We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Review Highlights
Just over three hours to Key West

We took this ferry to Key West in January with some friends. We stayed over for two nights but did... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
SirenaDives
,
Santa Barbara, California
Key West

The only way to travel to Key West! Been on the Express twice and both experiences were great... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
8862
Read all 2,036 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Fort Myers Beach
from $21.30
More Info
from $42.60
More Info
from $400.00
More Info
from $662.50
More Info
Reviews (2,036)
Filter reviews
2,036 results
Traveler rating
1,051
555
214
77
139
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,051
555
214
77
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviews return trip day trip stay overnight your luggage conch train fort myers top deck ferry terminal both ways play cards boarding process trip home getting sick before departure snack bar rough ride sit outside
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 2,036 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2018

We live it Ft Myers and have driven to Key West many times. I wanted to try this as an alternative to the long and aggravating drive due to traffic. My wife's niece was here for a weeks visit from Ohio and never been so this was our opportunity. I did miss the beautiful keys scenery when driving though.

We purchased our tickets a few weeks in advance to get the early discount and I'm 62 so got another discount for mine, big plus on both points. The boat layout was spacious and with varied types of seating inside and out it's sure to please anyone. Tip made, and I agree, is to arrive early to find an area to your liking. Like any large group attraction like this you can be sitting with strangers. Great opportunity to pass the time engaging in conversation. I'm a diver and love the sea and being on the water sharing my adventures with landlubbers.

The crew was superb. The wind was up on our trip and so was the sea. It's your responsibility to be prepared. The crew that was on the lower deck where we sat did an outstanding job handling the problems from sea sickness. I have seen the best of them, including myself, have a bad day at sea. The cat boat is a much better boat for rough seas.

There was an individual that had a medical problem beyond sea sickness and the staff sprang into action. Once the person was stable they left 1 crew member stationed by him to monitor him until we docked in KW. They positioned the rest of us to allow the medical staff from KW to come on and assist him out first before the rest. I believe it was a diabetes related problem and he walked off with medics. Hats off to the crew, outstanding job!!

Personally, it was is a long day with most of the time traveling back and forth. Since I'm not 25 it would be better to stay a night rather than do it in one day. I always wanted to take our bicycles and stay a night or 2 and next time that is what we will do.

Enjoyed the boat, the crew and the day!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Wreck_Diver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

We are delighted you chose to give us a try and sincerely appreciate your acknowledgement of our crew. Your review is affirmation that we are succeeding in fulfilling expectations and providing a positive enjoyable experience. The island has so much to offer we hope you do extend your stay next time. Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2018

Excellent, flat calm both ways, 85F at the Keys, great staff on the Key West Express, good selection at the on-board bar and snack bar. Great service at the booking window the day before.Thanks!

Date of experience: March 2018
3  Thank LindsayScottDurno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

We are delighted that we met your expectations and thank you for sharing your experience. We hope for the pleasure of welcoming you back again. If you read our newsletters and Facebook there are occasional specials and promotions as well as details on Key West special events you might enjoy on the island. Best Regards, Key West Express

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2018 via mobile

Had another relaxing, enjoyable ride on the Key West Express. Just sat back in our chair on the lower deck until the weather warmed and then headed outside. On the ride back, headed to the top deck and enjoyed the view. Will do it again.

Date of experience: March 2018
6  Thank jintfan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Guest opinions and comments are critical so that we know where we are meeting expectations and what we could improve upon. We love to hear from happy repeat visitors like you and value your input immensely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

Traveling on the Key West Express is something that I had been intrigued by for a number of years based on seeing the impressive boat in and around Marco Island. When the opportunity presented itself for me to take my college age children on the Key West Express from Ft. Myers, I was in!

The Key West Express ticketing process was efficient and the advanced directions were thorough and complete. We followed the provided directions exactly and arrived one-hour prior to the stated departure time to find that interior seats for us to sit together were already taken. We found exterior seats together on the partially covered middle deck. Our almost 4-hour trip to Key West was much cooler than expected. The primary drawback to this seating area was the strong exhaust smell from the boat and secondhand smoke from the lower level smokers’ deck.

The boat traveled at a steady clip, the South Florida shoreline within sight most of the trip. Our Key West Express cruise was mostly smooth and we were able to walk around the boat throughout the trip.

Overall my observation of the experience is that once on board, it was somewhat a “free for all” experience for passengers. Pre-sail seat selection/assignment, similar to some airlines and movie theaters, would have afforded a much nicer experience for travelers. Getting off the boat also took much longer than it should have.

Returning to the Key West Express terminal earlier than requested for our return trip was a priority for us to secure interior seats. This need seemed to loom over the limited amount of time that we had to spend in Key West on our day trip. We successfully reached the terminal and boarding queue early enough to obtain interior seats together. Wow, what a difference—the return trip was comfortable, and warm!

I am content with our experience but would not likely opt to travel on the Key West Express again.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank LOP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

We appreciate your feedback, and are glad you were able to enjoy the return portion of your day trip excursion. March is the most traveled month of the year for us therefore capacity tends to be high. Assigned seating is something we have looked at incorporating, and continue to study feasibility. We hope you might reconsider and give us another try, perhaps spending a night or two the next time so that you are able to more fully enjoy the island destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

I never write a bad review. But they just forced me to do it. Once you check in your luggage, you can't take it out. They don't mention that in their little instructions guide, nor was any announcements made. I went to take a jacket cause my mother was feeling cold and the guy was very rude and said You can't take anything out from you luggage just like in an airplane. The boat didn't even take of yet and I was only asking cause my mother was feeling cold. I am suing if anything happens to my parents. Writing in the boat waiting for the ferry to leave to fort Myers from key West.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank RaghavK19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Temperature preferences are personal and though we cannot please all, settings may be cool for some which is why we do recommend a sweater or jacket. We ask guests to limit luggage size to carry-ons which fit beneath tables and seats which allow guest access. Due to space limitations larger pieces are stowed and access not permitted per security and safety regulations. We regret that an exception was not made on behalf of your mother as we had not yet departed and apologize for her discomfort and rude or unprofessional treatment by crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews