We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The resort donated a 2 night stay to our local school's silent auction which my family won, so I was impressed with their community spirit before checking in. We arrived on a Friday afternoon and were greeted immediately by the friendly staff. At check in we were upgraded to a gulf/pool view. We had a two room suite with an equipped kitchenette. The bedroom was newly carpeted and had a comfortable king bed with nice linens. My children,11 and 17, slept on a sofabed. Normally this would emit much groaning and complaining. But no, the mattress was very comfortable and both were pleasantly surprised. The bathroom appeared to have also been recently remodeled. One caveat to the tall, the shower head is rather low, but water pressure was good. The patio off our room was quite large with two lounge chairs and a table with four chair and plenty of room to spare! The pool has plenty of chairs and the Cabana restaurant serves tropical drinks and lighter food both in the pool area and under cover in an open-air but pleasantly cool spot overlooking the Gulf. As our stay was in August, weather was HOT. There is no shade except a few umbrellas at pool until late afternoon. The pool was the perfect temperature for cooling off. There were children, but not so many that a couple alone would be disturbed. The beach is beautiful. Chairs under umbrella are available to rent as are jetskis and the like. The resort is walking distance from Time Square where there are shops, entertainment and restaurants. We also had the chance to dine at their upscale restaurant, Chloe's and thoroughly enjoyed it. All in all it was the perfect weekend getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Leslie H,
Thank you very much for staying with us and congratulations on winning the silent auction! I'm happy to hear you and your family had a great time and enjoyed your suite. We try to make our guests feel as if they are at their home away from home. I'm glad you enjoyed your dining experiences at Cabanas and Chloes as well! Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    286
    89
    39
    22
See reviews for
275
437
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
st joseph
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband & I stayed at DiamondHead for four nights. Property is located close to the pier/time square area where there is lots of restaurants and shops. Walkable distance for most people. Staff was all very friendly. A bellhop is not always available when you arrive later in the day. I asked the front desk for a luggage cart, she called maintence. A very friendly gentleman showed up and assisted us with a cart. He helped us to our room with all our supplies. Our room was beach front. We had a large screened balcony with a table, chairs and loungers. The room is a living room with sofa sleeper, chair, cocktail table, high top dining table and kitchenette(sm fridge, microwave, dish washer, coffee pot, toaster, basic plates, cups & flatware). The bedroom had a king bed with tv. The bathroom is accessible from the bedroom or living room. Nice size bath with tub/shower. Rooms were always well cleaned. There was room renovation on the floor above us. Noise didn't start till 9am so it was bearable. Negatives: our room was looking in need of renovation. The carpet was clean but, had a few stains. The bathroom caulk was cracked & pulling from the wall. The bed mattress was needing replaced. I slept fine, but it reminded me of bedding most motels used in the past. The worst thing was the sofa sleeper. It was very worn. Parts of the fabric was loose from the structure. When I sat on it to watch TV, my body tilted forward and to the middle. After an hour of sitting, it caused my back to hurt. Positives: good location sitting close to the shoreline. Nice pool. Restaurant and outdoor bar(didn't use either). Perfect size room. Room key was great, you only had to hold your key to the lock. No swiping and re-swiping to get into your room. Rooms were clean. I believe they are working on renovating all rooms. A ceiling fan in the bedroom would be a nice addition. The pros out weigh the cons. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sightseesylvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Francis, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I took our first vacation alone in 15 years and we couldn't have been more pleased with Diamondhead Resort. We received wonderful customer service the moment we arrived. Everyone there was very helpful and personable. The room was fabulous! Great view of the Gulf and very clean. I also need to add that the food here was the best we ever had at a resort or hotel and that is not easy to find. We will definitely be returning to Diamondhead in the future and was very pleased to find out they also have a location in Daytona as we love Daytona Beach as well. Thank you Diamondhead for making our vacation such a wonderful one!

Room Tip: Definitely spend the extra for a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Stephanie S.
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to give us your review. I'm excited to hear that you and your husband had a wonderful time and that our staff was able to take great care of you. We truly do strive to give each guest a special experience during their stay at DiamondHead Beach Resort. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Okay, I'll start off with my only knock on it: it's in Ft. Myers Beach, an insanely low-key type of town that was not my scene (but could be yours!). Besides that though, everyone was nice, especially Mike in Parking, and I had no issues whatsoever. Our room was always clean, and we got upgraded to the beachview which was nice. It's in walking distance to a lot of areas, and the pool and beach were nice (except for the lake runoff that haunted our trip). This place was pretty cool, and if for some reason I found myself back here, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MainCanePlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear MainCanePlane,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort. I'm happy to hear our staff was able to take such good care of you. We truly do strive to give each guest a special experience. I'm glad you enjoyed your upgrade to our beach view suites, the Gulf water is starting to clear up a bit now as well. Thank you again and if you do happen to find yourself on Fort Myers Beach in the future we would love to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

well we went back to diamond head and I must say I was disappointed this year. The friendly man at the desk when you walk in was gone, who knows who was there is time you never really seen him or if he was there his head was buried in a paper. Room service was ok but we were missing $40, and Vinny with money there was no mistake it was gone! The ocean was brown (we could get that at home) so we opted for the pool. Kids jumping in the pool every couple seconds doesn't make a fun pool stay along with having floats in the pool takes up people room. The bar tender Spike was great and makes a wonderful drink! The thought the food was very good. Needless to say next year we will not be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Penny M,
Thank you for coming back to stay with us again and for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm sorry you didn't receive the same type of quality you received on your first visit. I can assure you our entire staff goes out of their way to give each guest a special experience. That type of amazing service has kept us ranked as one of the top hotels on Fort Myers Beach. I would like to invite you back so that we can give you the same high quality experience you had the first time.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, pa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Diamondhead!! The staff was all so friendly! Only issue that I had was the 200 hold they want to place on your card. I had no plans on charging anything to my room as I had cash planned out for every thing. The restaurant there had great food too that you could sit down at or order by pool to eat. The room we had was pool view and gulf view! Room was always clean all staff was nice! Lots of optional kid activities at pool!! We won a beach towel playing bingo. Great location too!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ynljrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear ynljrl,
Thank you very much for staying with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort. I'm excited to hear our staff was able to take such good care of you. We truly do strive to give each guest a memorable experience. Sounds like you had a great time by the pool with good food and fun activities! Guest happiness is our number one priority. Thank you again and we hope to see you back real soon.

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Diamondhead beach and resorts views are wonderful! The screened in balcony is a great place to relax and have breakfast, lunch, or dinner. The bed was comfortable and it was nice to have two rooms within the hotel room. However, don't be fooled by the pictures posted online. The hotel has converted a few floors into time shares. Those are the pictures of the newly renovated timeshares. The room we stayed in was very old and not updated. It did not have a stove cooktop and the bathroom was old and outdated. The shower was so small that my husband had to duck to wash his hair. The grout in the tiles looked dirty and the sink was rusty and gross. Also, the newly renovated timeshares did not update the showers and this is one of the reasons we did not purchase a timeshare here. When you look at the pictures you'll notice they don't show the showerhead.That is because they are not updated and gross. Overall we had a great experience at the diamondhead. We just feel a beachfront property would update the rooms fully, including the small showers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mary Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mary Jo D,
Thank you very much for staying with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Yes, we do have a couple floors that are dedicated to the Vacation Club program, but we do have upgraded rooms that are not part of the Vacation Club as well. Also we are about ready to start at major room renovation project that will keep us positioned as one of the top resorts on Fort Myers Beach. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Neil Hopgood - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,511 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#23 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,956 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#7 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel

Property: DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel
Address: 2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DiamondHead Beach Resort & Spa is the premier choice for Fort Myers Beach lodging. It offers 121 one-bedroom suites with a king-size plush pillow top bed, private bath, living room with queen-size sleeper sofa and a fully stocked kitchenette. WiFi internet connection throughout the resort. Enjoy casual dining right on the beach at Cabana's Beach Bar & Grille and upscale dining at Chloes and Chloes Lounge. Amenities include The Esterra Spa & Salon, watersports, two outdoor hot-tubs, heated Gulf-side pool, exercise room, piano bar, private screened balconies and spectacular Gulf of Mexico sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamondhead Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Diamondhead Beach Resort
Diamondhead Resort In Fort Myers Fl
Diamond Head Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing