sandwiches was of excellent quality and cooked perfectly. It does NOT have seasoning, or if it did.. the seasoning was bland. The bun on the sandwich was just a normal bun, nothing special. The fries were thick cut steak fries and cooked perfectly. We ordered a side of beans, and they were EXCELLENT. The two "house bbq sauces" were different. One borders on hot sauce and the other is HEAVILY vinegary. Separately they are average at best.. mixed together they are good but not great. Overall, if you are looking for a relaxed sit down meal that doesn't cost an arm and a leg... give them a try. If you are looking for real Southern BBQ, go somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xanaduyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“4 Generations”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I have been going to this place since they have been open with my parents now my kids are taking their kids. And it is so nice it see the it is still just as popular as it always been.. I LOVE the good old pork special nice to say that it is still the same after the re-opening and my husband and i drive from Sebastian just for a great BBQ sandwich. Thrilled that they are back and love the new decorating inside...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nawlinshotsauce2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great place to get delicious BBQ!!! Fast,friendly service.Restaurant is always clean.Definitely a favorite spot for local folks!!! Busy,busy!!! But no matter how busy they are,the food and service is great!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Classic Barbecue”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

There's a reason why the place is packed..EverY DaY! Sweet Tea is Unreal..so simple but like none other. Onion chips..incredible; grab a Jumbo Sandwich and enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank FSUSneak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dale's Bar-B-Q West also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing