We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STOP THE DOG BARKING!!”
Review of Flamingo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flamingo Inn
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Fountaintown,Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“STOP THE DOG BARKING!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

STOPPP!!!!
Before you book here,ask about their DOG barking policy??Oh!! thats right, they don`t have one.
Booked four nights,but stayed only one! Why you ask, because right below our room is a full time year round resident with a barking DOG!! On Sunday Feb 3rd,2013 my wife and i arrived at this hotel.
We were both so tired we decided to turn in around 9:00pm,only to listen to the sound of a barking DOG just below our room! IT`s hard to complain to staff since ther are none, after 9:00pm.
The owners of the dog were kind enough to go OUT for the evening and leave their dog behind.

Room Tip: Room in front might be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    99
    41
    19
    22
See reviews for
41
161
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Flamingo Inn is a great value just a 2 minute walk to beautiful Ft. Myers Beach. We stayed in the one bedroom apt, which was perfect for two so that we could make breakfasts and dinner. The location a block from the beach is ideal, and closer to Lover's key state park than the bustle of Time's square. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great place for an inexpensive getaway at the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trotamundo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a king efficiency at the Flamingo Inn.

We love smaller hotels and inns; however, room 203 was disappointing. It was very dark, dingy, and in desperate need of updating and some TLC.

Our room had one of the smallest, poorly designed, bathrooms I have ever seen (and I have been on cruises and to japan several times before). There is barely room for a pedestal sink, toilet and small shower. There's no place to set or store anything beside in the sink, on the floor, on the toilet or on the super small window ledge.

The shower's water pressure was horrible and we never had hot water at any time of the day.

The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable.

There was an older tube TV in the bedroom and WIFI.

There were only a couple drawers of storage below the TV and a small closet.

There was a coffee pot and filters, however, no coffee, cream, sugar, etc. This room, also, had a small refrigerator, 2 burner cooktop, microwave, plates, silverware, cups, etc.

This hotel does not have an ice maker/machine but you can get a bowl of ice from the office.

Our room had a dining area with a table and 4 chairs that took up allot of space. I am really not sure why it is there and who would use it. This dining area is next to the bathroom so should probably be used to enlarge the bathroom and would then still provide plenty of space for a smaller, two person table and chairs (that is the max that can stay in this room anyway.)

Our room had a window, however, there was no privacy when the blinds were open because it faced and was only a couple steps from the parking lot.

This room does not have any outside space like some do at this hotel.

The location was OK. It is a short walk to the beach and there are plenty of complimentary chairs, mats, towels, beach toys, etc. available in the lower laundry area.

This hotel is a bit out of town and away from bars, restaurants, shopping, etc.

I would not recommend this room for anything more than one night. I would probably not stay here again, but if I did, I would look into a different room.

Room Tip: Not room 203.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwayz_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Small hotel within short walking distance to beautiful beach! Complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas were a plus! Everyone was very friendly. Rooms were small but clean and equipped with small kitchen area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elmo, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Really clean, maid service everyday, staff was very friendly they were just like family, just a short walk to the beach, though the hotel was small it was nice that we had a mini kitchen in our room! It was a great experience for a young couples suite on their first romantic vacation together!!!! <3
Definitely coming back!!!!! :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The location is great--within walking distance of beautiful beach and free use of chairs and umbrellas for the beach. but the rooms are on the small side. our garbage was not taken to be dumped on one of the days that we were there. otherwise, the room was clean. it was nice to have a kitchenette but again, the room was very small and cramped. it seems like some of the rooms are more renovated than others. the hotel is also within walking distance of a movie theater and supermarket is just 1 mile away. finally, if you are looking for a gym, i would not recommend hammerhead. apparently, it is the only gym on the island but it is really sub-par. the fan in the room made a clicking sound which disrupted our sleep and the a/c when it was on high was very loud.

Room Tip: ask about rooms that are bigger and more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank debrandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here spur of the moment whilst touring gulf coast & extended to 4 nights. We had a King room chalet type next to the reception full kitchen large living area and bedroom ,bathroom on the small side but how much time you gonna spend in there. One block from the fabulous beach,they have free use of beach chairs for guests. German owned and run by very pleasent and accomodating staff who were very helpful and friendly. Preferred our room to the ones in the main building but thats just personal preference. Nice quiet area and I would recommend The Flamingo to anyone-just ask to see a couple of the rooms and take your pick rather than bad mouth as being small and pokey,obviously this is easier out of season as is when a lot of europeans prefer to visit. We really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: View rooms that best suit your needs before committing yourself. Reception had no prob with this
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oooookitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Inn
Dolphin Inn
#17 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
381 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,056 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hidden Harbor Suites
Hidden Harbor Suites
#34 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
45 reviews
2.7 mi away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#21 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Inn

Property: Flamingo Inn
Address: 6090 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4334
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flamingo Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Flamingo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing