We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,008)
Filter reviews
2,008 results
Traveler rating
1,487
427
66
16
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,487
427
66
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adirondack chairs grassy area palm trees times square beach resort within walking distance yogurt rooms face the breakfast area full size fridge free breakfast every morning shuffle board nice breakfast restaurants and shops stove top heated pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,411 - 1,416 of 2,008 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had never been to the Gulf side of Florida. The Best Western Plus was a great choice. The location was in a quiet, picturesque area with a beautiful view of the Gulf of Mexico. Shopping and restaurants were within a short walk.

The room was very modern and exceptionally clean. There were two of us and it was roomy enough for us. If you have more than two people you would need something bigger than a standard room. It had a nice sized balcony with a great view of the beach and the ocean.

The staff was friendly and very helpful. They helped arrange transportation from the airport and that was even an excellent experience. We didn't have car but they tracked down an umbrella so we could walk to dinner on a rainy Valentine's Day!

The breakfast was good but the eating area was small. We ate outside under a grass hut which was much better vthan staying inside.

We are looking forward to a return trip to Fort Myers Beach and the Best Western Plus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for the very nice review. We will continue to do our best to keep guest like yourself to come back year after year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Me and my husband came from Germany to that hotel and it was a wonderful stay. We was there for 14 days and we enjoyed it very much. The nice Lady from Georgia at the Breakfast was very helpful and she took good care of us. At the Reception the staff were also always helpful and very friendly. Ann from Housekeeping took good care of us and our room was always very clean. All in all we was very satisfied and hope we be back some day.

Heidi and Mike Jones from Germany!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Heidi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The beach is the Thing, after all. The hotel has a nice pool, is wonderfully well kept clean and neat, breakfast is quite ok but a little short on seating. Service is adequate. Rooms are adequate but I was not pleased with 2 doubles but the Beach is the Thing. ALL rooms face the beach but get a 4th or 5th floor room if you want to see anything. 1st floor is ok if you have small children but a few of these rooms are just a few feet from the pool. I would come back to the BW+ but only with a single king bed room. If you want to watch any television you have to prop up on the bed anc omputers eith on your lap or on the kitchen counter. Still the location is excellent at the North end of Ft Myers Beach - 5 minute walk to restaurants bars and the pier. It's nice to be able to park the car and walk to a few places rather than be bound to the car.

Room Tip: As stated in review, 5th floor for view, 1st for children and easy access to pool and playground.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbrownson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for the review. We hope you come back to see all the great beach front views and if there is anything we can do better we always like to know. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great hotel with clean, accessible rooms. All beach front views. The hotel features contemporary finishes throughout and looks like it was recently renovated. It's on the quiet end of the beach, which we liked, but the pier and times square are an easy walk. Being on the north end of the island means you will spend a lot less time fighting traffic to get on / off. The average room is a bit small, fine for a couple but would be challenging with kids. The breakfast area is also a bit small, but it's fine if the weather cooperates and you can sit outside. Breakfast was always well stocked. The staff was very friendly and responsive.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

That is the beast compliment we can get "We'll be back - better than expected" that pretty much says it all. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Coming from Scandinavia in the middle of our cold, snowy winter we stayed at the hotel during three nights, right ahead of Christmas. The location is what makes the hotel enjoyable, due to the fact that it is situated right on the beach. Therefore the view is magnificent (especially during sunsets), surrounded by the sea, the beach and the palms.
Also, as you have the beach right outside, you have the possibility - as we did - to walk barefoot for several kilometers (or miles, if you prefer :-), in the great sand.

The hotel is even situated in a silent domain with short (550 meters / 0,3 miles / 7 minutes) walking distance to the area close to the fishing pier where you will find restaurants and some (very touristic, simple, cheap, senseless) shopping.
I do not want to sound too picky; but the area - when it comes to restaurants & shops - is monotonous, basic and without style. It isn’t necessarily anything wrong with that…however, everything depends on your expectations. And we had expected more style and quality.

A rather interesting observation was that we had expected that there would be a lot of more people the days before Christmas. However, until Christmas Eve the area, incl. the beaches, was very quiet and empty.
From Christmas Day and forward the high season obviously started! It was very interesting to see the change. The area really got alive.
(Ourselves, we moved - according to our plans - during Christmas Eve from Fort Myers Beach to a house by the channels in Cape Coral. The week after Christmas Eve we then visited Forth Myers Beach a couple of times, and saw the immense change in the number of people.)

As I already said, the hotel’s primarily asset (with the rooms overlooking the shore and the sea) is the location directly on the beach! The hotel building itself is a bit aged and a general renovation wouldn’t harm.
I experienced that the room rate we paid (the value) was quite good.

However, what really surprised us was the lack of genuine service and happiness among the employees….and especially among the front desk staff. The first sign of this we noticed in the e-mail conversation with the hotel when we booked our room some months ahead of our arrival: No greetings; very short businesslike messages; no personal approach - very indifferent.
Also, during our stay at the hotel, when passing or approaching the front desk, the staff did never greet us. They behaved unconcerned and without commitment and dedication. If only one staff member was there; he/she usually seemed very busy reading something, and when two of them were there, they were busy talking with each other.

At the wall next to the front desk you may study two diplomas from Best Western Hotel’s head office, appointing the/some employees of this hotel to excellent customer service.
From my memory, I do believe that the diplomas were quite new…

How is that possible? There were no conformity at all between the diplomas and what we as guests experienced. This is not reliable.

Finally, I also have to mention the breakfast. Personally (maybe because we are Europeans) we found it very limited and dull. The lack of places to sit for breakfast is very frustrating.

The hotel should be aware of the fact that without the building’s geographical situation right on the beach, there is nothing special at all about it!

If the hotel should make efforts to implement improvements in how their front staff encounter and manage their guests, the results will undoubtedly be more satisfied guests.

And if even the “hardware” (the building, and especially the breakfast incl. the breakfast area) should generally be upgraded; I surely believe that the money invested would be profitable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Homevalley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, Owner at Best Western Plus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your review. We take our commitment to excellent service very seriously. We have received Customer Care awards from Best Western for the last 5 years and we are sorry for not meeting and exceeding your expectations of our property and our Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews