We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who let the dogs out?!?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dog Beach

Dog Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Who let the dogs out?!?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Hung around dog beach in a boat, and watched the festivities. They were having a blast socializing and playing. It made us miss our Labs back home.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Senior2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    89
    35
    18
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice beach for the furry ones. We had to drag the dogs through about 3 feet of water to get them to the beach, but once there they had a great time running with the other pups. It was more than challenging to drag our 150 pound Mastiff a across, but we got him there by lifting his from legs up and forcing him to walk through. Apparently we created great entertainment for all present.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NFI48362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Bonita beach visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We like to visit the various beaches, Bonita, Ft Myers, Lovers Key, Marco Island, Port Charlotte, as even though they all have plenty of sand, they are all unique and have different characteristics depending on if you want to have a quieter or busier type of beach experience.
Bonita beach is nice in that you can park very close to the beach. Lots of shells with courser sand.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank NLO888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, relaxed family beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great beach for young family, especially on a calm day. Popular with families but not overcrowded. Explore the estuary and wildlife (birds) to the north and even wade/swim across at low tide (beware current if not low tide - use good sense). Seemingly endless beach to the south - lose yourself in a wistful stroll or enjoy a nice jog. Condos/homes generally well kept, some nice landscaping. Lots of common shells to pick through including the odd gem. Excellent spot to watch sunsets. Decent paid parking (although not abundant).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank obfuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great beach for your furry family members. We love going there to see all the dogs. Nice beach. Free parking was nice

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EastcoastKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dog Beach also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dog Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing