We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pre-holdiay break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DiamondHead Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We were visiting folks in Naples, celebrating an early xmas, and decided to give us both a mid week break with a 1 night escape to DiamondHead. We were granted a newly updated room with a beachfront/sunset view, and we enjoyed everything about the place.
We rented chairs and an umbrella on the beach, tried a massage at the Esterra Spa (highly recommended), and ate at the beachside bar, Cabanas, twice.
David especially deserves mention as and outstanding ambassador for the resort, and being your first point of contact, makes you feel special from the start.
Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear R P,
Thank you very much for staying with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort. I'm glad to hear we could provide you with the beach escape you were looking for, even if it was for only one day. I'll be sure to pass along your kind words to David, I know he will greatly appreciate it. He and our entire staff really do strive to give each guest a special experience when staying with us. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice staff at front desk. However, we paid for a beach front but did not get it. We had to argue and show our itinerary as proof. They finally gave us a "premium" room. However they were moving all new furniture into the other units making a lot of noise in the morning. Then they were calling you first thing in the morning, bothering you walking on the beach, walking to go to room, going to their beach bar about buying a timeshare. Then charge you extra for "resort fees" that they never disclosed about. Their Wifi never worked, we never got the paper and never used their phones. They started that was the extra fees... we will NEVER return to this "resort". Over charge and hassle about timeshare.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rolloffbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Rolloffbeast,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to give us your feedback. I apologize you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. Let me try to help in anyway I can.

We just put brand new furniture in our rooms, yes a little noise is inevitable but it only lasted a couple days and the new items add so much more value for our guests. Our rooms look amazing and we know our guests will be extremely happy with the upgrades.

Our Wi-Fi does work throughout the resort. Sometimes it's a simple setting on the device that prevents it from connecting to the network. We are happy to help all guests with the settings on their device so they can take full advantage of our Wi-Fi. Just give our front desk a call and we will be glad to help with your connection settings.

The resort fee that you mentioned is a standard practice with properties like DiamondHead that offer many special amenities that you don't receive at a standard hotel. The fee is disclosed to all guests in their confirmation letter and in the check-in packet. I apologize you didn't know about this.

We do offer a vacation club program that we like to educate our guests about. I apologize if the sales associates asked too often. I will be sure to talk to them about that. Thank you very much for staying with us and we would very much like the opportunity to prove to you why we are one of the top resorts on Fort Myers Beach. We look forward to hopefully seeing you soon.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Our recent stay at Diamondhead Beach resort was wonderful. Upon arrival, David greeted us and welcomed us to Hotel. Personality plus, Outstanding young man who made your first impression of place great. Truly cares about people and was very helpful about the happenings at the Beach. He should be cloned. Great 1 bedroom condo that was very clean and views second to none. Vicky at front desk was also great. Very helpful and had wonderful attitude. Food is good and service was very good. Bar is great, however, bartenders not overly friendly. Could learn a lot from David and Vicky- Bar would be much busier. This is our third stay and place and was best yet. Will definitely go back. The beach is not overly crowded in December and is fabulous. Fort Myers Beach has many eateries on water which was very nice. Matanzas was our favorite- especially Petey's upper deck. Heavenly biscuit was a great breakfast place.
Fresh catch bistro was an excellent higher end place to eat. All in all- Fort Myers beach is great and Diamond Head is a wonderful choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Jojonash,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. I'm happy to hear that David gave you great service and a wonderful first impression. He is a great asset to our team and always makes guests feel almost like family. David, Vicky and the rest of our team strive to exceed expectations and give each guest a truly special experience. We are lucky to have all of them. Fort Myers Beach is a Florida paradise with much to do and see, please come back and see us again soon and experience even more!

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here from 15th Nov to 4th Dec 2013. It was the 4th time that we have stayed at this hotel. Last time was in May 2008, and I have to say that I was a little dissappointed this time. The rooms are advertised as being updated, but the only update that I can recall is the tv's are now Flat screen. Our room 1204, seemed a little tired. The shower head was loose from the wall, there were parts missing from the fridge door, and when we arrived the cupboard door was hanging off. The room had obviously not been checked prior to our arrival. The cupboard door was fixed immediately when I told reception. There is a nice pool area, but again we didn't use it much as it looked a bit dirty. Pool floor could do with a good scrub. Food and drink prices in the hotel are expensive, and the food was just about ok. Better value and quality is available just a short walk away. Don't rely on the advertised Wi-Fi as it is a complete joke. Didn't work properly the whole of my stay, despite having to hire an ethernet cable($10) from reception. Made no difference. (I was using an iPad air so i couln't blame our equipment)
Previous stays here have been perfect, but this time I felt that the hotel were trying to screw every last cent out of me. Despite the fantastic views and friendly staff I will not be staying here again. I don't believe it offers good value for money and better is available in the locale.

Room Tip: Don't have a room with a balcony immediately above the outdoor dining aera of Chloes Lounge. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Clive T,
Thank you for staying with us again and for taking the time to give us your feedback. It sounds like you didn't stay in one of our newly renovated rooms. We are currently in the process of updating our rooms, the new rooms have granite counter tops, new stone showers, and new furniture and loungers. I really wish you could have experienced one of these updated rooms, I think you would have been extremely impressed.

Our food and beverage outlets are very popular and do offer great value. Compared to other resorts, we provide our guests with top value and quality.

Thank you again for staying with us and I do hope we have another chance to impress you with our recent upgrades on your next stay.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a week at Diamond Head and the only problem was that we were only there one week! Everything was just fantastic,the beach is amazing-OK the water is a funny colour but I was told it was due to river water emptying into the sea.Our suite was excellent,very comfortable and spacious with a great view up to the pier and Sanibel.All of the staff at DH were very helpful and friendly although we did nt spend much time in the hotel as there is so much to see and do in the area.Sanibel and Captiva are just paradise,the wildlife is amazing,every day was a new and exciting wildlife spectacle.Dolphins swim really close to the beach early in the mornings,birds including Ospreys are hunting on the beach right outside DH even a bald eagle flew over,Gators on Sanibel and fantastic shelling,even outside the hotel.Took a boat trip from Captiva and a Manatee swam over to US as we walked to the boat and te dolphins seemed to love following the boat.MAGIC !!! And don't forget the Everglades is only half an hours drive.We don't. Make a habit of ever going back but this place and definitely the Diamond Head will be seeing us again.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxwell010909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Maxwell010909,
Thank you very much for staying with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort. It sounds like you had a fantastic time exploring the area! As you mentioned, the wildlife here is truly amazing. Playful dolphins, beautiful shore birds, alligators and you even saw one of our nesting Bald Eagles! Fort Myers Beach and the surrounding area really is paradise. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband & I spent 4 nights here and it was just perfect. We wanted a place to relax on the beach and walk to restaurants, nightlife & shopping, we did not want to rent a car! (we hired a car service to get us from Ft. Myers airport to hotel for $50, cabs cost a little more) We got it all! Beautiful beach, sand is just gorgeous, perfect weather, lots of beautiful shells, stunning sunsets & sunrises! 5 minute walk up the beach and you will find restaurants, shopping etc. Great nightlife for all ages!! Our suite was spacious and newly renovated with granite, tile etc.. great shower. Although it was not necessary, it was nice to have a kitchen. The fridge kept all our drinks nice & cold! Bonus having that first cup of coffee on the lanai every morning. Huge lanai overlooking the ocean. We left our sliders open to hear the ocean at night. The staff was incredibly friendly, attentive & helpful. Great pool area, cabana bar with happy hour & music and breakfast & dinner served on the terrace, if you like. We did not have one meal indoors. The food was great and reasonably priced and the cocktails are made fresh, not premixed. We loved everything about the Diamondhead and hated to leave. We will be back with the kids next time!!! Hopefully, very soon! 5 Star resort at 3 star prices, the place is a gem!

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to get a corner suite facing towards the pier. Fabulous views of the direct oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clflipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Cliflipp,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort. I'm excited to hear you had a fantastic time on property and on Fort Myers Beach. We like to think our little island truly is a slice of paradise. Nothing beats leaving your balcony door open at night and falling asleep to the sound of the waves. Then waking up with a morning coffee while watching the dolphins play just off the beach. I'm also happy to hear our staff was able to take great care of you, we love to give each guest a special experience. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Wow! We hosted a small conference at this hotel in the middle of December. The service was truly outstanding. All the staff members, including Dave, the Bellman, and the incredibly friendly and attentive food and beverage staff, provided an exceptionally enjoyable visit. The rooms were renovated about one month ago and are especially attractive with a very pleasing layout. I can't wait to come back on vacation someday!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TropicalManorDaytona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear TropicalManoDaytona,
Thank you for staying with us during your work conference, hopefully next time you can come back for more of a vacation! I'm happy to hear our staff took great care of you. We strive to exceed expectations and give everyone a fantastic Fort Myers Beach vacation. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
3.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,758 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,907 reviews
3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#16 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
476 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
575 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DiamondHead Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DiamondHead Beach Resort

Address: 2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $195 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DiamondHead Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DiamondHead Beach Resort is a landmark beach resort in the entertainment district of Fort Myers Beach, featuring spacious 1-bedroom suites, Cabañas Beach Bar & Grille, Chloës Seafood & Steaks, spa services, beachfront pool, guest bicycles, fitness centers, and endless recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelPower, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your DiamondHead Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamondhead Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Diamondhead Resort In Fort Myers Fl
Diamond Head Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing