We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really fair, but what can we do” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Key West Express

Key West Express
Book In Advance
Book Now
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Get away to Key West, America's Caribbean Paradise, aboard Key West Express, where getting there is half the fun! What are you waiting for? Climb aboard our sleek, clean, modern, air-conditioned high-speed ferries - Features sundecks, snack bar, cocktails, and big-screen TVs - and we'll have you there in just a few hours!
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not really fair, but what can we do”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I booked the Key West Express in June and the gal (who is no longer there) quoted $119 R/T and I had to pay by Dec 8th. Today I call to pay and I'm told my reservation # is old and I was given incorrect information. Now the rate is $134 NOT the $119 we were originally quoted. And pretty much, can't do anything about it (per a supervisor). I think they should have stood by the original quote we were given since I had a reservation #. We're stuck since we have a pre-paid no cancellation room in Key West. Kind of disappointing since the first time we went it was a fun experience. I agree with others, don't do it as a one day trip - wayyyyy too much boat time and not nearly enough time there. Makes for a very long day. This time we're staying 2 nights at a cute B&B celebrating my husbands 60th birthday.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
It is regretful that you feel you were treated unfairly. Currently our discounted nonrefundable fare for travel mid-week is 119.00, and 134.00 for travel including a Friday, Saturday or Sunday. We do periodically have other special offerings, such as our "holiday voucher" sale. Not unlike many retailers that have weekly sales or promotions, what is offered in June may be unavailable in December. We encourage everyone to sign up for our newsletter and follow us an facebook for the best and current offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    458
    175
    66
    103
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cudjoe Key, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“a great way to travel between Key West and Ft Myers Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We just did the first trip and thoroughly enjoyed it. Even thought the outbound trip went thru some rough seas, the big boat handled it very well, and they altered the course to stay nearer shore - nobody had any problems

Boarding is easy and pleasant, the crew is very nice and attentive, and the seating is wonderful - most with tables and very comfortable. Outside seating is available, and the top deck is all open. No problems with luggage. The heads were very clean too

The boat travels at about 35 mph, so outside dos get breezy, but feels great on a hot day.

I would recommend bringing snacks/drinks with you. They have a small lounge with beer, wine, and some food - nothing extensive, nor cheap.

If you like to be on the water, this is four hours of open seas.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank shark4rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good if you don't have so much time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was visiting Florida for 12 days earlier this year and tried to see as much as I could and boat was the only option if I wanted to see a bit of Key West. I only did a day trip and wouldn't do it again. If you decide to take ferry to Key West with the same day return, don't. I do recomend to stay there at least I night. The journey takes over 3 hours there and another 3 back (can get bit rough too, weather depending), so you don't have so much time to wonder around. However if you are staying in Key West for a while and can't be bothered with so much driving and sightseeing the boat is the right choice.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 8munros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Your comments are appreciated, and we do agree that if schedules and budgets permit, spending a night or two in this charming little city is just the ticket! A day trip is perfect for those who enjoy being on the water and want a little taste of Key West, or for key West regulars wishing to visit their favorite spots.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Way to Travel to Key West”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We planned a trip to Fort Myers to visit relatives. I wanted to do a little something special this trip, so I suggested Key West. This was a great way to get there. The boat is very comfortable. We had a nice comfortable seat for 8 with a large table. We played games & cards on our way there. Arrived just in time to hop on the trolley which showed us the Island and then we checked in to our hotel. On our return our hotel sent our luggage to a venue 1 block from the boat so we could spend the day in Key West without worrying about it. The boat left about 6pm so we were able to spend most of the day enjoying Key West. The seas were calm, not sure how it is in bad weather. Also, we were told we could not bring coolers, however, they allowed other travellers on with a cooler of beer. We felt that was unfair. They sold beverages & food that was just ok.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank simonerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and found the boat to be comfortable. It is disappointing that there are people that break rules that are intended for all. We strive to be fair and consistant with each and every guest, and are sorry to hear that someone got by with blatant disgrgard for the no cooler or alchoholic beverage policy. We thank you for bringing this to our attention, and look forward to welcoming you aboard in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Vomitorium!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We took the Key West Express on a clear day. It felt like we were on a roller coaster and not in a good way. People were throwing up all around us. The entire boat smelled of vomit. The crew walked around passing out and collecting bags. They advertise a 3.5 hr trip. It took 5.5 hours on the vomitorium to get back. We would never have booked this trip if we had any idea how miserable it could be. Be warned.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Sailors & landlubbers alike are all too familiar with the deception of clear, sunshiny skies and misleading weather forecasts. All of us commonly take a peak outside or open a window to gauge weather/temperature on any given day and you are correct that we have been blessed with blue skies & sunshine. Regrettably, we have also experienced wind of varying degrees over the past two weeks on land & at sea. Safety & comfort is first and foremost in all travel decisions. Despite efforts to travel at slower speeds and further inland in an attempt to provide minimal discomfort, there are times where we just cannot avoid conditions that create motion sensitivity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Express also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Key West Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing