We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Personnel and Clean”
Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location and Personnel and Clean”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I spent three days in Fort Myers Beach to visit relatives and attend the Sand Sculpture Event. We chose this place based on reviews and location (within walking distance from the event). We were not disappointed. We were right across the road from the beach access. The beach area in this location is the widest beach along Fort Myers Beach. This area of Fort Myers Beach is also much less commercialized. The motel is an older one, but is well maintained and very clean. We had a smaller ground floor room on the backside right up against the marina. It was very basic (nothing spectacular), but met our needs very well. They had kayaks that you could take out if you wanted and also could rent bicycles for a VERY reasonable price. Our room had its own beach chairs that we could enjoy a book and watch the water. The people who own the place are very nice and helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the area who is not looking for a "big name" motel.

Room Tip: Room on the backside are quieter and face the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billes49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    110
    36
    13
    7
See reviews for
109
187
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have been 16 days in Florida, visiting many places and changing several hotels.
This was by far the worst one, I cannot understand the good reviews. Maybe I got the worst room. We asked to change room but they told us it was fully booked. However, the shield vacancy was still there. The room was dirty, the bed old and definitely unconfortable. Also furnitures outside were broken and dirty. Very bad choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The pro's
Position, beach just across the road. 100yds max
Bay rooms, quiet virtually no traffic noise and your own sitting area with sun until mid-day.
Staff and owner very helpful.
Excellent WiFi
Clean, everything worked
Comfortable bed, clean linen and towels.

The con's
Room 5A Bayside.

Very small room, bed takes up half living area.
Dining table, wall mounted, not large enough for 2 15" laptops.
Very little hanging space.
No drawer space for clothes etc.
Small fridge.
TV can only be viewed from the bed.
Furniture, fittings and appliances, all well used/tired.

We got what we paid for.
Double the price would have got much better value.
We spent 3 nights here, and would be happy to use it again for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The staff is very nice and helpful. Unfortunately, the amenities are subpar. The bed was too soft and very uncomfortable. Everything, from the fabrics to the furniture to the privacy to the interior design is greatly outdated and dingy. If you're looking for a room that you will only use to sleep in because you plan on being out and about most of the time, it may be--at most--tolerable, only because the beach is within a couple of minutes walking distance. However, if you plan on spending any time in your room and on waking up to a nicely-scented, sunny, comfortable environment with a view, you will be disappointed. Even at under $100 per night it is not a bargain; expect the quality of your stay to be in line with what you're paying for it, if not lower. It's not very different from a sleezy motel room anywhere else; when I woke up it wasn't until I stepped outside that I remembered I was in Florida. You would be well advised to spend some time looking around at other places first before settling on this one because you will find that a little more money elsewhere will likely get you alot more satisfaction. We did.

Room Tip: Rooms behind and connected to the office are noisy because the sound travels easily. They are dark a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We've stayed here the last 3 times visiting fort myers beach, and we'll be staying here again! Travis and the entire staff are great, they are all very informative and helpful in making our vacation a blast! A++

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2013

If you are planning a trip to Fort Myers skip right past the big hotel chains and give Travis a call. The owner and his staff will make you feel like a member of the family. Forget the big corporate chains, and enjoy your stay. The rooms are clean and well kept. You will feel like you are sitting at a family gathering when you are lounging by the beautiful pool. You are no more than one hundred feet from the beach, and just blocks away from some great local dining. Seriously, do yourself and your family a favor and stay at the Dolphin Inn. You will not regret it!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is our second visit to The Dolphin Inn. Again we had a great stay. This place offers utter relaxation and the owner Travis is so very friendly and helpful. He is carrying out a programme of improvements. It is convenient to beach and there is a very nice pool. A barbecue is available if you want to have a relaxing meal by your room. There is also a tennis court and kayaks are available if you wish to use them. I have no hesitation in recommending The Dolphin Inn if you are wanting excellent value for money in Fort Myers Beach. We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Rooms are either pool side or inlet side. Both are good. Poolside rooms offer 2 double beds, whereas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,612 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
368 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#29 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
265 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Outrigger Beach Resort
Outrigger Beach Resort
#15 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Property: Dolphin Inn
Address: 6555 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4499
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing