We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gulfview Manor Resort
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed May 9, 2011

They find any reason to charge you. It's $10 per car, $10 per person (extra)....but then you have to clean your own dishes, take out the trash and provide your own toilet paper! I felt like asking if they wanted fries with that! Much better places to stay where you can be on VACATION and not cleaning up every time you turn around. If I added up what I spent to have visitors and parking spaces for them, I could have stayed at Pink Shell!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachGoer52202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVM_Operations, Manager at Gulfview Manor Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
As a business, we recommend constructive criticism. Unfortunately, when reservations are made, the information being provided on the reservation websites and other advertizing is not read by those making the reservation. In any publication that you find us in, it states all of our requirements. We are not a hotel or motel. We are fully furnished rental apartments.

In regards to the parking cost, our Resort is for paying guest. We allow at no charge for parking for the paying guest and one visitor vehicle.

In regards to the extra person cost, we have one and two bedroom apartments. Our one bedroom apartments have and occupancy of two people and our two bedrooms have an occupancy of 4 people. Each person over the age of 5 years old in addition to the occupancy is $10.00 per person per night.

In regards to expendables, we provide at no cost toilet paper, trash bags, bar soap, coffee filters, and dish soap. At check-out, we do require that your trash is removed from your apartment and that your dishes are clean and put away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    47
    10
    13
    13
See reviews for
92
86
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Valley, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Stayed at Gulfview Manor for Spring Break. Stayed for a week. It is more like an apartment than a hotel. We wanted a place away from the the crowds, a place where we could cook our own meals and just come and go as we pleased. Gulfview fit the bill perfectly. Other reviews are correct; this is a no frills accomodation. We only saw the manager when we went into the office. We were pretty much left alone. My only negatives (which are minor): They need a cookie baking sheet in the room and the traffic to get on and off the island was pretty bad at times. However, it was spring break, so it wasn't more than I expected. The only other thing was it was TOO hot! Haha. We are from Seattle, so not used to it. It snowed at home while we were there, so that was cool. I would definitely stay at Gulfview again if we ever make our way across the country again.

Room Tip: Gulfview Room. Larger and the view is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazingsoccerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

I was looking for a good deal on a hotel, and this was it. On the quiet end of the beach, away from the spring breakers. The rooms were clean, the linens were definitely worn out, but we made due. There is only towel service once a week so I'm glad we only stayed 3 nights. I can't use the same towel for an entire week, but remember, you get what you pay for. I would stay here again if on a budget, but hopefully next time I can splurge a little more and get a nicer place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed on a top floor 2 bedroom unit over the New Year holiday. The staff was friendly and helpful and the unit was just as advertised - clean and nice. This was a tremendous value over the holiday and the Gulfview is outstanding for families wishing to stay on the beach with a great view and family-friendly environment. The beach is huge and beautiful! We'll be back every year! Oh, yes, the pool was perfectly heated - a rare occurrence in South Florida for January.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave44535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We loved our stay here. We vacationed here with our 3 children and had a great time. It was perfect for how we vacation. We love being able to cook in our condo and grill out. The condo was very clean and had everything we needed plus a great view of the gulf. The beach is beautiful, while it is huge and takes a bit of a walk to get to the water, it is worth it. There is plenty of space on the beach, so there was lots of fun activities. Volleyball games, kite flying, football games and even wiffle ball games. Also, there is lots of water activities right out your door, ex. parasailing and waverunner rentals. We could see dolphins swimming by from the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They are very aware of what is going on at their resort and we found that to be a great quality here. We've already made reservations fo next year!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Fantastic hotel. Largest beach in Fort Myers. After making a reservation I was greeted by a phone call hours later welcoming me to their hotel. Upon arrival they provided me with beach towels and suggested a few very nice local restuarants. This is a non-housekeeping hotel but they provide you with enough linens for our stay. This is not one of those five star hotels but something very different a hotel that seems to care about who is statying there. They have a very nice pool out front and there is plenty of parking. Ken, his wife and daughter were there for every question I threw at them. Absolutely fantastic value and I would definitely stay here again if I am in the area. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ortegajames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

The one bedroom apartment was very nice and accommadating. However, if you are someone who likes amenities, this is not the place for you. For example, maid service is an additional $25 (per service). If you leave any garbage in the room, you are charged $100. Beach towels are provided, but chairs are an additional fee. Because sheets are not changed, my husband and I found ourselves changing our own sheets mid-vacation. I don't mind self-service, but being on vacation, I did not want to be bothered. Also, their wireless service did not work consistently, it worked at the beginning of our vacation, but did not work at all towards the end. If this matters to you, call them to see if its up and working. We stayed in Longboat Key last year, I think we will continue to stay in that location. Previous reviews commented on how far the beach is from the hotel, its not far. You have to walk on the sand to get to shore, but if you're able-bodied, you will be fine.

Also, (because we did not know) Fort Myers Beach is currently dealing with red tide/algea. Google the term. Because of this, we did not go into the water, but found ourselves driving north to Sarasota/Siesta Key where the water is alot clearer. If we knew red tide existed, we would not have stayed in Fort Myers Beach.
Overall, Gulf View Manor is a good place for self-sufficient people who do not care about amenities. The location is right on the beach and is perfect for families and couples.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfoy211262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#25 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#21 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pointe Estero Beach Resort
Pointe Estero Beach Resort
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
#7 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.1 mi away
GullWing Beach Resort
GullWing Beach Resort
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulfview Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulfview Manor Resort

Property: Gulfview Manor Resort
Address: 6530 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulfview Manor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family Owned Resort A Gulf Front family Resort with magificent Gulf Views and Sunsets from our 1 & 2 bedroom apartments. Beautiful Beach Pristine white sandy beach that beckons the young at heart. Enjoy walking in the sand as the waves roll over your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Gulfview Manor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulfview Manor Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Gulfview Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing