We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“homey”
Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“homey”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Super cute little spot along fort Myers beach sooo worth the price. The day room was cozy and impossibly clean. The beach was right across, perfect for an afternoon walk since sunsets are very romantic on the beach.There is a lot of effort on making your stay a good one. Travis made us feel like family which I appreciated after a 2 hour drive under a stormy day. He knows d area well so he is a great resource. You feel like your staying with family. Absolutely going back. Totally recommended.

Room Tip: The bay room is small but the view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalal877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    108
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
108
186
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

What a pleasant stay even with Tropical Depression Debbie soaking the area, we were greeted by Travis upon arrival and felt as though we had already met before we even arrived. We stayed in Unit #3 Poolside and what a excellent pool it is, clean, big and just the right temperature, tables, umbrellas and chairs galore. This Inn isn't waterfront but has a dedicated beach access walkway direct to the beach with a short 2 minute walk. There are Bikes, Kayaks and Grills there for the guests use. Say no more, we will be back... Thank you

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YakYakKayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We booked a room here based on Trip Advisor reviews and were so glad we did! We'd spent a crazy week traveling all around Florida, staying in places as diverse as the Omni in Jacksonville to a Motel 8 in Titusville but this kitschy, quirky motel in Ft. Myers Beach was hands-down our favorite. The room was spotless, the owners extremely friendly and helpful, and I'm not sure which non-advertised feature we enjoyed the most - the resident cat or the local manatee that made an evening sojourn up the canal behind the motel.

Room Tip: We stayed poolside and enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft, Ontario
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My friends and I did a girls tip a few years back in November for a week. we found this place on line and it was in the right price range and close to the beach. When we got there it was exactly what we had expected! great service from the owner and our room was a two bedroom with the kitchenet! Nothing fancy but it did what we needed it to. the beach was right across the road! beautiul lagoon behind where we could watch the sunsets at night! would use it again!

Room Tip: They were upgrading some of the rooms when we were there and they looked really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We arrived here after a very long drive up from the Florida Keys. First impressions after we parked up, the pool looks great, this looks nice. The guy at the front desk knew who we were before we even said who we were!! Very friendly. We walked around to the back of the property to our room 3A, and the view over the bay was amazing. We walked in to our room, it's a little different to what we usually choose to stay in. To me it was basically a bedroom with a kitchen squeezed in to one corner and a table and chairs. Not much room at all to walk around, and a very small bathroom. There was just enough room to squeeze my suitcase in to the wardrobe area and that was about it. LOL. When you stepped outside the room though, it really made up for it, fabulous views, I caught the sunrise the following morning. It was beautiful. Plenty of outside chairs and beds to choose from. Didn't get chance to use the pool, but it looked great. The beach was just across the main road, down a path, beautiful beach. No in room coffee, a coffee machine, but no coffee. A guy very kindly gave me a couple of sachets. Slept well, bed was fine, it was great for the one night, for the price, but I couldn't of stayed here any longer, just on the fact that the room was small & not much room to spread out. Charming little place though, with lots of character. Plenty of birds around and enjoyed watching the fish jump up out of the water. LOL I would stay here again, but only for one night, but it is unlikely that we would return, only because when we travel we like to try out new places, for new experiences.

Room Tip: I would choose a bay view room, you can have a pool view anytime, plenty to gaze at, very relaxing I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newlydiate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My friend and I stayed here one night though I wish we could have stayed longer! The room, amenities, and service, exceeded all expectations. The room was very clean. The wifi was great, our flatscreen TV had cable (can't remember whether there was a DVD player), but I admit this place might not be the best for everyone. It is an older, dated hotel and with a small roach problem that is only apparent late at night. Still, I thought the room was charming and well worth the value! I'd recommend it to my younger friends, who don't need a lot of creature comforts and space.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kokotree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is our third visit and we had a great time. Travis is gradually doing up the units - ours (number 12) had been repainted since last year and looked a lot better for it. He says that the totally refurbished units (so far only 1A and 2A) have flat screen TVs, but I didn't see inside them.

There was a mix up with our booking and we were put in a small older room (3A) as there was no other room free, but Travis moved us the next day and didn't charge us for that night so I was happy!

The pool area and the proximity to the amazing beach is what makes this property stand out from the others ... and it is great value! We also saw a manatee family in the water at the dock at the rear of the property which was really special!

Room Tip: Room 12 is on the top floor at the end and is quiet. Avoid the ground floor dock view rooms 3A throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMC_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#25 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Outrigger Beach Resort
Outrigger Beach Resort
#15 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Property: Dolphin Inn
Address: 6555 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4499
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing