We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to get to KW, some con's.”
Review of Key West Express

Key West Express
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Get away to Key West, America's Caribbean Paradise, aboard Key West Express, where getting there is half the fun! What are you waiting for? Climb aboard our sleek, clean, modern, air-conditioned high-speed ferries - Features sundecks, snack bar, cocktails, and big-screen TVs - and we'll have you there in just a few hours!
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Ride was smooth, seats very confortable, departed on time, best way to visit KW for a 2-3 day trip. However, maybe not for families with smaller kids. Explanation: travelers were 2 couples, 60's sitting in main cabin. On trip to KW was a bunch of boomers "going for it", and were loud, obnoxious, and mostly hammered upon arrival. KW steward did not try to calm things down. Same experience on return to FtMyers. Big bunch in main cabin were loud, getting loaded, using bad language, and again the steward ignored the whole deal.. I'd take the ferry again, but try to sit apart from the drinking bunch. Definitely not for little kids anywhere.

Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

We are glad that you had a smooth and comfortable ride! It is disappointing that there were inconsiderate individuals whose behavior dampened your experience. Your remarks will be addressed with the appropriate division. It is important to us that all guests experience the service that we have proudly provided for nearly 2 decades. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you aboard again in the future so that you can have the experience that every guest should expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"return trip"
in 187 reviews
"day trip"
in 195 reviews
"stay overnight"
in 47 reviews
"conch train"
in 34 reviews
"fort myers"
in 198 reviews
"your luggage"
in 31 reviews
"ferry terminal"
in 22 reviews
"top deck"
in 92 reviews
"both ways"
in 54 reviews
"play cards"
in 27 reviews
"boarding process"
in 25 reviews
"rough ride"
in 20 reviews
"snack bar"
in 82 reviews
"sit outside"
in 30 reviews
"boat leaves"
in 20 reviews
"duval street"
in 18 reviews
"marco island"
in 43 reviews
Filter

1,332 - 1,336 of 1,857 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Took the boat for a day trip to Key West with some friends. If I did this trip again I will definately plan on staying at least one night in the Keys, We did not have enough time to really enjoy a lot of what Key West has to offer in the short time we were there. The ride down was great. Smooth seas and beautiful weather. However, coming back was not! It would have been nice if the staff had mentioned that they were expecting some rough seas. We could have taken something for sea sickness before the ship left the dock. Everyone on the boat seemed to get sick. However, the crew was great about helping everyone, keeping everything clean and the smells down and doing it was a good attitude. My recommendation is to come prepared even if you are not prone to sea sickness and check the marine advisory for yourself.

Thank ckaswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Your comments are appreciated, as is your advice. Though we would love fair skies and calm seas 365 days a year, weather can be unpredictable at times. Our crew work diligently to ensure passenger comfort when weather conditions make for a bumpy ride. Thank you for acknowledging their efforts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Make sure to take plenty sunscreen if you intend to sit on an outer deck! Also a good book and iPod as the trip is 3.5 hours each way. Make sure to get there early too if you have a seating preference. If you are travelling with young children or anyone with mobility issues, make sure to get your ticket stamped accordingly to board first on the return journey

Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

All good advice! Glad to hear that you had fun. Please be sure to visit our website for details on discounted fares, as we have a selection to suit everyone's needs. Thank you for taking the time to review. Sunny Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The ride was choppy and horrible the entire 4 hours. Bonine did not help. Everyone on board was ill. Miserable 4 hours. The only relief i got was finding an interior center seat and did not move for the return ride. The snack bar was way expensive. It takes the same amount of time to drive there, which isn't much better, but I'd rather drive than go thru this again.

3  Thank Denmar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

There are occasions when weather conditions are uncooperative and unpredictable. We regret that you had a bumpy ride and were uncomfortable. Those who have or suspect they have motion sensitivity are advised to talk to their pharmacist or physician about what precaution would best suit their personal needs. Many options are found to be very helpful, however are most effective if used before symptoms present themselves. In regard to the expense of food we have a selection to fit what we would hope to be most tastes and budgets with items starting as low as $2.00. Even with weather elements beyond our control we regret your discomfort and your not having the opportunity to enjoy the great experience that the overwhelming majority of our guests find to be very enjoyable, time saving and convenient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

After visiting Sanibel Island hopped the ferry to Key West rather than driving and the small plane option was too costly. Having done other commuter ferries, this beats most. The seats are comfortable (seats with tables if you are early enough) and they run TV programs and movies during the trip. Motion issues were low. Food was OK, and didn't try the bar, although plenty others did. What I would not do is use this ferry for a day trip; only gives you about 4 good hours in KW -- making it a costly day trip. If planning a trip, plan ahead and ask for discounts. The local papers offer discounts for advanced bookings making the cost around $109, and sometimes as low as $90 R/T.

Thank eer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Your comments are right on! Guests are able to move about the vessel, enjoy a movie, snack or beverage, relax and read a book and leave the driving to us! Not a cruise ship but, yes the closest thing to one in the ferry industry You can get first hand notice of specials, promotions and Key West events by signing up for our newsletter on the home page of our website. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts...Sunny Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Express also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Key West Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing