We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to do this once”
Review of Key West Express

Key West Express
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Get away to Key West, America's Caribbean Paradise, aboard Key West Express, where getting there is half the fun! What are you waiting for? Climb aboard our sleek, clean, modern, air-conditioned high-speed ferries - Features sundecks, snack bar, cocktails, and big-screen TVs - and we'll have you there in just a few hours!
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I decided to do a day in Key West and chose the "express" as the best transportation. Trying to book on-line was a problem. Telephone reservation was handled smoothly and accurately. They tell you to show up at 7am for the 8:30 departure - so we did. Parking was extremely well organized (of course an $8 charge for the spot). Ticketing was efficient as was boarding the vessel. Other than arriving in our view, much too early, the morning trip went very well. On board food was ok but limited choices. Despite instructions not to bring coolers (ie food), there were lots of "in the know" folks that brought their breakfast and snacks for the almost four hour trip. On board tv showing movies and regular tv shows was a good distraction. Comfortable seating. Return trip was similar. Hint - get a dinner to go before boarding the return trip.

7  Thank 114Rainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Delighted that you enjoyed your trip. Guests are required to arrive no later than 30 minutes prior to travel however may board as early as 7:00am. Seating is unassigned therefore early arrival ensures a larger selection. Though coolers are prohibited all passengers are certainly welcome to bring their own food on board. We are glad that you found us to be organized and efficient and we look forward to welcoming you aboard again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,041 - 1,045 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

I gave the overall experience a 4 because the safety instructions on the outside deck were not clear at all the speakers did not work...my husband being a boat Captain knew enough to make awareness in the event of emergency where life jackets are. The ride itself was excellent..definitely worth the money. I would recommend this ride but something definitely needs to be addressed on the emergency announcements.

2  Thank happy45happy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all guest feedback. We regret that the outside deck instructions were not clear and the announcements inaudible. Guest safety is of utmost importance and any speaker issues will be addressed and corrected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We took the Key West Express for a day trip from Ft Myers Beach - what a great experience! The accommodations are quite comfortable & vary from tables by the windows to airline seating in the center of the vessel, plus there are many big-screen TV's showing movies (nice!) & there's a bar & galley available (which we didn't make use of). Smooth sailing going down but a storm blew up just as we were boarding for the return trip & IT WAS A ROUGH RIDE HOME! We don't get seasick but plenty of passengers were "uncomfortable" for the 3-1/2 hr. trip. Kudos to the staff, they were hard-pressed to handle all the sickies but they were caring & courteous to all.

Don't be put off by my rough weather report - you should definitely take this voyage! Key West is a must-see at least once, put it on your bucket list! And Key West Express is THE way to go -- we've driven down from Ft. Lauderdale twice. TAKE THE EASY WAY!! We would do it again for sure.

2  Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Delighted that you are encouraging others to give us a try! It is always a pleasure to hear about guests enjoyment of our services. For nearly 2 decades we have been taking happy people to our favorite tropical destination, and we love to get great feedback like yours! Thank you for your kind comments....come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

What a great way to get to the Keys! Why would I drive 8 hours to get to the Keys when I can get there in 3! Boarded the Express with excitement and wasn't let down.

I was surpised how roomy & comfortable it was inside - with tables and seats big enough for a family of 4. The bar area was nice and although I not much of a drinker anymore it looked really stocked! Flatscreen TVs are located all over the boat. Many of us were watching the olympics as we were sailing across the Gulf of Mexico :-). The cafe menu has enough choices to keep you satisfied from hamburgers, hotdogs and snacks. The ride itself was awesome. We rode on the outside deck (2nd) all the way down. The sun was out and with the breeze from the speed of the boat, it was perfect. Every so often you would get a spray of gulf water on your face too. Just what you need to get ready for a day of fun in sunny Key West.

The crew was extremely helpful and so nice. As a matter of fact, my cell phone died while we were on our way down (from taking so many pictures and videos) that I asked one of the crew members if it could be plugged in anywhere. He immediately said yes and we walked to the bar and plugged it in. It was fully charged by the time we arrived.

We also met a lot of very nice people on the boat and bumped into them again during the day while we were there. Oh I almost forgot, we decided to rent an electric car to get around quicker as we were only there for the one day. This is crazy cool and a fun way to get around. The price was great as well. We rented from Sunshine Scooters and they were priced the best and I would suggest if you are renting, you go to them.

The ride home was much quieter as many of the return travellers was napping in their seats from a long day of fun. It was pretty windy and choppy on the way back, so most of us sat securely in our seats.

I can't say enough good things about this experience. I am planning another trip to the Keys and I will definitely be going via Key West Express.

2  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Wow, what an amazing review! We are ecstatic when we have guests who so thoroughly enjoy their experiences and take the time to review. We love your enthusiasm and can't wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

If you are on the gulf side of Florida, this is a great way to get to Florida. We checked ahead of time and learned that the sea wave forecast was for 2' or less waves. We had really good weather so that made the ride very smooth. They show a movie each way. Snacks and drinks are available for purchase. It's a professional outing.

If you are planning to go, it probably would be a good idea to study the sea weather and wave forecast before you go. Even though it is a 170' catamaran, if the seas are very rough, I hear it can result in sea sickness.

1  Thank Rdlaidig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

We are delighted that you appreciate our professionalism and thank you for your comments. Your advice is very good. It is always a good idea to watch forecasts. The ride is typically extremely smooth however in windy weather just like with air transportation turbulence can occur. Those with motion sensitivity may wish to take a precaution. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you aboard again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Express also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Key West Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing