We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Myers Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smuggler's Cove Condo
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Smuggler's Cove at Ft. Myers Beach can be a great place to stay, however, dealing with the office staff is quite unpleasant. Customer service does not exist even to loyal visitors of 10 years (contrary to what their website says). There is no accountability when mistakes are made to reservations and their office manager is just plain rude. If you desire to go there, book online to avoid the painful experience of dealing with unprofessional, unreliable employees.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
4 Thank PwolfieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    4
    4
    7
See reviews for
38
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks and wished we had stayed longer. A beautiful view can be seen from the balcony and master bedroom. A lawn is in the rear, Gulf side, which has loungers and chairs for residents use. Short stairs lead down to the beach.

The condo had good high quality furnature. It had a master bedroom which was en suite with shower and supersized double bed. The other bedroom had twin single beds with a bath room with bath & shower and toilet adjacent. The kitchen area had oven, microwave, dish washer and fridge freezer. There were accessories of every type you would need in the kitchen. The condo had free high speed wi-fi. There is a laundry room in the complex.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sion99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nauvoo, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at this condo unit for two weeks and were very pleased. The location on Ft. Myers Beach was exceptional-right on the beach and close to city restaurants, etc. Our condo was very clean when we arrived and offered all the amenities of home. The kitchen was well equiped to cook anything you want with a grocery store right down the street. The grounds were maintained adequately with regular cleaning and manicuring. The visitors staying on this section of the beach were relatively more subdued from the hectic and exciting pier area to the north. Our unit was on the first floor, just above the carport area and we felt it was a great location for us to walk to the pool or beach. We enjoyed the lanai and could sit in our unit and hear the surf. Other residents were friendly and very respectful of others. The unit was decorated like you would expect a unit on the beach. We loved this area and loved walking along the beach daily and seeing the passing dolphins. This was our first visit to the Ft. Myers area and since we had such a positive and wonderful stay would like to return and stay longer next winter at the Smugglers Cove Condos.

Room Tip: Visit their website and look at the various decorating schemes of the different units to pick one th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

First, let me say, once you open your door be prepared for the beautiful Gulf view. The view makes you feel like you're floating on water. Our condo was decorated in a beach decor that was simple and clean. The kitchen had everything you could ask for when preparing a light meal. We were surprised the condo provided beach chairs, beach umbrellas, and beach towels. There's a Publix grocery store within walking distance to the condo, so we were able to pick up food and essentials very easily.

I've stayed on Ft. Myers Beach many times, mosty near Time Square. This condo is about 4 miles south of Time Square and is directly on the beach. They have BBQ grills, laundry facility, as well as a pool available for you. Everything about this complex is clean, which was very important to me.

I loved sitting on the lanai in the moring watching the dolphins swim as well as people enjoying a
nice walk on the beach while "shelling."

I really can't say enough about his complex. It's in a nice quiet location, very clean, and the pricing in the summer is less than you'd find at a hotel. There are also plenty of dining choices on the island. We had no problem getting on or off the island in July, however, during Spring Break, you may have to give yourself extra time getting on or off the island in either direction. I will most definitely come back...

Room Tip: All rooms have a direct view of the Gulf, so you won't be disappointed. You can check online th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank flipflops1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a very well managed and well kept place to stay on the gulf beach front. The price isn't the cheapest or most expensive, but just right. We have stayed here three summers in a row and each year has been awesome. The beach is right out the back door. The pool is kept clean as well as the entire property. Condos typically are two bed room two bath. Each overlooks the beach from private balconies. The kitchens are well equipped. We no longer price other options, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Book early. These are Condos so no fitness.center or room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob_and_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed in unit 3A7. Corner unit with spectacular views of the Gulf. Very clean and totally updated. Had about everything you would need. We loved walking on the beach, collecting shells. Listening to the waves break was very relaxing. Even opened the windows at night to fall asleep to them. The only downside was the staff. The front desk was not at all friendly and when we called 24 hour maintenance with a small problem with the internet connection, he was not available. Other reviewers complained about the construction, but it has been completed. Very nice paver parking lot and paver sidewalks as well as new landscaping. Not all units have under the building parking. If that is important to you as for a unit that does. Location was good. A dozen restaurants within a mile or so. Publix grocery store 3 blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We rented one of the condo's at Smuggler's Cove and we were very happy with it. It was an end condo on the top floor which I really liked because it gave us windows along the side of the condo for more light. I wasn't in one of the interior condo's so I don't how much natural light comes through. Although the condo was a little outdated, it was clean, and organized and furnished well. There is a pool although only my daughter went to it once; we are beach people so we were on the beach everyday which is right outside the condo. There is grass along the condo between the beach if you prefer laying on the provided lawn chairs. There is also a little open air hut between the two condo buildings with four gas grills for your use. We grilled up some hotdogs the last night we were there and bought some salads - we should have taken advantage of the area a little more. There is a small laundry room with ample washers and dryers available which was extremely convenient. It is about 3 miles from the pier (center of Fort Myers Beach) and traffic was congested with only a two lane road up and down the island. One trip to the pier and surrounding shops was enough for us. But, all in all, I would stay there again. And, there is a Publix grocery store one block away - perfect! The beach was beautiful!!!!

Room Tip: exterior condos will give you more windows for natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Dipsyjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tiki On The Beach
Tiki On The Beach
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
265 reviews
2.9 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
#7 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
800 reviews
2.1 mi away
DiamondHead Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,118 reviews
1.0 mi away
Outrigger Beach Resort
Outrigger Beach Resort
#15 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smuggler's Cove Condo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smuggler's Cove Condo

Property: Smuggler's Cove Condo
Address: 5100 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4006
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Fort Myers Beach
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Smuggler`s Cove Condo Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing