We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain's Galley Restaurant

Captain's Galley Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 181 Restaurants in Fort Pierce
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
284 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Big breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The restaurant is only open for breakfast and lunch, but after the big breakfast, who could eat lunch. The 'classic' is only $5.35 from 7:30 to 10:00 a.m.. Two huge pancakes, 2 eggs, bacon or sausage, potatoes or grits. I had the pecan pancakes and they sure did NOT skimp on the pecans. The pancakes were delicious. Eggs done to perfection. I ordered a side order of their specialty hash browns and marinated onions and they were wonderful, too. The fresh squeezed orange juice was fresh squeezed orange juice. Everything was yummy

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    73
    25
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Umatilla
Level Contributor
96 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“You better be hungry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

It was our first time here and at 9am it was crowded. I loved the pancakes - they tasted home made. They had real potatoes - for the home fries. Everything was delicious. We had the breakfast special for $5.95. The coffee was good, but $1.95 is a bit pricey. Lots of parking at this very popular place. Decor is pleasing as are the Captains chairs at the table. Quick, pleasant waitress.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alliceUmatilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this one! Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had lunch here ... we both had the BLTs which came with coleslaw and French fries. We agreed we had never had a better BLT - the sandwich alone was PLENTY! Our drinks (iced tea and an Arnold Palmer) were fresh-brewed and delicious.

We did not have dessert.

Our waitress did an excellent job, even trying to help us out by suggesting where we should go to find some books to buy! (She asked everyone else on staff - this restaurant appears to be a large, family-owned operation so that took some time!)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob44mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“As everyone else has said - stellar breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

They do breakfast right, as all the other reviews have mentioned. We came here intending to have lunch but after all the great reviews of breakfast, decided to have that even though it was noon. The serve bfast til 2pm during the week and on Saturdays.

It was great but the service was also worth writing about. Phenomenal waitress (Carl) who really took time with our two small children and was especially nice.

Location is great, near the waterway in what looks like an old house. It is very small inside which explains the long wait times other reviewers mentioned (although we did not wait on this Sat. afternoon).

Breakfast for four was around $25 plus a generous tip. :). We will be back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ALil'Irish!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good place for a quick breakfast all day.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Plenty of parking, spotless dining room, prompt courteous service, well prepared breakfast w a large menu. They serve lunch also, however we've only had breakfast. Hard to beat!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank peeblesn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Galley Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Captain's Galley Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing