We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place to stay”
Review of Shipwreck Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shipwreck Motel
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2007

You can't do better for the money.I don't see why people complain. allright it's not the waldorf astoria but you can't stay a night their what we paid for five, the place is right where you want to be.
Just remember Fort Myers beach is not a place, it's a state of mind.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sja.red10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 292 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2007

great location, right in the heart of everything, if only there was anything. easy the worst part of florida i have ever been, not a decent place to eat, nothing to see, nothing to do, if you want to spend a year one week go to ft myers beach. motel was fine, seems to cater to older snowbirds, clean basic digs walk to beach.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank leedsSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2007

this hotel was great. it was cheap, and there is always something to do. it is right in a little shop area, where tourists and locals gather. its right off of the ocean, so you can swim whenever you chose, and there are plenty of resturnats, ice cream parlors, bars, etc. the night life is great! if you have teens, they will never be bored. i'm 19, and personally i thought this would be the most boring trip ever, but it turned out to be my favorite!

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank jessamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2007

This is Ft. Myers Beach's best kept little secret. Not only do you get an affordable, charming, clean, convenient to attractions and friendly hotel on the beach. You get a huge souvenier store right on the premisses, that sells everything from flip flops to sunken treasure jewelry. There are two, yes two swimming pools, clean and refreshing. If that weren't enough, did I mention there is a dock out back where you can dock your boat? It's a one block walk to the beach and Time Square. The rates are much less expensive than listed! You can choose from regular rooms, kitchenette rooms or large effenciencies. This is your best bet! Why pay close to three hundred dollars a night during season, when you don't have to? Oh I forgot to mention the barbecues, outdoor refrigerator, large outdoor bar with TV on the lagoon and even a washer and dryer on the property. You decide.... I live in Cape Coral we stay here at least three times a year and this is an insiders tip.

Stayed: January 2007
5  Thank Simmons440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2007

The Shipwreck may have been worthwhile if it was $50.00 a night but not worth more. My room although clean, lacked charm and was generally in poor condition. The outlets were coming out of the walls with no cover, the screen in the TINY shower bacame loose almost causing me to fall, the towel rack in the bathroom fell off the wall the first time I used it.
The location is great, the gift shop is great, but the rooms leave much to be desired!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank nng88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2006

After two stays at the shipwreck motel I would definitely return for a third. The help was very friendly, and the rooms clean. Our second trip there we stayed in a waterfront efficiency with french doors leading out to a beautiful dock. The motel is located in the most convenient location in Fort Myers Beach. Just one block from the beach and restaurants in every direction. Its not 5 star but I would recommend shipwreck motel to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rmv0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Vecchio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,831 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,631 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lighthouse Resort Inn and Suites
The Lighthouse Resort Inn and Su...
#19 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shipwreck Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipwreck Motel

Address: 237 Old San Carlos Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2145
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: $103 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shipwreck Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eclectic, Key West Style Motel. Situated on a lovely lagoon. Boat dock, BBQ grills, 2 pools. Tiki huts. Efficiency rooms, 1 and 2 bedrooms also available. Located on Famous Old San Carlos Blvd. between Times Square and the Back Bay. Walk to everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Shipwreck Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipwreck Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Shipwreck Motel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing