We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trip to Key West, not so great trip from Key West” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Key West Express

Key West Express
Book In Advance
Book Now
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Get away to Key West, America's Caribbean Paradise, aboard Key West Express, where getting there is half the fun! What are you waiting for? Climb aboard our sleek, clean, modern, air-conditioned high-speed ferries - Features sundecks, snack bar, cocktails, and big-screen TVs - and we'll have you there in just a few hours!
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great trip to Key West, not so great trip from Key West”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

My husband and I rode the Key West Express from Ft Myers, FL, to and from Key West. Both ways the seats were very comfortable! The trip down was awesome. The staff were very helpful, personable and friendly. The baggage storage area was very organized.
But the trip back to Ft Myers was not nearly as good as the 1st trip was. We were on a smaller ship and the staff was not friendly at all, not helpful, and acted like they were very unhappy. The baggage storage area was a nightmare. The vents from the AC units (I guess that's what they were) were blowing very hot air into the areas where riders were waiting to get their bags and deboard the ship. The hand rail was too hot to touch and it felt like the vent was pushing out at least 100 degree heat. I am not exaggerating in the least.
When booking your trip, ask about which ship you'll be taking going and coming.
Taking the KW Express was certainly much better than driving, by all means. I just wish the return trip was as great as the 1st.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank FLGal1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
We are delighted that your trip to Key West was as all guests have come to enjoy and should always expect. We apologize that your return was not the same positive experience and assure you that it will be addressed. Guest service is of utmost importance therefore we encourage you to call us directly to discuss the unfriendly service of which you mentioned. In regard to the smaller boat, all of our vessels have the offer the same comforts and amenities. We thank you for your review and hope to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    457
    174
    66
    103
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very organized ferry to Key West”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We came to Key West today via this ferry. (We were on the small one) They are very organized starting with the parking lot and organization to the pier. Great way to travel to Key West without driving. My only complaint is that as we were getting off the boat they made us stand in line on the main level with awful diesel exhaust on the boat. Besides being extremely hot already on a very hot day it was quite unhealthy for those of us with respiratory issues. I mentioned something to one of the ship persons and he blew it off. When I get back on the boat to go home I will talk to someone else.

Helpful?
1 Thank AzJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
We thank you for your review and are delighted you enjoyed your trip. We regret that you did not receive the attention to your concern of which you deserved and we will be certain to address your issue with the marine division.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa,fl
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The second time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

My husband and I decided to take our grandson to Key West for his birthday. We have done the Express before and decided our grandson would like being on the boat. It was a great trip up and back. We stayed in the Keys for two nights and had a wonderful time. Luckily the weather was good and the Express was on time up and back. You always have to worry about the Ferry breaking down, the weather and can they get back to Key West, and would we have to stay another night without having accommodations, if something goes wrong. But all worked out and we were happy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank greenthumb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
It is always wonderful to hear from repeat guests who have come to enjoy our service. A little confused about concerns regarding break downs as we conduct regular routine maintenance to ensure our vessels operate seamlessly. Weather conditions can influence travel for us as well as all modes of transportation however here in sunny southwest Florida we are blessed with typically year round great elements, though guest safety is always first and foremost in consideration of whether or not to sail. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great way to travel to Key West”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

I had been to Key West about 12 times, and this was my first time by boat. GREAT way to go!! The only "negative" would have to be that the info provided says the trip is about 3.5 hours, but is actually about 4.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianB1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo, Oh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Only way to go to Key West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

My husband and I travel to Fort Myers once a year for vacation and never took the time to visit Key West. On our last vacation we decided the time was right to see Key West by using the ferry. Because we were staying at the beach we drove over to the ferry dock office and bought our tickets and parking passes so we didn't have to wait in any lines the day of departure. My husband wanted to get the choicest seat possible on the ferry, so we arrived at 7:00 am and was one of the first in line, we had great seats! We sat at a table with other passengers and shared vacation experiences all around with tips on what to do and see in Key West, fabulous time.
Upon arriving you can take the tour right away, if you have luggage, take that along too with no problem. Since we had not been there before, we enjoyed getting the lay of the land and a bit of history too.
We had made arrangements to visit friends and needed a rental car so we went back to the ferry terminal for that. The staff was very helpful and contacted the airport to get us the rental car. Even the airport staff was very helpful, they picked us up and dropped us off at the terminal so we didn't have to use a taxi, what great service!
The only suggestion I can make for those who go on the ferry is this:
there is an announcement about not putting your backpacks and luggage on the seats, so everyone can have a seat. There are crew members helping with this. But there was a group of travelers that put their backpacks on the seats across from us and left for the deck view and never came back until the end. If you need a seat, either ask a crew member for help or push aside the luggage until the owner comes back.
The ferry is comfortable, has drinks and snacks, good views, and shows a movie as well. Time goes fast.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank marcia21toledo_Oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
We sincerely appreciate guest reviews and feedback and are delighted that you received the level of service all guests have come to enjoy and expect. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you aboard again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Express also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Key West Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing