We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent motel on the gulf coast”
Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Peebles, Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent motel on the gulf coast”
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We spent 5 days at this motel and enjoyed every second of it. The hosts were very friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms themselves, although a little dated, were very clean and comfortable. Our room was situated on the waterways, where there is a jetty for fishing and if you are lucky you may even see some manatee. The pool area was also very clean and spacious. With just a short walk to the beach and a trolley stop right outside what more could you ask for? Would definetly recommend this motel and we hope to return again next year.

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — Rooms were a little dated
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peebs2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    110
    36
    13
    7
See reviews for
109
187
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

We stayed at The dolphin inn resort, Travis and Jennifer were the perfect hosts nothing was too much trouble. Altough the apartment was a little dated it was clean and tidy. We hired Travis speed boat one day to tour the island, where we saw manatees and wild dolphins !!! amazing. The pool was spotless, bedding all very clean. the jetty where the boat was harboured was the highlight our childrens holiday and kept them entertained for many hours fishing and looking for wildlife. Travis and Jennifer made everyone at home and where on call 24/7, they recently bought the dolphin inn so it will take a little time to get it up to scratch. We all had the most amazing time there. The sunsets on the beach are a sight to be seen. 10/10

Helpful?
3 Thank jpn213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

We would definately stay there again! The owners were gracious and accomodating. The facilities aren't new but clean. If you want a great deal on a nice place to stay - this is it. The pool was perfect. There's even a trolley stop right out front. The beach is across the street and we had no trouble getting there.

  • Liked — Price/Service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SunSeakers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

A family run hotel, we really enjoyed our stay.

A slightly dated but comfy room at the front of the Hotel, huge bed, kitchen area with microwave, fridge-freezer oven and hob. A shower, small sink unit and adequate storage space.
The Hotel is basically self-catering so we stocked up at the local Publix supermarket for our 2 day stay. There are BBQ's for public use at the rear of the Hotel overlooking the boat docks.
The pool is good and clean, beach access is across the road between two other Hotels.
Cheap laundry facility's are available but there is no internet acess.
There are plenty of local places to eat if you don't fancy cooking.
Quirky, fun and friendly. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Neilb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night to attend a friend's wedding. We were greeted by the owner and his wife when we arrived, both were very friendly. They offered suggestions of places to grab lunch, as well as where a CVS, Publix, and 7-11 were.
We ended up going to the Fish House for lunch, which was about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The food was alright. Not the greatest, but not bad either.
After we got back from the wedding that evening, I called the front desk to ask how check out worked since we had an early flight in the morning. Not only did Travis explain the process to me, but he also asked how the wedding went. I was very impressed that he remembered and cared enough to ask.
This hotel, hands down, has some of the best customer service I have ever encountered.
We definitely want to come back and stay for a longer period of time.

  • Liked — How friendly Travis and Jennifer were, the view from our room, the kitchenette
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hokiefille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2008

This is a great small hotel/motel in a quiet part of Fort Myers Beach. It only has about 16 rooms/efficiencies and guests are pretty much left to their own devices, but this is a great way to have a relaxing holiday. The Dolphin Inn is about two thirds of the way along Estero Boulevard towards Lovers Key i.e. well away from the main 'action' of the north end of the island. Yet it is a 2 minute walk from a small 7-11 store and about 10 minutes drive from the main grocery store on the Island, a Publix.

The rooms are maybe a little bit dated decor wise, but the kitchen was large and well-equipped, the shower-room was clean with lots of towels, the bed was comfy and there were ceiling fans AND air-conditioning. The property is across the road from the beachside condos, but with direct beach access, and backs onto one of the waterways on the eastern side of the island.

We stayed in room 13D, an 'efficiency' with a full size kitchen, king size bed and a small personal outside terrace. This is the closest room to the main road, and I am a very light sleeper, but we never had any problems sleeping once the fan and/or air-conditioning was on. It was a great place to relax and, seeing as breakfast isn't provided, a great place to set your own schedule! I was also impressed that the owners expressly stated that they encourage guests to recycle and told guests where to put all their recyclable packaging (this was, tellingly, the only hotel we stayed at in Florida that even considered recycling!).

The pool is pretty large (larger than some hotels with many more rooms) and there are a stack of pool toys and floats for general use. We stayed in the low season (first week in May), but most of the rooms were booked and the pool area never seemed crowded and kids and lap-swimmers alike managed to share the space easily enough.

Do not book this accomodation if you are looking for a typical hotel-chain beach holiday with fresh towels every day and 24 reception cover. But do choose this accomodation if you want a few days of chilling-out on the beach (the towels are replaced every 3 days and the rooms cleaned once a week in case you were wondering!). The owners were quick to help answer any questions but were never intrusive.

This place is great and I would not hesitate to stay there again to recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — The relaxed atmosphere / proximity to beach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LMC_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2008

We just returned from a 5 night stay (4/27 - 5/2) at the Dolphin Inn and can't think of a single bad thing to say about it. Our room (13B) was very clean and spacious. Located on the second floor separate from the main building, it had a large bedroom/sitting area, full kitchen and a large screened in porch with a beautiful view. The king sized bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet and peaceful. We saw a manatee swimming right by the dock one afternoon. The pool looked very nice and we never saw more than 2 or 3 people in it at one time. There are laundry facilities available for guests to use. The owners, Travis and Jennifer, are very nice and go out of their way to make sure your stay is wonderful.
There is direct access to the beach across the street which is a very short walk. From what we could tell this is by far the best area of beach on the whole island. On the beach there is a Tiki Bar on either side both just a short walk away. One is located at the Holiday Inn and the other is at the Outrigger. The shelling was incredible. We went to Bowman's Beach on Sanibel one day and felt that the shelling was much better at Fort Myers Beach. The water is very calm and warm.
We drove into Times Square several times and did not encounter any traffic or crowds anywhere and had no problem parking. The sunset from the pier was beautiful. We did not use the trolley but we did see it on a regular basis. Lover's Key is also just a few minutes away.
We loved Fort Myers Beach and it was a very good time of year to go. We will definately be back and will definately stay at the Dolphin Inn again.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rivieradreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,608 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
365 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#28 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
263 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Outrigger Beach Resort
Outrigger Beach Resort
#15 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Property: Dolphin Inn
Address: 6555 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4499
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing