We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,999)
Filter reviews
1,999 results
Traveler rating
1,481
424
66
16
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,481
424
66
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadirondack chairsgrassy areapalm treestimes squarebeach resortwithin walking distanceyogurtrooms facethe breakfast areafull size fridgefree breakfastevery morningshuffle boardnice breakfastrestaurants and shopsstove topheated pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,431 - 1,436 of 1,999 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We go every Christmas to FMB to enjoy memories dating back to childhood. The BW Beach Resort is still being maintained to a high standard. The continental breakfast now includes Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches which compliment; waffles, toast, bagels, cereal, donuts and muffins. For us that was only the only change from year to year. Keep in mind there are no resort fees and honestly the other hotels on beach aren't offering anything more than the BWBR to require the additional $18 a day.
What I like best is the relaxed unpretenious feeling that the hotel provides to guests. I don't want to dress up or worry about wearing my jewelry at the pool or while playing shuffleboard. (that isn't the case at Pink Shell or Diamond Head)
You are close enough to town to walk which is a plus. No other hotel can offer grassy area and palm trees beach side, large balconies to watch the sunset.
We will go back and enjoy ourselves again....

Room Tip: Mini suites have two king beds and sleeper sofa. Pet friendly.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, Owner at Best Western Plus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thanks for the great review. Not so sure about those resort fees, I guess you charge those if you do not want your guests to come back which is NOT the case at this property. We pride ourselves in our repeat guests that come back year after year and unpretentious relaxation is what we are all about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I've been to this hotel 4 years in a row and every time it's awesome! The breakfast is very good even though there are not enough tables. But we can eat outside and enjoying the beautiful landscapes! The pool is very hot and the kids really appreciate it! The rooms are very clean and the service is perfect. And the hotel is pet friendly! We will come back next year for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarojimQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, Owner at Best Western Plus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

4 years in a row!!
It is always nice to hear that we have met your expectations year after year. Reading reviews like yours makes me happy to be in the Hospitality Industry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have always wanted to visit the area, and search extensively on TripAdvisor to select the right hotel for our 3 day stay. While not a perfect stay, the value was good compared to other hotels in the area, so we decided to stay here rather than on Sanibel or Captiva Island. While the main purpose was to visit Sanibel, we thought that the hotels on Ft. Myers beach were more reasonably prices and we could walk to many restaurants. The good…the rooms were clean and the small kitchenette was handy. The location was superb, right smack on beautiful Ft. Myer Beach. A ‘carb-fest’ breakfast was included, as well as fresh fruit. I really enjoyed eating a Florida Grapefruit each morning. We enjoyed CoCo the talking parrot in the lobby, who greeted everyone coming to breakfast with a “Hello”. The negatives were that there is a lack of places to sit for breakfast in the lobby, and the room’s kitchenette loud refrigerator bothered our sleep so much the first night, that we turned it off the next two nights before going to sleep. Bottom line…good value, and a good location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ono O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, Manager at Best Western Plus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for the review and we are happy that you enjoyed our property and the Beaches of Fort Myers and Sanibel. We are in the early planning stages of extending the back walk way into a outdoor sitting area for breakfast. Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days in a 2 king suite, It is in a great North end location ON the beach and walking distance to Time Square. Our 3 and 4 year olds loved Coco the parrot in the lobby.

Pro's: Location, very clean, large rooms, comfy beds and pillows, beautiful gulf view from balcony, nicely landscaped, continental breakfast included, pool clean, staff very nice and helpful.

Con's: wall air conditioning unit very loud, very large room with kitchen but no place for a family of 4 to sit and eat together(there is enough space for a small table). Not enough seating in lobby/breakfast area.

We were in Rm 217(non smoking) which is a corner unit, at some point one of the employess began fixing his motorcycle in the parking lot right below our room and repeatedly revved the engine. When we left the room to leave the hotel he was blocking access to the parking lot so we had to go around him (obviously this is not an everyday occurance). The other issue with this corner room is that the house cleaning staff take their smoke breaks on this side of the hotel so the smoke was coming up onto our balcony, as non smokers with small children this was less than ideal.

Overall we a had great experience and we would probably stay here again but request not to be on the same corner of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ithacamomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, Owner at Best Western Plus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

It is always nice to hear the Pros and we will do our best to take care of the Cons. The Motorcycle issue is resolved. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Best Western traveler
Coral Springs, Florida
16961
Reviewed December 29, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tim M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews