We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DiamondHead Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Carousel Inn on the Beach(Fort Myers Beach)(Great Value!)
$129
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach(Fort Myers Beach)(Great Value!)
$200
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outrigger Beach Resort(Fort Myers Beach)(Great Value!)
$208
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamingo Inn(Fort Myers Beach)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Neptune Resort(Fort Myers Beach)
$170
$165
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina(Fort Myers Beach)
$609
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lovers Key Resort(Fort Myers Beach)
$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandpiper Gulf Resort(Fort Myers Beach)
$209
$200
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pointe Estero Beach Resort(Fort Myers Beach)
$195
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,209)
Filter reviews
1,209 results
Traveler rating
681
345
110
46
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
681
345
110
46
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiamond headcabana barchloe's loungetime sharepool areagulf viewfort myersliving roomlarge balconyresort feedolphin tourmini fridgelounge chairsshower headthe entire staffpull out couchocean front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,061 - 1,066 of 1,209 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2008

My husband and I traveled to Fort Myers Beach to celebrate his 40th birthday and check out spring training. Everything was great - from the pool to the beach to the staff - couldn't be nicer :) Our room was clean and huge. A separate bedroom - sitting room with couch and a kitchenette. The sunsets from the patio were beautiful. Our room has a partial view of the ocean and I wouldn't choose to pay more for a full view -this was perfect.

Highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewEnglandGirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

had a great stay our room looked exactly like the website no surprises everything was clean and in new condition hotel staff were very nice and helpful great location on beach one negative was cover for pool filters were open and since we were on the second floor the hum was annoying out on the balcony (which was huge and screened ) front desk had maintenance go down right away and shut cover eliminating noise definitely would stay there again as it was one of the nicest hotels in the area best places to watch sunsets were the pier at times square and lovers key state park

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank strattboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2008

First, can I just address a lot of the negative reviews about this place? If you read them, the reviewers liked the Diamondhead, but didn’t like Fort Meyers. Well, if you wanted Naples but were too cheap to pay for it, don’t complain about it. Fort Meyers and Naples are two distinct places and if you didn’t know Fort Meyers is a little more of a down and dirty party beach, that’s your problem, not the Diamondhead’s.

Second, as far as this hotel, it was a very nice place to stay. Right on Fort Meyers Beach and in easy walking distance to bars and places to eat. Of course, you can also walk to the touristy t-shirt shops and what-not that abound in this area. Rooms were extremely spacious suites, with a large living area with fridge, microwave, etc. There was a clean bathroom and a large bedroom with its own separate TV. The huge screened-in balcony, which was accessible from both the bedroom and living room, was equipped with two sun chairs and a table with four additional seats and makes for a great place to hang out.

The staff was very friendly and note that they do allow for a complimentary late checkout, if your room is available. You have to call the morning of, to see if they need the room sooner. You also have the option of paying $50 and staying until 4 pm the day of checkout. Something to take advatage of if you want one last trip to the beach before its time to go home!

Note, we were there in January 08 and the beach had a lot of seaweed, so I am not sure if this is an isolated problem or not. Not really swimming weather when we were there, so it didn’t matter, but would be a problem if you intended to take a dip. I’d stick to the pool!

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank baxwelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

We had a beach-view suite on the 3rd floor. The room was very nice and clean. The view was awesome from our screened-in deck. We were able to watch both the sunrise and sunset from our deck.

I wouldn’t recommend any room except the beach-view rooms, because the view of the water and beach was so unobstructed and no one from other rooms can see on your deck. The other rooms, overlooking the pool, are in an L-pattern, so all the other decks face each other. If privacy is a concern, such as walking around with the doors open to your deck, then the beach-view room is the way to go.

Just before sundown each evening, we were entertained watching the very competent beach boy, clean up and put away all the umbrellas and chairs. It seemed he had to argue with some lingerers every night in order to get their chairs. He was a very hard worker and probably underpaid. The beach area was well maintained and they kept “interlopers” away from the paid chairs. So we were able to go in the water and not worry about someone taking our spot.

The food in Chloes restaurant was excellent. There are two nice dining areas, one in the small dining room and the other on the outside deck.

But here is where we found fault. The service in Chloes was about as bad as it gets. Even though there were plenty of workers, they were unable to clean tables or even bring food and drinks in a timely manner and constantly mixed up orders or forgot to order items.

One evening the bartender told us that if we put in our name she could get us the last table at the outside dining area. At that time, there were 3 occupied tables, out of 20 tables. The entire time we were outside that night, (until 9PM), only 4 tables were occupied at any one time.

The staff constantly apologized and said how busy they were because the opposite seating area was taking their attention. One evening I finally got up and checked on the opposite seating area and confirmed my suspicion…there were hardly any customers in either eating area. I did this on 3 different days; there were only a few tables occupied in any area. So I have no idea what the staff was doing.

Once the manager of the hotel gets the service issue in Chloes corrected, there will be nothing to complain about with this location.

The Bell captain was very helpful and was always patrolling the parking area to keep out non-customers of the hotel.

The hotel location was very good considering the island circumstances. We were less than a half mile from the Times Square area and so walking everywhere was just fine. Driving was another issue. There was a constant stream of cars coming over the bridge to the island; most of the time the line of cars barely moved. So driving anywhere was not recommended. But this isn’t the fault of the hotel, just a fact for the island in general.

We would strongly recommend this hotel for staying on Ft. Myers Beach.

Tom & Cindy Lynch
Cedar Rapids, IA
aegwell@mchsi.com

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank aegwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

DiamondHead was in a great location. 10 minute walk down Estero Blvd or on the Beach to Times Square. Many bars/eateries to stop at along the way. Check out happy hours-usually from 3-5 or 4-7. Times Square has all kinds of shops & restaurants/bars to enjoy. I recommend Gulfsore Grill-all you can eat shrimp,ribs & king crab for $24.95-Really!
Head south on Estero Blvd for fabulous italian food at Anthony's or great grouper tacos at the Fish House. Each room at Diamond head has a kitchen equiped with a small fridge. Topps Market, 7 Eleven within walking distance. We stocked up on Beer, water & soda. Winn DIxie & Publix easy to get to with a car.
Buy your own breakfast stuff because I wasn't impressed with any breakfast. The hotel is only $4.95 but not very good.
If you have a car, make sure to drive to Sanibel & Captiva Islands-only about 30-45 minutes away. Beautiful beaches-Sanibel with lots of shells. We also took a day & drove south to Naples & Marco Island. Naples is only 1/2 hr away & has wonderful beaches and Marco Island is another 1/2 hr further.
The bell man at DiamondHead was very helpful with information about the other beaches & Island.s We just loved Ft Myers but those "Love bugs" were a bit annoying at times.

The Grady's From Chicago Illinois

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank oldladygrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews