We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Dolphins outside our window!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Murphys, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Dolphins outside our window!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel was just too cool, especially for someone from the mountains in California. I would refer to it as a "boatel" because, as I recall, it had accommodations for personal boat docking. The inn is located at the end of a canal, where I saw three dolphins chase down their meal - I'd never been so close to dolphins (in the wild) before & it was an amazing experience - they were right there, a mere 10 to 15 feet away from where I was sitting! Even owners of neighboring homes came out into their backyards to watch the show.

The inn has a large swimming pool, which is located in front of the building, and is across the street, after a brief walk, from the Gulf. The inn was full when we arrived, without a reservation, with just one room left, ours. It was a bit tight, space-wise, but had a kitchen area and would have been perfect for someone looking for an efficiency - we were just looking for a room for the night near the ocean. Wow, did we get lucky - the entire stay was quite an experience and the staff was outstanding and extremely friendly. We could tell that they appreciated their location as much as their guests did!

We are planning to return to Florida this spring and will be driving from Ft Lauderdale to New Orleans, and then back again - we plan to stay at the Dolphin Inn either coming or going. Do consider this delightful inn - you can't beat the price, location, or ambience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    99
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
102
162
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Travis makes you feel like home in this small but cozy inn at Ft. Myers Beach.
Rooms need upgrade badly but the bay view one bedroom apartments are spacious and fully equipped. Very good location at walking distance to the beach and short drives to Times Square.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBV_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples, florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our room had a king bed and queen and twin on porch, large living and dining room and full kitchen. Travis was wonderful and I would stay at The Dolphin Inn again. Walking distance to Villa Santani Plaza for food and fun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sillywilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our 4th visit on this hotel and there is very likely to be 5th and 6th ones too. Ok, so the hotel isn't in the heat of Ft. Myers Beach so if you want action, you might want to get a hotel near the pier. But the beach is only 100 yards away from the hotel. The beach is huge, wide, long and just white powdery sand as far as you can see. We've seen dolphins swim near the beach at least 15 times. There's usually 2–3 dolphins that swim along the beach from south to north.

Ok the hotel. The owner is originally from Germany and is very nice and funny too. Rooms are big enough and for a little extra you'll get bigger rooms. I suggest you spend a bit more to your accomodation to get a bigger room than their standard room is. Parking is free of course and with a car you'll get anywhere fast enough.

A good hotel for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Testikkeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

What a wonderful location in Ft. Myers Beach. Travis and Lynn were very helpful. We enjoyed watching the sun rise outside our room overlooking the Canal. Took a short stroll that evening to enjoy the sunset overlooking the gulf. Loved the super large warm pool. Visit was way to short. Can't wait to go back to spend more time. Nice that they offer bike rentals as this would definitely be the best way to get around town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
118 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Looking over a small harbour, this was a pleasant spacious apartment for four. Easy parking, good warm pool and 50 yards from the beach. Reasonable kitchen facilities, comfortable if a little worn furniture and a great shower. Excellent family value... recommended.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Travis & staff were great. Very helpful & accommodating. If you go, strongly suggest upper lanai bay view,as it has a large screened lanai overlooking a canal. Close to beach & shopping, but away from the madness that is Fort Myers Beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIMOTHY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 48 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#23 of 48 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#11 of 48 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#3 of 48 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,548 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#15 of 48 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#7 of 48 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Property: Dolphin Inn
Address: 6555 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4499
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing