We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamondhead is the best !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DiamondHead Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2005

Stayed 5 nghts at Diamondhead July 11- 16 , The hotel staff was very helpful and thoughtful. The rooms were large, clean and very nice. The balcony was very good size with a great view, we had oceanfront room. The pool was nice size and very clean along with the hot tubs. The beach was great and very relaxing. Walked up and down the beach and did not see any nicer resort around.Did not see Pink Shell Resort so can not judge.We had breakfast at hotel which was ok, but nothing else, so hard to comment. Overall Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Location and we had a Great Time.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank hoosierman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,084 - 1,090 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2005

The location of this resort is ideal. It's on the beach within walking distance of some good restaurants. And from the looks of the other hotels on the main road, Diamondhead was the most impressive. Ft. Myers Beach was teaming with spring breakers but our hotel was quiet, clean and full of couples and families. The room was fine but I wouldn't say it was a good value -everything in Ft. Myers is insanely overpriced in high season. The view from the balcony was my favorite part. The balcony is big and has a table and 4 chairs. A nice place to unwind after a long day in the sun. The service, however, left something to be desired. Everyone from the bartender to the waitress in the restaurant had attitude and acted as if we all were a big inconvenice. We've never really had such consistantly bad service on vacation before. We found, however, that the bad service was not limited just to the resort. It seemed everywhere we went in Ft. Myers - the service was slow and very unfriendly. I would recommend this hotel to friends but I wouldn't rave about it. Next year I think we'll try Gull Wing. P.S. The BEST part of this trip was dinner on the roof of the Beached Whale. Just a few blocks from this hotel - cold, cold beer and wonderful seafood! Shrimp, crab, order it all!

  • Stayed: March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MexicoChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2005

We got into the hotel about 3:30 p.m. on June 30th 2005. We were Pleased with the room, though we did pay $40 extra a night for a total beach front view. The beach front/pool view room would have been just as good. Food was ok. Service left much to be desired. Probably short staffed, but I'm just being kind. Pool bar & grill close too early for vacationers! Grill at 6:00 & pool bar at 8:00. & they don't want you to bring your own food or drinks to this area after hours. Alot of kids at this time of year & alot of rowdy teen agers. Security is a contracted company & they don't much care about what goes on. Very loud parties at 3:00 a.m. with drinking & screaming. Front desk just decides not to answer the phone. We called, & alot of other guests called, nothing was done. Housekeeping was really bad. we had to call them almost every day when our room still was not cleaned at 3-4:00 p.m. They also never took out garbage collecting in the corner. Room service trays stayed in hall outside of elevator for 2 whole days.
Beach very nice, but water very brown from all the rain they've had.
My biggest gripe is that there are no chairs or benches or anything on the beach provided by the hotel. If you want to sit on the beach, & not just on a towel, you have to rent chairs & umbrellas for $26.50 a day. They tell you you can come & go from the chairs, & they will remain yours. NOT True!
It would cost less to buy your own stuff & leave it to someone when you left. Would we go back? NO. We should have gone to Mexico!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Vasecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2005

When we arrived at the hotel we were very excited because as we looked around we realized this hotel was in the perfect place. The only negative thing we encountered was check in. I had made my reservation through AAA and verified everything through AAA 5 days before our trip. When I went to check in they did not have a reservation for us. I was quite surprised and upset!! They explained to me that they had notified AAA several weeks before that they had no extra rooms. Diamondhead was quick to find a room for me and then gave us a complimentary bottle of wine for our trouble. The fault with the reservation was with AAA. I guess they only allot for so many rooms to be booked by AAA.

Our room was beautiful and clean. Plenty of room for 4 people. The bed was comfortable and the sofa bed was just fine for my kids. We had a view of the ocean which was just perfect. The balcony goes from the bedroom to the living room. It was wonderful to sleep with the balcony door open.

The pool was clean and just the right size. The outdoor bar area had good food and drinks. The beach was very nice.

I will definitely return for a future vacation. If it

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank litebright66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Milwaukee, WI
19
Reviewed June 26, 2005

I'm surprised to read the other reviews complaining about the cleanliness. I found our room very nice and clean. The price is a little steep, but for the money you're getting a 1 bedroom suite, screened in balcony with table/chairs, full kitchen w/ amenities, excellent view, great access to the beach. The hotel has a nice restaurant (Chloes), lounge bar, and poolside bar. We managed to score the best room in the hotel - 12th story corner room that had a great view of the gulf and sunset. We did have some problems with Chloe's room service (not getting the food we ordered) but other than that, nice restaurant. Compared to the other hotels on the beach, this is the nicest one.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2005

I am happy to say this was by far our most enjoyable trip in years. The employees were incredibly friendly, the rooms were spacious and clean, the food was wonderful and the beach atmosphere was most relaxing. We will stay again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MinusBelowInMinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
14
Reviewed June 14, 2005

My family stayed at the Diamondhead in May 2005, we were very disappointed with it, so much so we relocated 3 days into a 17 day trip.
On arrival to our room on the second floor when exiting the lift we thought we had come out in the basement. The walls are painted a murky brown and there is nothing to let you know what floor you are on. The rooms themselves were ok, although we had to call reception daily to have our room cleaned. We also had to call maintenance to fix the shower and for a plug for our bath. All in all we weren't impressed with the hotel and certainly won't be staying there again. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,876 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,706 reviews
3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
563 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
420 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DiamondHead Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DiamondHead Beach Resort

Address: 2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $188 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DiamondHead Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DiamondHead Beach Resort is a landmark beach resort in the entertainment district of Fort Myers Beach, featuring spacious 1-bedroom suites, Cabañas Beach Bar & Grille, Chloës Seafood & Steaks, spa services, beachfront pool, guest bicycles, fitness centers, and endless recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DiamondHead Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamondhead Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Diamondhead Resort In Fort Myers Fl
Diamond Head Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing