We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We arrived at this hotel only to be greated by the friendly staff. We booked the room online along with a deal that gave us a 1.5 hour dolphin wave runner tour and beach chairs with umbrella for 2 days. This was very good value. The rooms were very clean and we were told they were going through some re-modeling so we knew there must be a few imperfections, but like any hotel unless you are paying an arm and a leg not everything is going to be perfect. We had a "pool side" room which we were really close to the pool but technically didn't have a few of the pool. We were right by the tiki bar and close to the beach so that made up for it. The Sand Sculpting Championships were going on so it was busy all the time. The place is quite before 10AM and after 10PM. Mike Patterson who is the general manager at the hotel was very nice and made sure our stay was great. Kids eat for free as long as you are staying at the hotel. We also got free breakfast in the morning which is always another money saver. At both the Pinchers Tiki bar and the bar and restaurant in the hotel the staff was very friendly and they take care of you. Shelby and Scott where the best. Shelby was always so chipper and plenty of manners on her part. Many compliments on our family and our 5 year old son. Scott too was good as he was good at what he did and had plenty of stories himself. Was entertaining for my son as well as he took a quick minute from his job duties to thumb wrestle with my son. We didn't run into anyone that was bad. Other names that pop to my head that happened to serve us were Bob, and Jessica. If you are wanting to go to the beach I'd say do it before 9am during the low tide to see sea urchins, sand dollars and plenty of star fish and shells.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryangene13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,319 - 1,325 of 1,701 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband & I recently went to Fort Myers to visit his parents. While visiting we decided to take one night and stay on the Beach. This Holiday Inn is located in a quiet area of Fort Myers Beach and we were lucky enough to stay in one of their updated rooms. The rooms are slightly small, but nicely appointed. The bathroom was roomy, although if you wanted to be picky - the walk in shower needed a larger glass wall to keep the water from escaping the shower area & the toilet paper holder was a far reach from the toilet. The King Bed was nice and large w/ comfortable bedding, although the bed was slightly firmer than we prefer.

The Tiki Bar is run by Pinchers which is a local Ft Myers Crab Restaurant Chain and it does not disappoint. We tried the shrimp ceasar salad and the crab salad sandwich (which we ordered as a wrap) and it was fantastic. The drinks are always on special so $5 gets you 2 draft beers. The menu items range is price from ($7.99 - plain ceasar salad to $20+ seafood entrees), but we thought the freshness & taste of the food warranted every penny.

Some people have complained about the distance from the Hotel to the ocean. It's probably a football field length or two, but the sand is hard packed so it's the same consistency as if you were walking on soft grass - not that deep ankle twisting sand. Plus, it's a level walk - no sand dunes or hills.

The pool was heated to a pleasant 80F which was nice for a morning swim when it was 60 out, but it might be a bit warm during the heat of the day.

The breakfast restaurant wasn't overpriced as many hotels are. We ordered 2 coffees, 2 juices, french toast & eggs benedict and our bill was $26 of which $10 was for drinks - $2.50each. It's worth it if you don't feel like getting off the property.

Overall, we had a really nice stay and would consider it again if we go to the Beach.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STLLUV2TRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great location on beach which is very wide. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The woman Bartender was very nice and friendly. Maxine, the desk clerk, was great as she did my online Southwest Airline pre-boarding for me the day before we left for the Ft Lauderdale airport!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robho40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for 4 nights in September. It brought flashbacks from 36 years ago
when my then boss used to hold employee meetings at the Holiday Inn near Albany, NY.

This Holiday Inn must have been built around the same time and has the same configuration
in both the building lay-out and the room configuration. I was put off a little until I realized
how lovingly this facility has been restored. Everything looks (and well may be) original, but
it has been remarkably cleaned, polished and re-glazed to look like the original room(s) when they were new.

I was comfortable with good bedding and comfortable air conditioning. My room was on the first floor near the pool and the beach. The room also had a good-sized refrigerator.

The staff at this hotel were very pleasant and well-trained. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys an updated retro look.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the end of October for a quiet get away. It was just that, the hotel is on the south end but htere was very light traffic and easy to navigate to any of the other Islands. The hotel is a little run down, but very clean and the rooms are a little small but for just the two of us it was just fine. Alot of comments were made about how it was a long walk to the water, it was a little walk but all the neighboring condos or motels were the same. Our package included free bfast, it was just ok and the staff was friendly. Truely no big complaints and if in the area I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel37209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Perfect location for a relaxing vacation. The hotel is right on the beach and has an unobstructed view of the sunset. Plus the Tiki Bar serves very good food with lots of drink specials. The main dining and room service also served very good food with a nice variety and reasonable prices. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel pool is also nice with outdoor games. The rooms were clean and spacious. One of the two double beds was not comfortable. But overall, thumbs up to this hotel! We were pleasantly surprised and plan to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arizona211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had a very late flight and arrived at approxinately 11:30pm. Upon check in I noticed the reception area dark and old, service was average. I got to my room door and was not impressed, the first thing I noticed was the room next to mine was undergoing some sort of construction or clean-up which was visible through the uncovered windows & disarray.

Once I entered my room it mirrored the reception area and was old with a dingy feeling. I decided that it was too late to do anything other than go to bed and wake with fresh eyes. All night I felt itchy in the blankets like there was either sand in the bed (though none was visible).

The next morning, while I was coming out of the bathroom, a very large cockroach crawled out from under my bed, went into the bathroom, came back out to circle under the sink and then returned to under the bed. I believe that explains the itchy feeling the night before.

When I went to the front desk to cancel the rest of my stay, I told the woman that the room had large roaches. She said they weren't roaches, they were "Palmetto bugs." She then went to speak to someone in the back room and tell them that I was canceling my reservation. While she was gone, I googled "palmetto bugs" and lo and behold - they are roaches. I read the page to her and indicated that adding a colorful name to the pest didn't change what it was.

I will not be back - ever.

Room Tip: Pick somewhere else to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0ckieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPatterson, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your encounter with the Palmetto bug, which is indigenous to tropical regions such as ours. We strive to make each and every guest stay a pleasurable one and apologize your stay was abbreviated by this negative encounter. I would like the opportunity to discuss your stay further if you are willing. I can be reached directly at the hotel at your convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,120 reviews
4 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
415 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,867 reviews
0.5 mi away
Outrigger Beach Resort
Outrigger Beach Resort
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,710 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach

Address: 6890 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4609 (Formerly Holiday Inn Fort Myers Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $118 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daydreaming about warm Tropical Nights and Spectacular Sunsets? You found it at the Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach Hotel. Dip your toes into the warm Gulf waters and relax oceanfront on one of the largest sugar white sand beaches in Southwest Florida. Our oceanfront Florida resort will make you feel miles away from all the hustle and bustle yet we are just a short drive from the SW Florida Int Airport (RSW) and activities of Fort Myers Beach. Enjoy the Florida sunshine by our outdoor heated pool surrounded by a spacious deck, comfortable chaise lounges and umbrellas. Our surroundings are tropically landscaped with Florida's natural beauty. Enjoy delectable Florida dining at Pinchers Beach Bar and Grill. Challenge yourself with our onsite recreational activities including Ping-Pong, shuffleboard, beach volleyball and scenic jogging trails. Along with free wireless access, our spacious guest rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. Relax on the balcony of one of our oceanfront rooms and marvel at all the colors of our Florida sunset. If you need a bit more space upgrade to one of our oceanfront suites featuring a panoramic view of the ocean from an over sized balcony. Paradise is just a click away at this magnificent oceanfront Florida resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fort Myers Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing