We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually kind of pretty”
Review of Dog Beach

Dog Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Actually kind of pretty”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was surprised how scenic it was here as it is tucked into a cove with mangroves and sandbars in the view. It looks too busy on weekends or after work time to go. The only place you can let your dog run but beware of uncontrolled dogs.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drawswithlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    93
    36
    22
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dogs' Heaven”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

If your dogs like other dogs it is THE place to go. It is great for those dogs which like other dogs,

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvinandjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, PA
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A real dog beach, could be great”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a REAL dog beach, with lots of dogs and dog-lovers. Most of the owners (and dogs) are friendly and well-behaved. There is a post at the front for getting 'doggy bags' and to wash off your dog after he/she romps on the beach and through the sand. I'd advise wearing 'water shoes' for the times that the tide is up and you need to slog through water and puddles to get close to the Gulf. Also, bring beach chairs if you want to stay for a while -- we forgot ours on the last trip, and the water was high and too many thoughtless owners had not picked up after their dogs, so the beachy areas were full of 'dog piles' so the thought of sitting in the sand was repulsive. It would be nice if someone in authority would occasionally 'police' the area to deal with loose dogs (which are permitted) that are NOT friendly, owners who don't watch their dogs, and owners who don't pick up the poop their pets deposit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TFQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Who let the dogs out?!?”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Hung around dog beach in a boat, and watched the festivities. They were having a blast socializing and playing. It made us miss our Labs back home.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Senior2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice beach for the furry ones. We had to drag the dogs through about 3 feet of water to get them to the beach, but once there they had a great time running with the other pups. It was more than challenging to drag our 150 pound Mastiff a across, but we got him there by lifting his from legs up and forcing him to walk through. Apparently we created great entertainment for all present.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NFI48362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dog Beach also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dog Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing