We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiki On The Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tiki On The Beach
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Sitting on the veranda at Tikki on the beach, have a ground floor room, open the veranda doors and your on the beautiful white sand. The room is very clean and has everything you need for your stay. The staff are very helpful. We sat and watched a lovely sunset from our veranda with a chilled glass of wine while listening to the ocean, if there is a paradise I think this is it. There are lots of restuarants locally if you wish to eat out but if you want to eat in there are plenty of cooking facilities. It's a beautiful spot for a romantic stay with a lovely clean well positioned accomodation. I will be coming back soon I hope, well worth a visit you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The best room is on the ground floor on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p-digby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
89
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We just spent a week at Tiki on the Beach (April 29 - May 6) We agree with all of the positive reviews. Kim and Celina are warm, friendly, and helpful hosts. We stayed in #9 on the third floor of the courtyard view building. It was quiet and pleasant. Kitchen was well equipped. There were beach towels and chaise lounge chair towels. The courtyard was nice and parking was very good. The general location of the property was excellent. The neighbors are a mix of homes, rental properties, and smaller condos. The large resort properties were 2-3 miles away in both directions on the beach. The trolley (bus) to Times Square (downtown Ft Myers Beach) and Lover's Key State Park runs by Tiki. There is a supermarket about 3 blocks away and several church options within walking distance. The beach is great. The moist sand is very firm and is great for walking, running, or rental bikes. Since we were far from the large resorts, there were times when there was no one on the beach within a block of us. The sun sets behind Sanibel Island and star gazing is good on clear nights. There are abundant shells to collect.
We would like to stay again. We were happy with our choice.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms had great screened porches, but cost more. The third floor porches of the cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Yes, after 25 years and many trips together, this was the best! It doesn't get any better than a gulf side room at Tiki On The Beach. Nice clean room, screened in porch literally on the beach for relaxing, dining, and surf gazing. We are runners, and this is the best beach for running - flat and firm like a bike path. We had coffee on the porch, ran the beach, breakfast on the porch, laid out, read books, napped, and had great seafood out every night. Very good restaurants close by. Before we left, we made sure to book a gulf side room for next year! Yes - we are going back.....................

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkolbydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Tiki on the Beach is a quiet resort on a great beach. Staff was very nice and the rooms were big and mostly updated.

The Tiki offers movies in their main lobby you can borrow and retrieve while the staff is not present.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a great time this week at the Tiki on the Beach. We loved being right on the beach. Its a very nice, clean, & fun environment. The staff are always so helpful and very sweet. Cant wait to go back again !!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Meagan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Like other TripAdvisor members, I’m reluctant to share how much I love this place for fear that it will be overrun and difficult to reserve in the future. But the proprietors, Celina and Kim, are so hospitable and their beach rentals so beautiful that I have to write just to celebrate the fact that there are still such warm and accommodating hosts as the owners of Tiki on the Beach. They deserve to have their praises sung!

The Tiki web site (http://www.tikionthebeach.com/) gives a good overview of the rentals that are available, but there are a few more things to share about its appeal. The first is LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! If you stay in the gulfside apartments, you look right out at the surf and the talcum-powder white sand, which are literally steps from your door. We stayed for a week from March 30 through April 5 and never had to use the AC because of the refreshing cool breezes from the gulf. And with the windows and porch doors left open at night (we were on the second floor and had no fears about safety), we could enjoy the relaxing sound of the surf 24/7.

We dined out only twice during our stay, preferring instead to cook inside the apartment with groceries purchased at the Publix supermarket, just a 5-minute walk south of Tiki along Estero Blvd. The kitchen is well-stocked with pots and pans, dinnerware and utensils, a two-burner hotplate, a coffeemaker, a toaster, a microwave, a refrigerator, and a large electric skillet. There is no conventional oven, but there is a countertop toaster oven. We used the communal gas grill on the Tiki courtyard patio twice to cook burgers. Before using the grill, though, talk to Kim about the method for turning on the grill’s fuel and burners. His friendly instructions prevented us from possibly damaging the grill, which, unfortunately, previous guests had done because they did not proceed properly.

Tiki guests seem to be from all over the world and offer a great opportunity to meet interesting people. We met Germans, Swedes, Irish, Spaniards… one couple even gave us all their leftover food on the day they were leaving.

The #410 trollee (yes, that’s how it’s spelled!) passes up and down Estero Blvd. to take you just about anywhere along the beach if you arrive without a car, or if you just want to leave your car parked and use public transportation. Fare is 50 cents for adults and 25 cents for seniors. Northbound from Tiki, you walk out of the parking lot, turn left, cross the street, and walk just a few steps to the trollee stop at the corner of Sabal and Estero. Southbound from Tiki, you walk out of the parking lot, turn right, and walk to the stop at the corner of Gulfview and Estero. Trollee maps and schedules are available on the trollee or online at http://www.rideleetran.com/routeSchedules.htm.

We walked up the beach one night to eat dinner at Fresh Catch, which has an outdoor dining deck facing the beach. It is very pricey, but the quality is high. (See my separate review of the restaurant.) We also had a Greek dinner at Plaka in the Times Square district of the beach. The food here was delicious and reasonably-priced, but the staff seem totally unaware of the birds which sweep inside the restaurant to perch on server stations and coffee warmers, steal packets of condiments, and leave their "calling cards" on surfaces containing napkins, utensils, and other items which will be given to guests. Surely this is a health hazard, not to mention the disconcerting sight of a large gull landing inside a restaurant, just a few feet from where you are eating.

We made a list of items which are not available inside a Tiki apartment but which might be helpful for guests to bring with them, especially if they are staying for an extended period:

1. Boxes of tissues (Tiki doesn’t supply them)
2. A small collapsible steamer basket (we like to steam vegetables)
3. Plastic film wrap, plastic storage containers, or zipper bags to store leftover food
4. Basket-style coffee filters

Of course, you can buy all these items at the Publix store once you arrive, but you’d have to either throw away the unused ones or pack them to take home… a little cumbersome if you’re flying. Next year, for example, we’ll take an already-opened roll of plastic film with us from home and then use it up when we’re there. We’ll take seven coffee filters rather than pack or purchase a full box.

Just before leaving Tiki this year, we booked a week for 2015. It will be our third visit to this relaxing beach house. We are already counting down the days!

Bill McLoughlin ("Bookdude") in Columbus, Ohio

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BookDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Great place to everything from staff and hotel was amazing. Had not a care while staying here. Thanks for the hospitality.. I will definitely stay here again if ever in the area or simply need some time in paradise.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank walegail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
2.4 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
#7 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiki On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiki On The Beach

Property: Tiki On The Beach
Address: 4360 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tiki On The Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy one bedroom suites all newly renovated and located directly on the white sands of Fort Myers Beach. No towels needed, we provide free beach towels and lounge chairs to help you relax and enjoy the sandy beach while watching the dolphins play in the water. It is always our goal to make you feel as if our home is your home. We are centrally located withing walking distance to both restaurants and the grocery store. So come enjoy beautiful sunsets and clean rooms all delivered with friendly service at Tiki On The Beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tiki On The Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing