We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice beach / pool / but................” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamondhead Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Diamondhead Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
453 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“nice beach / pool / but................”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed at Diamondhead beach resort early August, 2011, Fort Myers off season. We had mixed reviews.

First the pro's - Very friendly staff, especially (((STEVE))) the bellman. He went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable. The pool & beach were nice. The place was clean / well kept, we loved the room & screened in balcony. Beautiful views of the gulf.

Now the con's - There was very little entertainment, the bar closed 10 pm Sunday, 11pm during the week. It rained one morning till early afternoon. When it cleared up, the pool & pool bar never re-opened. The resort has no beach chairs; you could rent them for $25 per day. There's no in room safe, you need to ask at the front desk for a security box, if there's any left. The touch screen computer in the room never worked. The location of the hotel was ok, not great.
The hotel offered no tours. If you don't rent a car, the taxis are very expensive, from airport $50 + $5 surcharge, $38 to Fort Myers River District, $30 to Sanibel + $6 to go over the causeway, $68 to Naples. We found Beach Taxi --------- the cheapest to the airport at $45, no surcharge.
There is a trolley that stops in front of the Hotel for 50 cents per person. One day we went south bound (right of hotel) to Bonita Springs. But the trolley stops in a Kmart Plaza, what a waste of time, there are small retail shops / restaurants / ECT…
So…………on the way back we decided to stop at Lovers key State Park. (make sure you get an all day bus pass for $1.50 per person, to get off and on as much as you want). Where the trolley drops you off, it is about ½ mile walk (in 90-95 % heat) to the tram shelter that takes you to the beach. There’s a $2 pp charge, walk in entrance fee. The beach was ok for shelling. We liked the beach at the hotel better. North bound on the trolley takes you to Times Square, which has a number of restaurants, not much shopping. (10 minute walk from hotel)
We found a couple good restaurants: For breakfast a must see, a couple blocks to the right, Heavenly Biscuit, 110 Mango Street, they sell homemade cinnamon buns. Terra Nostra (Italian food) just to the left of hotel & Mantanzas Inn, 414 Crescent Street, not far from Times Square, we walked here also, the seafood combo was excellent. We had a late dinner @ Yucaton Beach Stand on 250 Old San Carlos Blvd next to Times Square, just about the only place open after 10pm, the food was very good & reasonable.
For lunch to the left of hotel at Burgers on the Beach, looking out at the beach / ocean, very nice. Across the street we ate at the Beach Whale (on the rooftop), it was just ok. Near Mantanzas Inn we had lunch (2) times at Nervous Nellie’s, 1131 First Street, viewing the bay while dining, we loved it.
We felt there was so more to do in Treasure Island, FL just north. The Treasure Island Trolley’s took us to St. Petersburg, Gulf Port, Clearwater, Pass-A-Grill (St Pete’s beach) & Johns Pass, a village of shops & restaurants.
One day it rained & we checked out a time share of the hotel. It lasted about 1½ hours & we received a voucher for $100 resort credit.
Overall, our trip was very relaxing, but we probably would not return.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a screened in balcony...........touch screen computer that never worked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RRanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamMgmt, Manager at Diamondhead Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear RRanella,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at DiamondHead Beach Resort & Spa. We are thankful that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay at our resort, however apologize that Ft. Myers Beach as a whole did not meet your vacation expectations.

There are some other really great places in Southwest Florida and hope you will consider visiting this area again in the future.

Sincerely,
The Management Team at DiamondHead Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    315
    100
    42
    23
See reviews for
307
483
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Just returned from DiamondHead and if traveling to Ft. Myers Beach in the future will stay there again. We experienced poor weather (two days and 5" of rain, unseasonably cold, windy) but still had a good time when the weather improved.
Pros- Very clean hotel. Extremely friendly staff, good size suites with view of gulf and/or pool. Screened full size patio with sliding glass doors to bedroom and living area. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and bars. Nice heated pool and two hot tubs. Hotel is right on the beach.
Cons- $25/day optional beach chair charge, no security safe in room, music played at pool needs improvement. Hotel restaurant/lounge a bit pricey, and pool side bar closes too early.
Would recommend eating off site, and if you have the time travel to Sanibel or Captiva for dinner/drinks right on the gulf. There is also a very good ice cream shop within walking distance down by the pier.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamMgmt, Manager at Diamondhead Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Hi Fred C,

Thank you for your recent review of DiamondHead! We are so happy that you will return to our resort in the future and that overall you enjoyed your stay.

I wish I could predict the weather for you - typically it is Sunshine all the way! Even though you enjoyed your stay, I will wish nothing but beautiful blue skies for your next trip!

See you again soon!

Sincerely,
DiamondHead Beach Resort & Spa Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

I absolutely LOVED this place!!! We were spending the weekend in Ft Myers Beach for my birthday and found this place just driving around...I wasn't sure about stopping there for lunch because "Cabana's Beach Bar" sounded to me like a burger place more than a seafood restaurant but it was GREAT!!!! the menu was HUGE and had something for everyone!!! we had the,fried clams basket, Nachos , Pina Colada and OMGGG Fantastic Rumrunner !!! I love Rumrunner so to find a place where they make it so good the greatest thing that could ever happen to me lol! anyway...back to the food the fried clams where soo yummy!! and the fries that came with it were AMAZING! seriously!! and this comes from someone who doesn't really like fries! OHHH and the service was great too!! everyone was sooo soo nice! I really did LOVE this place.Longtime Bartender Christy made it all posible for us thanks!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christiane Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

DiamondHead Beach Resort Hotel located at fabulous Ft. Myers Beach, Florida is the best Hotel/Resort that my husband & I have been to in years...Just the 7 miles of fine white powder beaches alone...never mind the Hotel itself and it's first class style restaurant as well as it's first class staff...always a smile...and always there if you need anything!! The pool...the whirlpool....the beach chairs and umbrellas...you can dress down or up...either way you can relax and be yourself....it's totally a first rate...fine...and a cozy feeling kind of Hotel..
We love the 10th floor and above Ocean Front suites...we're an older couple and love the privacy, peace and serenity....our son and fiance' have now visited as well as my newly married niece....and they won't go anywhere else!!! Plenty of Space...Clean...Lots to do... The food and staff are just totallly awesome...There's plenty to do all around...just a step out the door!!! Loving it and will be back...by the way we've been going there now for 4 years...and hope to be there for another 40!!!

Room Tip: If you love the ocean and privacy...as well as peace and quiet....choose rooms 1008, 1009 or 1108, 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank federalhill55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birtley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We have been travelling to Florida for many years now, previously we have travelled around the state staying a few days here and a few days there, normally staying in standard hotel rooms, but this trip we planned to stay in the same hotel for the 2 weeks of our stay so spent a little more time researching which hotel to stay at. We opted for the Diamondhead as the suite was much more appealing for a two week stay than a standard hotel room.

I can honestly say that we experienced nothing negative in our stay at the Diamondhead, from or late night arrival to our departure we loved every minute of our stay here.

We upgraded (very cheaply) to a beach view room on arrival, the rooms were large, well equipped and spotlessly clean, the huge bed comfortable. Everything worked as it should do, even the temperature control on the shower :) . The balcony was large and the views of the whole beach was great.

The staff at this hotel are outstanding, not once did we experience any form of disinterest from any staff member, from reception to housekeeping all treat us very well and accommodated every request.

We had one minor issue that arose early in our stay, this was dealt with instantly and the outcome really exceeded our expectations.

We had a great stay at the Diamondhead, the staff worked hard to ensure we had a great stay, the location is great, good pool and a lively tiki bar by the pool.

We will certainly return to this hotel, and would recommend this hotel to anyone considering a stay in the Fort Myers Beach area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, ok
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

I have stayed at diamondhead multiple times and it is always first rate. The hotel staff are always willing to help, rooms are clean great beds. The thing you can' put in words is the view get a pool view or beach view and you will not be disappointed. The concierge was very helpful every time we have been. The only thing I thought was a little off was it does have a small pool for the size of the hotel but right beside it is an ocean. You are not over 75 feet from the water when you exit the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike362000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Fl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

I first went to Ft. Myers Beach with my family & then girlfriend(now my wife) almost 20 years ago and was totally underwhelmed. Cut to Labor Day weekend 2011 and my parents, 2 brothers and their families, my wife & 2 kids & I took over 4 one bedroom suites at the DiamondHead Resort. The rooms were very clean, large by typical hotel room standards, had a beautiful view from the balcony & had great amenities. After my first trip to Ft. Myers Beach I wouldn't go back for anything, but after this trip I would gladly go back to Ft. Myers Beach which is a lovely area. Most of the area is filled with beach- & waterfront homes and hotels with just a few commercial areas where the tourist business is in full swing. There is a beachfront broadwalk shopping & dining area that is very cute. My 2 year old son really liked the pirate who will take pictures and greet guests for tips, even more than the balloon animal performer who takes way too long to make simple balloon sculptures for tips. The resort had a wonderful activities department, as well as a spa, & restaurant. Joanna with the activities department was great with all the kids. I would definitely take a trip to DiamondHead with a family or as a couple with all the confidence that I'd have a great time there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haggz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
3.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
0.8 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#19 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamondhead Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamondhead Beach Resort

Property: Diamondhead Beach Resort
Address: 2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Diamondhead Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DiamondHead Beach Resort is a landmark beach resort in the entertainment district of Fort Myers Beach, featuring spacious 1-bedroom suites, Cabañas Beach Bar & Grille, Chloës Seafood & Steaks, spa services, beachfront pool, guest bicycles, fitness centers, and endless recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Diamondhead Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamondhead Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Diamondhead Resort In Fort Myers Fl
Diamond Head Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing