We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel on the beach with a few minor problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel on the beach with a few minor problems”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights (1/12-1/16). Pros: Perfect beach location, fantastic pool, one bedroom suite was very spacious, clean room, housekeeping (Deb) was great, view from our fifth floor room was awesome. Balcony for our one bedroom unit was out of this world with lots of room. One door led into the living area and another separate door led into the bedroom. With the exception of a few minor gripes noted below, we would highly recommend the one bedroom suites and hope to return some time in the future to this hotel for another great visit to Fort Myers Beach.

Cons: Very small breakfast area (holds maybe 20 people at once). We would get to the breakfast area ranging from 7:30-8:30 am. Food was replenished as needed, although the fruit mixture in a glass bowl typically almost empty. Great blueberry waffles. The biggest complaint was folks who sat at tables for a LONG time visiting with friends so no one else could get a table in the breakfast area - very, very rude. Come on guys, you could also have eaten outside and the enjoyed the very comfortable chairs with a view of the beach like we did. Get off your rear ends and let others eat instead of hogging the area for about an hour.

Slow drains in our bathroom sink as well as the bathtub. One problem we encountered was with a tv in the main room of the suite. Saturday night, about 9:15 pm, we found out that the tv would not turn on. Called the desk and a maintenance man came up to check on the tv and agreed that the unit would not work. We agreed that he would come back on Sunday to fix or replace the tv and he did not. I was going to call the desk several times, but my wife said that since it was Sunday maybe they had a problem getting the tv fixed or replaced. I was not happy that we did not hear anything that day about the status of this problem and when it would be resolved. Monday morning at breakfast, I checked with the desk and asked about our problem and they called maintenance right away to look into the situation and by the time we got back from breakfast the tv was working. Don't know why the could rectify the problem on Monday in about 20 minutes, but no action on Sunday when it was promised.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jreidelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,319
    381
    61
    12
    8
See reviews for
685
800
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico!! Not sure if there are much better places to watch the sunset. We had an over-sized room with 2 double beds and did not have a problem with the overall size of the room. The kitchen in the room was very accommodating with a full sized refrigerator, stove-top, and plenty of dishes to cook and eat with. Housekeeping was excellent. Some of the furniture was a little run down. When we reserved the hotel, we asked for a room on a higher level but they only gave us a room on the 2nd floor. When I called to ask if they could move us up they said that they didn't have a lot of people check out that day and were unable to. This is kind of hard to believe considering that I booked the hotel two months prior to our stay. Overall, we enjoyed our stay outside of just a couple of negatives.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanBlue85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We really enjoyed the Best Western and you couldn't ask for a better location. We will be back as we were impressed and delighted with the entire island. The folks at The Best Western were courteous and helpful as were all the people we encountered. The Time Square area is close by and an excellent place to eat and shop. We also encountered Harry the Pelican on the Pier. Harry is a rescued Pelican who sits on the Pier daily if his rescuer is there. An outside Tiki type bar would be good at the Best Western or even a smoothie bar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
4 Thank JERRY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We are trying to get a permit to put a small deli in, we can do smoothies from there. Thank you for staying with us and we are happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Wonderful large room with balcony and view of the ocean. Very nice staff. Room clean. Bed linens excellent and the mattress and pillows very comfortable. Within walking distance of restaurants and shops, free parking and never had to drive while there. The beach is large, not crowded and the sand soft. The outdoor area is spacious and gracious feeling. Breakfast good. Could hear tv in next room, not clearly but droning.
Only wish the parrot had a bigger cage to live in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bettina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for the nice review and sorry about your neighbors TV. Don't worry about Coco, he has a covered perch outside where he spends most of his days when the weather permits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We chose this hotel based on reviews and were really diappointed. First off I will list the positives. There is a great view of the beach which is easily accessible. The grounds are well maintained and the pool very clean. The hotel room was clean. The hotel is located just a few blocks from shops and restaurants. The staff were for the most part pleasant but the front desk clerk was not overly friendly. Now for the negatives. The room was very small and cramped with very little decor. There was only one easy chair which was all beat up. We could not even sit on it with out putting a towel down. The bed was harder than I like and the sheets were worn out and of poor quality. The bathroom sink was stopped up and the shower did not work until I unstopped it. The air conditioner was awful. We were either freezing or hot. Although the breakfast selection was good there were only a few tables which is ridiculous for the number of guests. The TV had poor sound (squalky). The hotel management only allowed guests to use one towel per day which had to be returned or a $10 fine imposed! We had to use one of our towels just to clean up the water on the pool lounge chair. One other complaint about the pool area was that they allowed smoking. In my opinion this hotel is way over rated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rondot98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review, sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
591 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,057 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,533 reviews
0.9 mi away
DiamondHead Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Beach Resort

Property: Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Address: 684 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2095
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Myers Beach Resort Hotel, located in the Town of Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Our resort is located directly on a secluded beach at the north end of Estero Island overlooking the Gulf of Mexico where fiery sunsets will leave you spellbound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Best Western Beach Hotel
Best Western Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing