We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Hove, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Superb Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2006

2 nights just wasn't enough!

HI Fort Myers Beach was to be a stopping off point for some R&R - our holiday took in Miami, Daytona and then back to Miami Beach so we wanted something relaxing and that is exactly what we got!

Upgraded from the start we had the most fantastic view across the mangrove and ivory beach. We were in Room 223 and I'm sure the views are even better in 224 and 225 (although the latter may be a little noisy!).

Whilst we were in 'residence' work was being carried out on the main restaurant but the Tiki Bar and Grill was fine for dining (the hotel is a way away from the main facilities of Fort Myers Beach) although on our second night the hotel had a wedding reception and birthday party! We just retired to the room and watched the fantastic sunset!!!

We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    574
    239
    88
    65
See reviews for
495
675
64
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
syr, ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2006

We stayed at this hotel in the heart of travel season...the hotels location is nice but in the heart of travel season the traffic is bad, really bad!!! Be prepared to do your running early in the morning. The hotel is nice and clean, the pool is very nice and would also suggest the breakfast that they have in the hotel...very tasty !!! The beach is nice but not as close at it looks ...Overall i would stay at this hotel again !!!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ext10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2006

This location is about 4 miles away from the main area of Fort Myers Beach. We would have to drive if we wanted to bar hop, visit the local shops. The hotel itself is on the beach, but you have to walk about a thousand feet on hot sand to get to the water. The pool was okay if you liked swimming with young children who had their blow up toys.

Most of the staff was friendly, some did not speak english. The bar staff was okay, they were slow at times. I would expect more from a hotel when I pay $180 a night, we went right after most college spring breaks were done and it was still a busy hotel. I probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2006

The suberb location of this hotel compensates for the rather compact and less-than-squeaky-clean room we stayed in one night, post-cruise, during our Spring Break. Lots of young families on the nearby (and endless) beach; even more, it seemed, in the small hotel swimming pool. Front desk personnel was very helpful -- allowing us to check in an hour early and then later imparting useful local travel/restaurant advice.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ytra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2006

My husband, two kids (5 and 2 years old) and I stayed at the Holiday Inn, Fort Myers Beach (room 142) and had a wonderful experience! The room was clean, two double beds, bathroom was small. Our room was located on the courtyard side with close access to the Tiki Bar, Pool and the Beach. We loved the location of our room expecially with two small children. Would have preferred a room with a kitchenette, but worked out fine. All of the staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and were all VERY nice. Several good family restaurants within walking distance (i.e. Sand Bar & Grille, Fishouse). Beach is beautiful and pretty quiet. Plan on paying $20 per day for cabana or chair rental ($13 per 1/2 day) and arrive early to get close row to the shore during peak seasons. FYI - the actual shoreline is a 250+ walk from the hotel despite the fact the hotel is located directly on the beach. LOTS of beach!

Would definately stay there again. The outside of the hotel is NOT appealing (Green and Orange) but is not indicative of the affordably prices, family friendly rooms and atmosphere!

Paid $209 ($230 per night after taxes) during peak season for a standard room on the courtyard side.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2006

Staff was hospitable. Handicap room was directly accessible to the pool. Very clean. Staff was accomodating. Pool was very clean. Everything was very accessible. Breakfast buffet was reasonable and the variety suitable to every age. No college kids during spring break.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2006

As Brits who had not stayed in any US hotel for at least six years and not in a Holiday Inn in the US many years prior to that, we booked the Fort Myers Beach Holiday Inn for our first two nights of our US vacation with some trepidation. What we also hadn't realised was that we were arriving at about 8pm on Superbowl Sunday.

However we needn't have worried - we were greeted at Reception by a very friendly clerk and our reservation was exactly as we had booked: a pool view room about half way back from the beach bar. We even gained from the special offer bar food laid on for the SuperBowl - swiftly served and cheap. Just what we wanted after 20 hours travelling.

The hotel is located at the quieter Southern end of Estero Island (Fort Myers Beach) with direct access to the very wide white sand beach. To the South of the hotel the beach is separated from the neighbouring apartments and condos by a lagoon that attracts many sea birds, waders, and other wildlife. There is a drug store, small shopping mall and about three restaurants half a block away on the other side of the road. The hotel is built with two wings of two floor deck access motel rooms each side on to the beach with about 8 direct beachfront rooms at the end of each wing. The Holiday Inn is one of the very few non high rise buildings on the beach side of the road.

Rooms were of a standard expected for the type of property. Ours was clean, fairly recently rennovated and reasonably maintained. However as the rooms are built back to back, all the windows are in the wall with the door and the back of the room and bathrooms are dark and a bit airless. The air conditioning units are floor mounted "window rattlers" next to the door and do make a fair bit of noise (effective in drowning out the bar noise during the SuperBowl). On the following night we turned off the air conditioning and had no problem with noise. We had reasonable strength free wireless internet access in the room - probably because we were overlooking the central bar / pool area.

Staff were very helpful and welcoming throughout - the general manager even seemed to go out of her way to greet us and check we had everything we needed.

We were happy to extend our stay by an extra night and were dissppointed to find the hotel was full for the final night of our vacation.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank ARegularVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach

Property: Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Address: 6890 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4609 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fort Myers Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daydreaming about warm Tropical Nights and Spectacular Sunsets? You found it at the Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach Hotel. Dip your toes into the warm Gulf waters and relax oceanfront on one of the largest sugar white sand beaches in Southwest Florida. Our oceanfront Florida resort will make you feel miles away from all the hustle and bustle yet we are just a short drive from the SW Florida Int Airport (RSW) and activities of Fort Myers Beach. Enjoy the Florida sunshine by our outdoor heated pool surrounded by a spacious deck, comfortable chaise lounges and umbrellas. Our surroundings are tropically landscaped with Florida's natural beauty. Enjoy delectable Florida dining at Pinchers Beach Bar and Grill. Challenge yourself with our onsite recreational activities including Ping-Pong, shuffleboard, beach volleyball and scenic jogging trails. Along with free wireless access, our spacious guest rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Relax on the balcony of one of our oceanfront rooms and marvel at all the colors of our Florida sunset. If you need a bit more space upgrade to one of our oceanfront suites featuring a panoramic view of the ocean from an over sized balcony. Paradise is just a click away at this magnificent oceanfront Florida resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing