We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location on Ft Myers Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The beach is the Thing, after all. The hotel has a nice pool, is wonderfully well kept clean and neat, breakfast is quite ok but a little short on seating. Service is adequate. Rooms are adequate but I was not pleased with 2 doubles but the Beach is the Thing. ALL rooms face the beach but get a 4th or 5th floor room if you want to see anything. 1st floor is ok if you have small children but a few of these rooms are just a few feet from the pool. I would come back to the BW+ but only with a single king bed room. If you want to watch any television you have to prop up on the bed anc omputers eith on your lap or on the kitchen counter. Still the location is excellent at the North end of Ft Myers Beach - 5 minute walk to restaurants bars and the pier. It's nice to be able to park the car and walk to a few places rather than be bound to the car.

Room Tip: As stated in review, 5th floor for view, 1st for children and easy access to pool and playground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbrownson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for the review. We hope you come back to see all the great beach front views and if there is anything we can do better we always like to know. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,253 - 1,259 of 1,831 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great hotel with clean, accessible rooms. All beach front views. The hotel features contemporary finishes throughout and looks like it was recently renovated. It's on the quiet end of the beach, which we liked, but the pier and times square are an easy walk. Being on the north end of the island means you will spend a lot less time fighting traffic to get on / off. The average room is a bit small, fine for a couple but would be challenging with kids. The breakfast area is also a bit small, but it's fine if the weather cooperates and you can sit outside. Breakfast was always well stocked. The staff was very friendly and responsive.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

That is the beast compliment we can get "We'll be back - better than expected" that pretty much says it all. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Coming from Scandinavia in the middle of our cold, snowy winter we stayed at the hotel during three nights, right ahead of Christmas. The location is what makes the hotel enjoyable, due to the fact that it is situated right on the beach. Therefore the view is magnificent (especially during sunsets), surrounded by the sea, the beach and the palms.
Also, as you have the beach right outside, you have the possibility - as we did - to walk barefoot for several kilometers (or miles, if you prefer :-), in the great sand.

The hotel is even situated in a silent domain with short (550 meters / 0,3 miles / 7 minutes) walking distance to the area close to the fishing pier where you will find restaurants and some (very touristic, simple, cheap, senseless) shopping.
I do not want to sound too picky; but the area - when it comes to restaurants & shops - is monotonous, basic and without style. It isn’t necessarily anything wrong with that…however, everything depends on your expectations. And we had expected more style and quality.

A rather interesting observation was that we had expected that there would be a lot of more people the days before Christmas. However, until Christmas Eve the area, incl. the beaches, was very quiet and empty.
From Christmas Day and forward the high season obviously started! It was very interesting to see the change. The area really got alive.
(Ourselves, we moved - according to our plans - during Christmas Eve from Fort Myers Beach to a house by the channels in Cape Coral. The week after Christmas Eve we then visited Forth Myers Beach a couple of times, and saw the immense change in the number of people.)

As I already said, the hotel’s primarily asset (with the rooms overlooking the shore and the sea) is the location directly on the beach! The hotel building itself is a bit aged and a general renovation wouldn’t harm.
I experienced that the room rate we paid (the value) was quite good.

However, what really surprised us was the lack of genuine service and happiness among the employees….and especially among the front desk staff. The first sign of this we noticed in the e-mail conversation with the hotel when we booked our room some months ahead of our arrival: No greetings; very short businesslike messages; no personal approach - very indifferent.
Also, during our stay at the hotel, when passing or approaching the front desk, the staff did never greet us. They behaved unconcerned and without commitment and dedication. If only one staff member was there; he/she usually seemed very busy reading something, and when two of them were there, they were busy talking with each other.

At the wall next to the front desk you may study two diplomas from Best Western Hotel’s head office, appointing the/some employees of this hotel to excellent customer service.
From my memory, I do believe that the diplomas were quite new…

How is that possible? There were no conformity at all between the diplomas and what we as guests experienced. This is not reliable.

Finally, I also have to mention the breakfast. Personally (maybe because we are Europeans) we found it very limited and dull. The lack of places to sit for breakfast is very frustrating.

The hotel should be aware of the fact that without the building’s geographical situation right on the beach, there is nothing special at all about it!

If the hotel should make efforts to implement improvements in how their front staff encounter and manage their guests, the results will undoubtedly be more satisfied guests.

And if even the “hardware” (the building, and especially the breakfast incl. the breakfast area) should generally be upgraded; I surely believe that the money invested would be profitable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Homevalley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, Owner at Best Western Plus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your review. We take our commitment to excellent service very seriously. We have received Customer Care awards from Best Western for the last 5 years and we are sorry for not meeting and exceeding your expectations of our property and our Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Best Western traveler
Mahwah, New Jersey, Usa
31
Reviewed February 8, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank A Best Western traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had never visited Ft. Myers Beach but found our two night stay at this hotel was a great way to introduce us to the area from a cold Illinois winter. We arrived late the first night and was welcomed by a very pleasant man who checked us in to a perfectly located room overlooking the beach. The room was nice and comfortable but the air condtioner unit was very noisy when it came on each time. The complimentory breakfast was excellent and well maintained by the attendant. The location of this hotel was a major consideration and it turned out to be fantastic-on the beach and only a couple of blocks from the active center of town. The sunsets from our balcony were beautiful. The amenities were adequate and you could see that the facility was regularly maintained.

Room Tip: The noisy individual air conditioning unit in the room is the only complaint with our stay at this h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, Manager at Best Western Plus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for the review. Looks like Fort Myers Beach is a great vacation destination for you. We hope to see you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We always avoid Best Western hotels like the plague, but we decided to stay at this BW hotel in Fort Myers Beach for 2 nights. The hotel and staff (especially Coco, the talking parrot) were wonderful and it was a shame to leave so soon. The hotel is right on the beach, with a pool and lawn between the building and the white sands. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast fare was lovely. It seemed as though the hotel was used by coach parties, but as we were resident on the top floor, we heard no noise.
If there is a complaint, it is that the breakfasting area is too small for the number of guests and the kitchette suite we were allocated was also slightly small. It is very expensive, but in view of the location, it might be considered worth it.
Nevertheless, it is a wonderful hotel and can be recommended to anyone - even though it is a BW!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for the great review, guest like you make our job very rewarding. We wish you could have stayed longer and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Best Western Fort Myers Beach was a wonderful experience for my wife and I. It has a beautiful location right on the beach. It is extremely clean with workers cleaning all day long. It is very quiet without the noises of a restaurant or bar. All the beach activities are right out there in front of the hotel including dolphins swimming by and many boats sailing by. It is an easy three block walk to Times Square and the bay areas with many restaurants to choose from. Coco, the parrot in the lobby was fun to listen to and the morning breakfast was just fine. Sitting in the lawn chairs in the shaded grassy area was very relaxing. We will go back again.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor with an excellent view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodbury_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, Owner at Best Western Plus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed our property and Fort Myers Beach. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,099 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,631 reviews
0.9 mi away
DiamondHead Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Beach Resort

Address: 684 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2095
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $209 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Myers Beach Resort Hotel, located in the Town of Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Our resort is located directly on a secluded beach at the north end of Estero Island overlooking the Gulf of Mexico where fiery sunsets will leave you spellbound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Otel, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Best Western Beach Hotel
Best Western Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing