We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two old motels converted to time shares”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Myers Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estero Island Beach Club
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Two old motels converted to time shares”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My brother-in-law and his wife have had a time share at this venue for years. This week we rented the vacant suite that belongs to their friend who is sick. We have a great view from the living room as well as the balcony connected. Both have floor to ceiling screens. Since the room is right on the Gulf side we have an unobstructed view of the beach North and South, 
The suite has a foldout sleeper couch, a dining table, 4 chairs and an armchair. We heard complaints about the uncomfortable foldout couch bed but cannot attest to their veracity. There are many cooking utensils, pots and pans as well as many dishes and bowls. But of the two wine glasses provided one of them had several cracks.
The two blocks of buildings are separated by a parking lot and the two swimming pools. The southern block is two stories high and has a shuffleboard court up front in addition to the short pool and the hot tub. The northern block is three stories high and has an elevator that smells musty. Here the rooms are better designed. There is a combination dining, living room and kitchen separated from the “bedroom” by a narrow wall. The facility is not super fancy but will do for a vacation right on the beachfront. 
The venue shows her age several places like the chipped paint on the dining table and the old-style sink and countertops. 
The floor is fake wood but had lots of sand on it when we arrived. It’s supposed to be spotless clean, we missed out on that. There is an old style CRT TV in the “bedroom” and a flat 27 inch TV in the living area. The towels are large and absorbent, very nice.
Bottom line: Many vacationers appear to be older smokers even in public places.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the Northern block as the southern block building has her entryways on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tatliturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    25
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, FL
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed there on a time share exchange. It is an old converted motel with a bedroom and a combo living/dining area. The kitchen is very difficult to work in as it is in the hallway between the bedroom and living area. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our unit was very clean upon arrival. They have some make sense rules that you are given upon arrival, but they are not enforced unless someone complains. I don't want to spend my vacation complaining and expect that rules should be enforced. The major complaint is that the smokers dominate the property. You can not sit on your front or back lanai, by the pool and even at the beach without choking on second hand smoke. I would not stay there again because smoking is allowed everywhere except in the units. They need to establish a designated smoking area and enforce it.

Room Tip: stay in the newer one bedroom high rise away from the pool & shuffleboard noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pkmule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

The Estero Island Beach club may not be the fanciest, most exciting resort in Ft. Myers Beach, but it is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were recently redone, with fresh flooring, and new blinds. The rooms are quite small, but perfect if you're planning to spend most of your time on the beach or in the nicely heated pools. Just steps from the beach, and a gorgeous sunset! Kayaks are great to rent, for free with just a deposit. Nearly everything about this place is Pros! A few cons are :
barbecues are old and do not work well, it's better to bring your own towels, and many people smoke here. (Though smoking is prohibited in the rooms!). Estero Island Beach Club is a great, oldstyle resort.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank toodles313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Very nice pool/sunning/hot tub areas! The staff was very nice. Room was ok but needs updating. Furniture kind of dirty and air conditioner loud but sometimes you have to give up room accommodations for location right on the beach. Lots of washers/dryers and nice grilling area. Kayaking/bags game/volleyball and shuffle board available. Great location..close to pier and night life but not too close. Was surprisingly quiet even on the 1st floor and off busy street.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StuckinIllinois4429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been going to Estero Island Beach Club for four years now. Two years, we rented and we've been owners for two years. We LOVE this place. It has everything that you really need. Two pools, a hot tub and it's beach front property. We sit on the deck and look out at the ocean from our lounge chairs. Everything is in walking distance including a great bar to watch your favorite football team play, the Tiki Bar. I can't say enough about it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rlb322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My parents bought our time share 30yrs. ago and now my husband and I come here every September. We love it! Our condo is clean and right on the gulf. We get to see the beautiful sunsets in the evening and the dolphins every morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I stay here every year in October. Everytime we take our hour and a half drive down you feel the excitement as you come over the bay bridge. The rooms are always clean, smell great, great service, location, lots to do. I loved the rooms before the hurricane hit but I absolutely love them now. Bigger bathroom, wood floors, beautiful architecture. Perfect. They always do daily specials (ice cream, breakfast, alcohol drinks, etc.) I have been coming here since I was a baby. I am now a young adult. This timeshare has been passed down from my grandmother to my dad and one day to my brother and I. Walking distance to some of the greatest restaurants and shops. And of course, the beach is right out back of their establishment. Perfect. Heated pool, unheated pool and hot tub. Very spacious rooms and nice patio. The view is amazing. I could write a short book about how much I LOVE EIBC!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sierra31Tommas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
365 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,610 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
DiamondHead Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estero Island Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estero Island Beach Club

Property: Estero Island Beach Club
Address: 1840 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2893
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Estero Island Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Estero Island Beach Club Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing