We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Horrible customer service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DiamondHead Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DiamondHead Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

We've stayed at Diamondhead twice before and loved it. This time the people above us were extremely loud until 3 am. We made a complaint, but nothing was done.
The exhaust vent on top of the building needs serious work, about every 15 minutes you hear what sounds like a vacume cleaner running for about a minute. During the day its not an issue but we had a terrible time trying to fall asleep at night.
Worst of all, their trying to sell vacation packages for the top 3 floors... we stayed 5 days and were approached at least once each day, they even have a person circling the pool area like a hawk. I was on vacation and wanted to relax, the sales pitch was annoying beyond words. When we complained about all this, we got 2 free drink tickets... whoop de do. Will find another place for next year!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanner40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamMgmt, Manager at DiamondHead Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Dear nanner40,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at DiamondHead. It is important for us to hear about our guests experiences, both good and bad, so that we can always strive to do better.

I am extremely sorry that you had such a terrible experience, especially since you have stayed with us 2 times previously and had an enjoyable enough time to return a 3rd time. I will absolutely have maintenance look into the exhaust vent, as well as look into the process that the Vacation Club uses in order to "pitch" potential owners, as we understand (and hope) that you are able to enjoy a relaxing experience while staying with us..

We strive to provide exceptional service to all guests and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations, as well as our own. We greatly appreciate the feedback would love the opportunity to have you stay with us again and hope you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations in the future.

Sincerely,
DiamondHead Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    304
    100
    41
    23
See reviews for
301
470
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

We had a great time here with a very nice view of the Gulf. I was able to really relax. The people were friendly and they were able to tell us were to go and what to do, the restaurant wasn't good and it was expensive. The weather was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jazhays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Boylston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

We just returned from a wonderful stay at The Diamond Head Resort. The suite was very nice....super clean and beautifully decorated. We stayed on the 10th floor overlooking the pool and the beach. The first night we arrived, we enjoyed dinner in the restaurant. The food was fabulous. We had the prime Rib dinner and Key lime pie for dessert.
We decided to try room service for the next morning and were pleasantly surprised. Having breakfast on the screened-in balcony overlooking the beach was fantastic!!
The entire staff of the resort should be commended on there fabulous customer service skills.....above and beyond!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurelmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

I had reservations to stay a weekend but never made it due to a medical problem that prevented me from traveling. I don't recall being told that their cancellation policy is 72 hours when I made the reservation, but they were sure to remind me about it when I called to cancel the reservation 54 hours before I was due to check in. After bouncing me around to four different people I ended up speaking with a snotty women who claimed to be the "supervisor." I was told there was nothing they could do and I would not receive a refund of my $305 deposit. For all I know this may be the nicest place in Fort Myers Beach but as I see it they stole my money and they will never see me or anyone I know step foot in their resort.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Karl053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

The hotel was very nice. We enjoyed dining outdoors for dinner as well as lunch. The hotel is right on the beach and a 10 minute walk to the "times square" area of shops. Had an opportunity to have my hair cut in the hotel salon and was very satisfied. The rooms are spacious suits and have great views of the gulf and a large screened in lanai. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingmom47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

What a great place ! The staff is super friendly and the suites are very clean. All the suites have thier own private balconys. We were fortunate enough to have a gulf view room. I never shut those doors one time. There's nothing like hearing the surf aas you fall asleep. When we go back to Fort Myeres Beach this is the only place i'll be staying at. It is a little pricey but you do get whet you pay for !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachGirl73_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfield, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

Our stay at Diamond Head was great. The view is awesome the rooms were great although we did hear the chairs on the floor above us at times but we didn't stay in the room very much we were either on the beach or walking and taking in the views.
The staff members were great. Dave (bell man) was especialy great he helped us with our fishing trip and guide which turned out to be great with captian Bob.
We also went to the Everglades with Jody, Bob's wife, we had a great time.
Everything you want is with in walking distance for us anyway.
We do have a few cons although; We booked our trip in Nov of 2010 paid in full. An oversight on our part our departure flight didn't leave until 8:50 pm, we asked 3 differant times about the 4 pm checkout time we were very williing to pay the $50.00 they were asking. The morning of our check out day I called early to the front desk to ask about the 4pm check out and Vicki said she couldn't do it, my husband went down to talk to her and she then says she couldn't because she just gave out 3 other 4pm check out prior. They also had VACANCY on their sigh our front. Also the renting of the chairs and umbrellas, when you pay as much as we did for a 7 day trip you shoud get the chairs and umb for no charge. And then they take them away at 5pm, we like to sit out later than 5pm. It wasen't very noisy while we were there thank heavens. All in all it was a very nice stay. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 9011bluejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
3.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
0.8 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#19 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,258 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#7 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DiamondHead Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DiamondHead Beach Resort

Property: DiamondHead Beach Resort
Address: 2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DiamondHead Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DiamondHead Beach Resort is a landmark beach resort in the entertainment district of Fort Myers Beach, featuring spacious 1-bedroom suites, Cabañas Beach Bar & Grille, Chloës Seafood & Steaks, spa services, beachfront pool, guest bicycles, fitness centers, and endless recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your DiamondHead Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamondhead Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Diamondhead Resort In Fort Myers Fl
Diamond Head Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing